Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Chosen Books The Cross and the Switchblade, 45th Anniversary Edition

Chosen Books The Cross and the Switchblade, 45th Anniversary Edition

David Wilkerson had his life all planned out: a quiet pastorate in a small country church. But God had others plans, calling him to share the good news of Christ with violent gang members in New York City. Forty-five years later that young pastor still oversees Teen Challenge, the ministry that grew out of that calling. His story is a testimony to what can happen when ordinary people open themselves up to the work of an extraordinary God. Foreword by Chuck Colson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Cross and the Switchblade, 45th Anniversary Edition
Review 1 for The Cross and the Switchblade, 45th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouraged Me Toward Bolder Prayers

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leah G
Location:NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although this book has been around for ages, I am a younger person and it was completely new to me. The story line is fast-paced, exciting and is loaded with jaw-dropping examples of God's grace, but I think the best surprise for me was an undercurrent theme of the power of prayer. I feel challenged to pray harder and bolder, encouraged that God can and does indeed move mountains in response to prayer when we pray according to His will. This is a great read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Cross and the Switchblade, 45th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful for All

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
rdimpact
Location:SC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was given to me by my high school girlfriend many years ago. It was one of the main factors in leading me to Christ. I was headed down the wrong path and thankfully for her prayers and this book I was led to allow Gods saving grace enter my life. It is real so do not look for any legalistic fluff and cutesy sayings. Blessings
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Cross and the Switchblade, 45th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimba
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book, would recommend to anyone. It is a great book detailing a man's willingness to be open to God's calling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Cross and the Switchblade, 45th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy Velasquez
Location:Boston Ma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a source of encouragement for the body of believers. It shows how God can use a willing vessel to do his work. It tells of amazing miracles that only God could initiate..and that when you feel you are not getting anywhere to continue & persevere because God will take the mess & make a miracle out of it. David Wilkinson was definately a prophet of God for our times & this book will inspire you in your walk with God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Cross and the Switchblade, 45th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Holy Ghost is very present in this book

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
OnFire
Location:Lanark , Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cried all the way through this book, I had to keep putting it down, so I could speak with God, and collect myself. I could not believe that someone else shared my same dream to save the lost, in this manner. This book help re-kindle my HOPE for my dreams, and reasurred me that with God, Jesus , Holy Ghost- power we will win souls to Christ, and God cares very much for these lost kids and there is something we can do about it ! It also help to affirm in me that nothing will suceed without them, and with the Holy Ghost guiding. As well as many other teaching I recieved from reading these stories. I am purchasing multiple copies to give to other.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Cross and the Switchblade, 45th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

WARNING: Graphic sexual content!

Date:November 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I saw this book in the Sonlight homeschool catalog. I was disappointed when I read it after giving it to my teenage son to read because of the graphic and disturbing descriptions of NY gang members' perverted sexual activities. I find it interesting that the authors chose to blank out certain unacceptable words when used in dialogue among African American gang members (n-----) but they obviously did not use the same discretion with sexual imagery. Some might argue that sinful sexual acts are mentioned in Scripture; however, God did not give graphic descriptions but simple commands not to participate in those acts.
Also, this book is from a Pentecostal perspective, emphasizing the "baptism of the Holy Spirit" as an act separate from salvation and the necessary means for helping the gang members overcome their addictions. I do not share this understanding of Scripture, believing that all true believers are indwelt with the Holy Spirit.
All in all, I would not purchase this book again or recommend it.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Cross and the Switchblade, 45th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angeline Gallant
This book had me weeping. What a moving true story of a man God used to reach so many whom society and even Christians turn their back on and a blind eye to. May God use us in this generation as well!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Cross and the Switchblade, 45th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ann Moore
I ordered this book for a friend who is currently in a gang but wants to get out. This is a timeless book for a current problem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Cross and the Switchblade, 45th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carmen Abascal
I absolutely enjoyed reading this book. It enstills faith and courage when it is so desperately needed. It sincerely places God in the center of it all. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in learning how troubled teens can find their salvation and with God all things are possible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.