Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Heaven

Tyndale House Heaven

As the years pass and we watch more and more of our family, friends and mentors pass away, it is only natural to ask questions about heaven. However, our understanding of heaven is often limited to a few half-forgotten Sunday school lessons and the insubstantial images provided by popular movies and T.V. Fortunately, in Heaven Randy Alcorn provides us with a thoroughly researched and biblically definitive description of heaven. As Alcorn addresses our most serious questions about heaven, including the nature of judgment, and answers a few of our less serious questions as well, including the accessibility of cafe mochas the sweet by and by, we will develop a deeper understanding of our eternal destination and will find the courage to strive for heaven while we're living on earth.
Average Customer Rating:
4.782 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(133 Reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (133 reviews)
5 stars
113
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
56 out of 5798%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Heaven
Review 1 for Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nippy
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered this book for our Senior Adult Bible Study. They are loving it. Some even bought extra copies to give as Christmas gifts.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:November 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chelsea
Age:Under 18
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't finished this book yet, but am very satisfied at what I've read so far. I was concerned going into it after reading someone else's review saying that this may be something like a false gospel (can't remember her exact wording but it was something like that). Well, I like how Randy made it very, very clear that he could be wrong about some things, and that you could contact him if you had Biblical evidence for a reason he was wrong. He also makes it clear that the Bible is the Word of God.
That being said, I'm learning SO much about Heaven! The study guide is great too! Please, do yourself a favor and don't hesitate to buy a copy for yourself....and a friend! :) It's important stuff!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Heaven
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great read, eye opener

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Keep my walk
Location:Los Angeles, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book, an eye opener, a must read, will make you rethink your view of Heaven our final destination.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Heaven
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Prepare Ahead

Date:August 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
As the author suggested, when planning a trip to an unknown place, it is wise to prepare ahead. Study that place. Think on it so that upon arrival, you'll feel comfortable. As a Christian, I plan on going to Heaven, and I appreciate the efforts the author employed to compile this tome.
In addition to many verses from the Bible, Alcorn used his extensive collection of material for his opinions. Although it is an intimidating work with 535 pages, I must say, it's worth the read. (I read a chapter or two each day until finished. It might serve well for a group study.)
The one caveat I have is the repetition. It should have been edited more carefully.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Heaven
This review is fromHeaven - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wish I had known about it back in 2004

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
msraiderfan
Location:Maple Springs, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Randy is a great writer. The one fact alone for me to order it was that he had read 140 books in research. and to bring all the good parts listed in over 300 footnotes is impressive. I have ordered copies for most everyone in our congregation. would recommend it to every christian as encouragement to know more about where we all want to end up - in HEAVEN.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book uses effectively the word of God.

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
lola
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I like how the writer quotes verses from the bible and at the same time gives his opinion trying not to form his own theory or ideas. The writer has done a good research about heaven and I liked it because you usually don't get this information from a pulpil at church. It helps to continue with your faith knowing that God has something special for us in eternity. And I like the expectation of seeing him face to face.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Without a doubt the best on this subject!

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
furaha
Location:Missousri
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a minister of the gospel this is a subject that the elderly in my class really enjoy and are blessed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

As I was expecting! Thanks!

Date:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Danz
Location:Timberlake, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was: At a great price
Promptly delivered
In great condition
Excellent value
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In depth study of Heaven.

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeff
Location:Minnesota
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Using the book in a Bible Study group and it is very well received by all the member. He is detailed in the description of Heaven and backs it up with verses from the Bible. Makes believers look forward to our next life and makes you want to tell others of what they will be missing if they do not embrace the Gospel of Jesus.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very interesting book

Date:February 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Willbm
Location:Norwalk, CT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a thought provoking read. He bases his conclusions on scripture. Should engender some great discussions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb reading

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
jazzyrose44
Location:Katy, YX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband read a portion of this book when borrowed from our church library. He wanted his own copy and so for his birthday it came from you.
The book is an excellent narrative and backed up by scripture throughout. We would honestly recommend it to anyone who would like straight, honest answers on Heaven.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a must read book

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
waiting
Location:delaware
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book to teach in a Sunday School setting. Yes, some churches still have Sunday School! It's a little like a text book in some places, but only because we have so many misconceptions. Many of us want to go to Heaven because the alternative is so terrible. After you read this book - you'll be excited to go to the place you have always belonged.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

review on HEaven

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
catz
Location:Port Angeles, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
of all the books on heaven this is the best, there are a lot of them out there and if you can only afford one, this is the one to buy. it will teach you, and give you peace. I love this book, and Im rereading it again since my father has just past to the present heaven. I love you dad, I will see you again someday!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Be Read By Every Christian

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
LARBEN
Location:Cincinnati OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I do not agree with everything Alcorn has to say in this book, I do believe that this book should be required reading for every Christian. This book is greatly in line with my beliefs and will be a "Great Eye Opener" for anyone of the faith.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Duci
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Randy Alcorn has done a wonderful job of presenting Bible passages that open one's mind to heaven -- what God has planned for those who know Christ as Lord and Savior.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
okie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book about 3 years after losing my husband and found it to be very informative, calming and reassuring.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book on what heaven is

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bill
Age:55-65
Gender:male
If you want to know what heaven is and what it takes to get there. Highly recommend to anyone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Heaven
This review is fromHeaven - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a good read, answers a lot of questions.

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
msg51
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good read, answers a lot of questions about heaven.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Heaven
This review is fromHeaven - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tremendous book !

Date:July 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elva
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is so very exciting to closely examine Biblical references to heaven under the guidance of author Randy Alcorn's book, "HEAVEN".
A group from our church congregation are working through, chapter by chapter, reveling in the detailed information found, generating much excitement each week.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rudy
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I get it now. Rather than heaven being "distant".The author brings it into focus in an easy to understand manner.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12345 ...7Next >>>