Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realms Scream

Realms Scream

Mark Stone hears a cacophony of disturbing screams over the phone---and seconds later his friend is dead! After experiencing this pattern again, he begins investigating the meaning behind it. But then his estranged wife is kidnapped and calls for help---and he hears those otherworldly cries. Can he find Cheryl before it's too late? 320 pages, softcover from Realms.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Scream
Review 1 for Scream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barb Collver
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished "Scream" and it was so great! It kept me on the edge of my seat all the way to the end! I was so challenged by the spiritual message put forth in this story! WOW! It was fantastic!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Scream
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Somewhat Formulaic

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Mark Stone starts hearing a cacophony of agonizing screams when he talks with people on the telephone. These screams are followed soon after by the death of the person he spoke to on the phone. When he hears these same fearful screams when speaking to his wife (whom he is separated from) he springs into action as he tries to save her.
Though not Mike Dellosso’s first novel, Scream is the first work of his that I read. Dellosso successfully weaves the strands of suspense, and redemption together into a fast-paced thriller. While some parts of the novel are somewhat formulaic (such as the spiritual tie ins) and unsurprising, he does manage to pull off a surprise twist at the end that I didn’t see coming.
If you’re just starting to read Dellosso though, I recommend some of his later works – Darlington Woods or Darkness Follows (both of which I have also reviewed) in which his writing has become more polished. Both offer premises that are more unique than a kidnapping style suspense story, and are more engaging because of it. If you just can’t get enough Dellosso though, this is a decent novel – just not his best work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Scream
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a great thriller! I could not put it down! Whenever I read the back of a book, sometimes it does not match the story, but with Scream, it was dead on. If creepy and suspense are your thing, don't miss this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Scream
This review is fromScream - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great thriller

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:Wellsvill, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had not heard of this author before I saw the free download. After reading the reviews I decided to read it. WOW! I could not put this book down. Read it in one sitting. The author has great characters and imagination. He sucked me right in. I loved how he brought the spiritual aspect into this book. I thought on this book several days after finishing it. I was so impressed with this author I bought 3 more of his books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Scream
This review is fromScream - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cat1369
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. Great writing and keeps the reader engaged. Only downside is I figured out the nemesis before the book revealed it. But still would read this author again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Scream
This review is fromScream - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really enjoyed this book.

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jewels
Location:Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book. It is not my normal reading style but I loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Scream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful thriller

