Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Chosen Books The Rewards of Simplicity: A Practical and Spiritual Approach

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Chosen Books The Rewards of Simplicity: A Practical and Spiritual Approach

Do you long for a more simplified life and schedule? Our souls need rest and quiet to recharge and reconnect with the Lord. In The Rewards of Simplicity Pam and Chuck D. Pierce offer sound advice to reduce stress in both spiritual and practical ways. From clearing out unneccessary cluttler in your home, to preserving Sabbath rest for you and your family, you can start to reap the rewards of living more simply.
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Rewards of Simplicity: A Practical and Spiritual Approach
Review 1 for The Rewards of Simplicity: A Practical and Spiritual Approach
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!!!

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:Sturgis, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Such a great book!! I learned so much in this book, not only on simplicity but also on rest, walking in peace and honoring the sabbath. I reccomend this book to anyone that suffers from being a "busy-body" or struggles with anxiety or just wants to gain a fresh understanding of simplicity. The authors do a great job of using personal testimony's and struggles to show how God has grown them along the way. I have noticed great growth in my life in these areas after reading this book This book is very biblically sound and encouraging. I recieved a review copy of this book from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Rewards of Simplicity: A Practical and Spiritual Approach
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debra Brinkman
Over the past couple of months, I have been reading The Rewards of Simplicity by Pam and Chuck Pierce. It has been hard to read. I keep trying to decide if it is because I feel like I'm slogging through it, or if it is because I find it convicting.I'm not sure what exactly I was expecting from this book, but this was not quite it. I think I was expecting something that would inspire me to declutter and pare down -- to find contentment without all the stuff our materialistic culture says we need.And yes, some of that is in here. But mostly, this is a book about spiritual simplification... how clearing up our emotional distractions and getting to a place where we are right with God will lead to real simplicity.I'm not really sure what I thought. There were certainly portions that challenged me to seriously consider things like a technology fast. Mostly, though, I wondered how in the world I was going to come up with something coherent to say in a review.The book is really two separate books. The first one is written by Pam Pierce, and reads more like a biography than a how-to book. The second book is written by Chuck Pierce and doesn't exactly seem connected to the rest. He writes about anxiety and its impact on our lives.This is not a book I am likely to keep on my shelves. The information was mostly good, but I found it hard to read. I'll be happy to pass it on to someone else.Disclosure: Bethany House provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. No other compensation was received, and all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Rewards of Simplicity: A Practical and Spiritual Approach
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jona
"The Rewards of Simplicity" showed some very practical ways of drawing closer to our Lord. We all get to busy and tend to forget the important things in our life. This book teaches you had to slow down and really appreciate your time with your family and the Lord. I would definitely recommend this book.I received this book from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Rewards of Simplicity: A Practical and Spiritual Approach
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
I really enjoyed the first half of this book. I thought Pam had some good practical ideas for finding what was really important in your life and then simplifying every else to make your priorities first.the second half of the book got a little weird for me. Though Chuck had some good things to say about stress, I thought his ideas on stress and blood were a bit out there. I also disagreed with his views on how God speaks to people today. His ideas about "dominion rest" seemed to take Scriptures out of their context.I would only recommend this book to discerning Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Rewards of Simplicity: A Practical and Spiritual Approach
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wanda
I just finished reading "The Rewards of Simplicity" by Pam and Chuck Pierce.I enjoyed the book although it was a little slow reading. It was a book that showed me how much clutter I have in my home and life that I surely could do without! It would be a great book/gift for the empty nesters even if they are looking to further their relationship with God. The section on keeping the Sabbath and how it is a command and not a request hit home. I am young/old enough to remember when the stores were not open on Sundays and you stayed home to enjoy Sunday meals with the family after spending the morning in church worshiping God.Thank you for giving me the opportunity to read this free book and review it for you through Bethany House.Wanda
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Rewards of Simplicity: A Practical and Spiritual Approach
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2010
This was an interesting read for me. Although I full agree with the subject matter I found the writing style difficult to enjoy and felt that it sometimes did not flow easily. This is not a book to pick up if you are wanting quick fix ideas on how to organize your closet and life with nifty little ideas and decorating tips. Rather it focuses on the deeper, truer issue of simplicity: the spiritual meaning expressed by Paul in the book of Philippians of true contentment despite circumstances. I applaud this husband and wife team for tackling this issue and putting into writing an idea that is completely foreign to most people. One I find difficult to often-times explain in words. Some of the topics covered are touchy subjects with most people as they do not like to view themselves as lovers of the world and things of the world. My husband and I have followed these same guidelines found throughout scripture so it is nice to read a book that affirms our beliefs and gives encouragement that we are not the only odd fellows on the block it is often strange how God sends us encouragement and affirmation about his directives in our lives. Be ready to be challenged spiritually to look at your life in a new light through the eyes of Christ and the Living Word of God. The ideas are not a quick fix, magic formula, or list of man-made guidelines to follow. The Pierces present the Word of God and the application of the Word to life to get to the point of simplicity: this state allows peace in all areas because your focus is not on the world or things of the world but on God and his will/plan for your life. Be ready for a life-style change, a heart change: a complete surrender of your plans, life, talents, time, money, things , jobs, security in short your all for Christ.Thank you Baker Publishing Group for this free review copy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Rewards of Simplicity: A Practical and Spiritual Approach
