Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords The Penny: A Novel - eBook

FaithWords The Penny: A Novel - eBook

The Penny is the first fictional novel published by internationally known and celebrated author, speaker and television personality, Joyce Meyer. The Penny is a touching story that closely resembles the life and struggles of author Joyce Meyer. Set in the segregated south of the 1950's, The Penny is a story about overlooked greatness that is found in the most insignificant places.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Penny: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for The Penny: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Penny is an intense story about "what nice people don't talk about." It centers on familial abuse, touches on racism, extends into healing, and focuses on God. Its written in a simplistic style that makes you love most of the characters because you're taken into their inner world. And you can relate. A shorter book, but a timeless message of overcoming worldly destruction because of God's love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Penny: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
skipnberta
Location:CT
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book written in story form. The gospel message is clear and I have shared it with unsaved family. I would highly recommend it to read and to share with family and friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Penny: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
weezie
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
this is a great book for anyone and also a good study book. gave to a male friend and he also loved it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Penny: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joycee
Location:Baltimore, Maryland
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent story and one I could relate to, having grown up in the same time frame as the characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Penny: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Penny.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
331836
Location:Toronto, ON Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is VERY WELL WRITTEN, however, it's not really for my age group (18-20's). It's more of a preteen book, and the spiritual lesson in it is not that deep, but it was still an enjoying read. The prose was perfect, as well as the pacing. I just don't find it applicable to my life, but new Christians, or non-Christians, would. My only problem with it was that that the cover had a very deep rip in it, though it wasn't too large
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Penny: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very touching

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Charleston, S.C.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a kind of sad book but real to life. You will want to read it through and probably close the last page reflectively.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Penny: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: The Penny - Joyce Meyer & Deborah Bedford - April 2008
With life, every little action we do can cause a ripple, sometimes for bad and sometimes for the good -though at times it may not seem that way at first.
For Jenny Blake, it all started with finding a penny and the events it lead to landed her , her first job with the mysterious Miss Shaw - owner of the jewellery store. It is once that Jenny recieves this job we discover that life for her and her sister Jean hasn't been at all rosy as her father is an abuser both physically and sexually. In the novel we see Jenny yearning for her mother to gain some backbone, her sister Jean to face reality and stand beside her instead of wishing herself in Grace Kelly's shoes. As the story develops we see Jenny losing friends as her real-life starts to crack and Jenny ashamed and afraid to let anyone know. With the help of Miss Shaw, will Jenny find the courage needed to stand up to her father and will her burst of confidence be just enough to rev her mother up to her own two feet also. Set in the heart of St Louisana - in the year 1955, this novel The Penny is southern through and through and discusses the cases of segregation between the whites and the coloureds.
With the Penny, Jenny will learn that big decisions only amount to so much but the little things in life can completely transform your life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Penny: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story

Date:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kymberly
Location:Morenci, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great story telling. Makes you fall in love with the main character.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Penny: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
avid reader
This book had me crying or close to crying throughout most of it. The love that was shown to the deeply hurting main character by a woman is enough to bring even the hardest heart to tears. I think everyone that borrowed this book from me loved it. Its a book to read in one sitting because you cant put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Penny: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol
This book is so interesting from the moment you start to read it . I received this book for Christmas and I regret taking so long to start reading it. I read to the 7th chapter before taking a break....lol I recommend this book, it has a wonderful Christian message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Penny: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dana Meredith
This book is fabulous. I loved the way truth and wisdom was woven into it even though it was a tragic situation for girls to have to live through. I appreciate the way it seems to tell Joyce Meyers testimony yet seems to shorten the true story of her live with the truths she learned over many years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Penny: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debra
Great, fast paced read. I read it in 2 days! Realistic characters with heart in serious situations that draw you in. The book lasts on your mind and heart even when you finish. I loved it! A great book to share!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.