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
mawmaw6
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like thrillers and are a Christian this is for you! Loved it and couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Scream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
Awesome book -couldn't put it down. Mike Dellosso gives Peretti and others a run for their money. This is an author to keep your eye on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Scream
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2009
Mike Dellosso delivers a knockout in his sophomore suspense novel, Scream. The hero, Mark, is an average guy haunted by a terrible mistake that has driven his wife away and left him questioning everything. Then one day Mark is talking to a friend on the phone when they are interrupted by horrible screams. A few minutes later, Mark's friend is dead. What follows is one man's realization that there is something more than this life. Scream has everything a good suspense story should: a flawed but determined hero, a villain fashioned by the cruelties of life, a crisis only the hero can resolve, and resolution. Some will see Scream as perhaps a little preachy. As far as this reviewer is concerned that is a good thing. The author intends to make us think about something most of us would like to pretend doesn't exist. Like his characters we are drawn into a world where heaven and hell are the reality they should be in our own daily lives. Kudos to Mike for a a job well done!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Scream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
kherbrand
I love thrillers and this one did not disappoint! Mike Dellosso created characters that were very believable. People that you wanted to cheer on and tell them not to give up hope. The pace of the book was perfect - it kept you turning the pages, but did not give away any secrets too soon.Scream really starts out as two stories - and as the book progresses the two stories combine to make for a great ending! I especially loved the way the message of Christ was delivered without getting "pushy" or "in your face." This would be a great book for a non-believer or one right on the fence. It made me take a look at whether or not I was telling everyone that I knew about Christ's love and sacrifice - and sadly, that answer is no. So now I get to decide how I will change that!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Scream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2009
Everyone has an appointment with death. When will your appointment come due?(p. 150)Mark Stone the rebellious son of a preacher, struggling with the recent estrangement from his wife hears something screams. Screams of the dead, the dying, the eternally damned. He hears the screams of hell. Those screams usher death into the lives of his friends, of strangersof those he loves. By the time he realizes what he is hearing, he realizes a greater trutheven though the religion practiced by his father was harsh, it contained kernels of truth. As snippets of that truth pierce Marks heart and mind his eyes begin to see the truth. He knows heaven or hell awaits the soul after death, and he knows that no one knows when its their time to dieexcept Mark, and the screamsBeneath the mystery of the screams, there is another sinister layer unfolding within the storythe abduction of innocent women. There is a madman loose in the hills of Maryland, and he is abducting women and keeping them prisoner in an isolated area. His purpose? Justice. His nameJudge. Well, not really, but by the time you figure out who the madman is, all of the characters are in a desperate race to stay alive.and not everyone will survive!Mike Dellossos second novel, Scream, is a heart-pounding read that begs the question: what happens to your soul when you die? What if you could hear the cries of those damned to hell and could warn people of their impending, and eternal damnation? Would it make a difference in whether or not you shared Jesus with those around you? Would it cause you to examine your own eternal destiny?We live in an ever-darkening world, and death is all around us. Life is uncertain. Eternity is real. Now is the time to tell those around us that Jesus is the Way, the Truth and the Life. Mike Dellosso has done that as only Mike Dellosso cando you hear the screams?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Scream
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2009
Mike Dellossos Scream is exactly that. This thrilling novel is keep-you-on-the-edge-of-your-seat suspenseful, yet doesnt forget its purpose: to show the importance of choosing a relationship with Christ. This story weaves between two seemingly unrelated tales of suspense each surrounding a lonely man who has lost at love: one, the story of a man who hears otherworldly screams while talking on the telephone only to learn that the person he was talking to has died; the second, the story of a very different man who is preying upon women to atone for his lost love.I was gripped immediately by the characters and the story. The author left me with a new cliffhanger at the end of each chapter that kept me turning pages until well past my bedtime. Mike Dellosso is my new favorite Christian thriller author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Scream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2009
Mark Stone thinks his biggest problem is finding a way to reconcile with his estranged wife. That is until he hears screams during a phone conversation with his friend. Not the ear piercing high mewls of an excited child, or the lower more subdued screams from an adult, but otherworldly, terrifying screams. And this is not an isolated incident as the screams reappear in other conversations. It doesnt take Stone long to figure out that each time a scream rips into him, the person hes talking with dies during or shortly after the conversation.Imagine, receiving advance warning that another person will die unless you intervene. A horrible situation to find yourself in. Right? Not horrible enough for author Mike Dellosso who continually ups the ante for Stone as the book unfolds. When he hears the screams during a phone conversation with his estranged wife, Mark must act fast. But can he save her from the screams? Or will she, too die? And why is he the one hearing the screams? What do they mean? Thats all Im telling you about the plot. I dont want to spoil the incredible ride you will take when you read Scream. Warning! Read Scream with the lights on. Better yet, during daylight hours. Dellossos depiction of hell is so real it rises up from the Screams, reaches out, and grabs hold, convincing you of the very brutal price exacted for a life lived without Jesus. Mike Dellosso, an astonishing new voice in supernatural thrillers, cements his right to be grouped with the likes of King and Peretti with this relentless new thriller. Dellossos sophomore effort is packed with wonderfully flawed characters, a very creative plot, and a strong spiritual message. Scream is one of those books that stays with you long after youve put it down. Not only for the excellent writing that weve come to expect from Dellosso, but also for the incredible message he weaves into the story. Even if you dont read supernatural suspense, you need to read Scream.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Scream
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Leah Curnutte
I loved this book. Once I got started, couldn't put it down. I read itin just two days. I was on the edge of my seat! Great read!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.