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kevin Sorensen
One would think, given the title of my blog, that a book on simplicity would be something I would either:1.) Really, really need and put to good useor2.) Shun and run away from because there's just no room for a book like this in the midst of all the clutter.I actually enjoyed the first part of this book, written by Pam Pierce. In very practical ways, she lays out the need for and advice on how to simplify one's life. Covering homes, closets and schedules isn't her only concern. Pierce goes after our spiritual clutter as well, especially in the chapter on how we abuse God's command for taking Sabbath rest seriously... as a command... to be obeyed... with consequences for disobedience (such as cluttered lives that barely operate).When husband Chuck takes up the pen, I got "lost." He writes on anxiety. I think this is to help those who either worry about not having enough "stuff" in their lives (material and spiritual) because they don't really trust God to provide; or, they grow anxious about other things from their past, hence the hoarding and gathering is merely a symptom of something deeper. However, he went too deep, too fast into the psycho-therapeutic analysis of anxiety and "panic attacks" that I shut him off very quickly. If only he would have stayed with Scripture the way his wife seemed to in the first two-thirds. Anxiety is a failure to trust God and His provision for us. It takes trusting His promise of future grace for the very next second to overcome that. One chapter, and boom! he's done. Oh well.I can recommend the first two-thirds of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Rewards of Simplicity: A Practical and Spiritual Approach
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie McCoy
The moment I read the back of the book's description, I immediately thought of that t.v. show, Clean Sweep. So many of us could use a "clean sweep" in our homes. With the clutter we continue to accumulate and the constant piles of giveaways we do to the thrift shops, you'd think we'd spend less on stuff and more in other areas. Still, it's a big temptation in our homes to clutter it up.For us, personally, I know we have a stronghold of materialism. Just a quick glance across the toys scattered in our living room can easily tell others how badly we accumulate them. Then I'll get a newsletter in the mail from companies like Voice of Martyrs where normal people give up everything to go to other countries and preach the gospel of Christ. So lately, we've been working on our spending on material things.This book is a great start for us as it helps us get on that track of simplifying our lives. Not only does it cover material things but also spiritually too. In a world where everyone is constantly stressed, this book will help a person on the road to becoming stress-free. I like the chapter on Sabbath rest and the importance of using that rest God gives us to free ourselves from daily stress. For those wanting to "clean sweep" their homes and their spiritual lives, this book will help to get you on the right track!*** I received a free copy of this book to review from Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Rewards of Simplicity: A Practical and Spiritual Approach
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
I would highly recommend this book; it looks simple, but it goes deeper than what is apparent. When I began driving, I remember someone told me to always have in mind that it was me who was in charge of the car and that I should not let the car "drive" me. This book reminded me of that. As Christians, we face a complex life directed by the world's economic system and preferences; these are completely opposite to God's directives, like a car trying to direct our choices. However, it is common for us to get lost in such cobwebs and loose perspective. This book is an invitation to make aside any thing that might seem important, but that actually drives us away from God. Apparently, we have less and less time every day, and every single thing has a sense of urgency to itself, but this is not what God designed for humankind. "Simplifying my life meant simplifying my thinking so that I could live free from anxiety and learn to walk in the Spirit (page 174)," the author says in regard to the true meaning of the rewards Christians may be blessed with if they are willing to renew their minds, stop being directed by emotions and perceptions - stop being stressed. It is not easy to reconsider our priorities so that we follow God's voice, trust Him and obey Him; yet the true reward of doing so is a strong faith that allows us to choose what will draw us close to our families and to God. Besides the spiritual implications of such thinking, the authors also share their personal experience and pointers to even transform our environment to enjoy simplicity in our spirit, mind and body. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for review, but this does not bias my opinion on the book nor my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Rewards of Simplicity: A Practical and Spiritual Approach
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Simplification is not about making life easier. It is about clearing away the cobwebs that obscure our vision. It is about choosing the good part and discarding the rest. [page 194]Pam and Chuck Pierce, both ordained ministers, share their experiences of living a simplified life and what changes they have made in The Rewards of Simplicity. Although their ideas may not work for everyone, you might be able to incorporate some of their suggestions into your life. They address the importance of taking a Sabbath rest, overcoming stress, decluttering and how to make simplicity a reality. According to the authors, this lifestyle of simplicity has brought them peace and rest. If you long for a simpler time and a slower pace - this book will help you get back to the basics of life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.