Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wallbuilders The New England Primer

Wallbuilders The New England Primer

The New England Primer was the first textbook ever printed in America and was used to teach reading and Bible lessons in our schools until the twentieth century. In fact, many of the Founders and their children learned to read from the Primer. This pocket-size edition is an historical reprint of the 1777 version used in many schools during the Founding Era.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The New England Primer
Review 1 for The New England Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lost values

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ronnieham
Location:Pasadena, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little book provides a strong indication of the priorities and values of our Founding Fathers. To me it is an indictment of America's need to return to the basics and of course its first love. America was never intended to be a nation not under God. While many may argue, I think most of the problems before us stem from the fact that certain values are not being passed down and taught to children as early as possible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The New England Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
cprice
Location:H`ville ,NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the books were great. we should go back to the old days
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The New England Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent little reproduction!

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
sue g
Location:New Jersey
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is fascinating to realize that our forefathers taught their young ones from the Biblical scriptures. It is a blessing to have an actual copy and I will have fun adding it to the books I am reading to my new granddaughter! Thank you so much for making this available to us here in the 21st century!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The New England Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful as a gift.

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Andy B
Location:Waukesha, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent, I also purchase the 1777 version for myself and use this version as gifts, especially good for grade schoolers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The New England Primer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Randall Maynord
I am very pleased to have this in my library, and only wish that it was still used today for our nations children starting their education.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The New England Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rev. Robert Sisson
The New England Primer is a wonderful look into our nations past and its Biblical and moral roots. My wife and I are so delighted with the teaching that this little book presents that we are planning on getting a copy for grandchildren to learn from. It is an excellent resource. Rev. 2:5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The New England Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pam Kler
This little book is an excellent resource. EVERY American should have a copy to understand our deep Christian heritage in this country. This book was used to teach all school children in this country for over 240 years. Even our founding fathers were taught to read from this book. It is also an excellent resource to teach OUR children the deep truths of the Bible in an easy to understand way. I believe many adults in this day and age don't understand the basic foundations of Biblical Christian faith as well as this little book so simply explains. A+++. It only makes my heart weep for the children of this country today that are denied and education so deeply dedicated to God and for the spiritual well being of the child.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The New England Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sarah Luthi
I thought that this little book was wonderful. Great to see what was used for education back in the Founding Era, and great now if homeschooling, or just want to keep some biblical context in your childrens learning.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The New England Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeffrey Jech
This book is discussed by Del Tacket in "The Truth Project DVD series. I wanted to get a copy to see the whole thing. It is amazing to think that this was used by first graders!Very enjoyable to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.