Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Charisma House Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God

Charisma House Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God

Are you seeking healing? Does a loved one need salvation? Is your faith community searching for direction? Tap into the power of fasting and present your requests to the Lord! Offering simple suggestions, Franklin shows how abstaining from food will leave your spirit uncluttered so you are free to seek God's will in prayer and humility. 256 pages, hardcover from Charisma.
Average Customer Rating:
4.808 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Review 1 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
coxc
Location:Raleigh N.C.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic book the whole church is enjoying reading it, thanks so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Missy
Location:Bronx NY
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has very valuable information and it gave me a better understanding about fasting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thoughtful and practical

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
ftw64
Location:Central Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
The author shares a wealth of experience and provides practical wisdom and encouragement in his book. The Journal is also a wonderful tool during the fast.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Philip Smith
Location:Leicester, VT
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an excellent source for learning about one of the most neglected disciplines of God's Word. Once you begin this book you will not want to put it down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
This review is fromFasting - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Thunder
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book really explains the purpose of Fasting, biblical scriptures reference so you have a deeper desire to know more of God and a plan to follow through with your fasting. Great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good. Not Great.

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
ZMan
Location:Sturgis, SD
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I certainly appreciate Franklin's heart in writing this book and know I need to start fasting regularly. But I felt this book would have been twice as good if it were half as long. I believe he uses some verses to say what the verses aren't saying and there are hints of the prosperity gospel. Still, I'm glad I read it. A good challenge has being given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fasting

Date:June 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:New Paris, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have borrowed a friend of mines book and journal and really came to an understanding on how fasting and prayer are related and having a better faith in God. Thus, this is why I bought my own books.
Plus, the scriptures on where to find them about fasting and prayer.
Is good reading
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a life changing book.

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daver
Location:Sussex, NB, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can not read this book and it not change your life.
You will make fasting a part of your life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Straight forward and easy to understand.

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Spark91701
Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a detox back in January but it wasn't what I was looking for spiritually. I started researching "fasting" material and came across author Jentezen Franklin. I was able to get both the Book & Journal for one nice, low price. I started reading the book one week prior to my fast, in preparation. I think that the material covered is relevant. Franklin uses real-life experiences of his own as well as his family and those members of his church. He uses language that most can understand. He encourages parents to teach their children early. I wish that I had this type of material along time ago. I can't remember being taught about "fasting" in any of the churches that I've belong to. The only down side to having both the book and journal is that a lot of the material is repeated. However, the journal is a must have.
If you're just looking for weight loss, this isn't the book for you. Prayer and meditation upon God are co-requisites of this course.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book will inspire you and challenge you!

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
songbird
Location:Saskatchewan, canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whether you have fasted many times or have never tried fasting, this book will ignite a passion in your heart to discover the benefits of fasting and make it a part of your christian walk. Encouraging and inspiring. I highly reccomment for anyone who desires more than an the "ordinary" Christian life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fasting

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Twicesaved
Location:Bronx, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Still reading the book but so far I have learned much. So many truths to fasting. The three things every christian should do: prayer, giving, fasting, 30, 60, 100 fold return. Awesome.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great and very informative book

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
junebug
Location:St. Clolud, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Helped so much with fasting and the hows and whys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Bill
Location:Lothian, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has motivated our church to recapture the discipline of fasting and it has been an awesome experience. I recommend this book to every Christian who seeks a deeper walk with the Lord, a clearer vision of God's will and a greater in filling of the power of the Holy Spirit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I was looking for............

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anita Joyner
Location:NC
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really connects the importance of fasting to your spiritual desires!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fasting 101

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
bro joe
Location:new jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wonderful book with jentezen own experiences , very informative, yet simple, complete,this book will definetly inspire you to fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a Great Book :-)

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
LaTi
Location:Illinois
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My church got this book for the people to read during our 21 day fast and it is practical and encouraging. I gave one to my neighbor who had never fasted before and when she was done reading the book she was sparked to fast. This book is anointed and a great resource.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jean Kallenbach
Great information on about why,when and how to fast. Excellent for group study and discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rosemary Cosby
This is an excellent resource for anyone who wants to pursue a deeper walk with the Lord! We ordered this book as a study tool for our women's support group. It is written with simplicity and powerfully, and has been a blessing in my life. God bless Pastor Franklin and Christianbook.com!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary
This book was wonderful- full of scriptural insight and wisdom. Gives you all the tools and right motivation and personal desire to seek God through fasting and prayer. I would recommend this book to anyone desiring more of God and His clear direction in their life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fasting: Opening the Door to a Deeper, More Intimate, More Powerful Relationship with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Couldn't put the book down!!! Read it in one day, and have fasted in the past for the wrong reasons, but now knowing that it is our duty to fast as it is to give & pray make this book really help you understand the importance of fasting. I am on my 4th day of fasting and just received a great blessing! One that I know is no coincidence,...only the power of our Lord working in my life. This is a fabulous book, and I intend to hand it out as gifts to my Christian brothers & sisters!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.