Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Chosen Books Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Chosen Books Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God

Money, power and influence were familiar aspects of Dale Recinella's life for many years. His career as a high-profile finance lawyer brought him great success, but didn't bring the peace of mind he ultimately sought after, and found, in life with Christ. In Now I Walk on Death Row, he shares the story of his conversion and the journey that lead to becoming a prison chaplain to inmates on death row. You'll be inspired by reading this story of one man who gave up what the world offers to serve the least of these for God's glory.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God
Review 1 for Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leaf
Location:New York
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book is about a Christian "making it happen" in his own walk with the Lord. It did get a little political in the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Seeing God work

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spellbinding; captivating; exciting; sad; thrilling. Through this man's life the reader gets to see God work, as if sitting above everything. Many people that get involved in prison ministry do so because of that very fact - they get to see God work. This is also a powerful story of complete submission - the average church goer may never get to experience the joys and spiritual highs that this couple lived. This husband and wife chose to submit, and that is what pure submission is, a choice. Beautiful love story - of a husband and wife and of a couple loving God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent and challenging!

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Claudette
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great writer! Tells his story "did/does Jesus really mean what he said/says". With a challenge to figure it out for yourself. Extra bonuses include a reality to the world of suffering and evil all around us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarmng story

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lainers
Location:Oswego, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book. Reading made me want to get involved. I wish there were more families like this one. Reading this book made me want to be a better Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My husband said that this is a great book.

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tomi Baze
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't read this book yet but my husband said that it's a really good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Insight into the Works of the Holy Spirit

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Matt
Location:West Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first very small part and the last part of this book relate Dale's experiences with people facing man's punishment on death row. The middle 85% is a WONDERFUL and convicting illustration for all of us on discerning God's intended purpose in our lives. It makes it clear that we need His strength to have the courage to Follow Him on the path that He's laid before us (in whatever direction that may be) and has planned for us. This book is inspiring!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Transforming

Date:May 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pilar Arsenec
Location:New Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book for free from Bethany Publishers. This book was by far one of the best books I ever read. When I first received the book, I wasn't sure what to expect. I was curious about the author since he was a lawyer and I happen to work in a law firm. It was amazing that when I read the first page, I was immediately drawn in and I couldn't put the book down. Mr. Recinella is a prolific and gifted writer. I sincerely hope he writes another book, because I'm definitely going to read it. I never laughed and cried so much from a book in my life. It was so interesting to read about his life from basically being an unbeliever and then how he becomes a believer in Jesus Christ. But not only did he become a believer, he became a servant of the Lord. He took God at His Word and gave his life to serve others. He is truly an inspiration. This book was life transforming, thought provoking as it was convicting. It really makes you think about those who are incarcerated but innocent and facing the death penalty based on archaic laws. I don't want to give too much away, but I highly recommend this book and believe everyone should read it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Compelling story of a radically surrendered life

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Now I Walk on Death Row by Dale S. Recinella is a thought provoking biography of one man's journey in faith. Recinella first learned about the unfairness of life when his younger sister, Jan, was crippled by a high fever that left her in a vegetative state, bringing his parents' life in the American Dream to an end. He grew up to be a lawyer, to always have enough money and to be in a position of control in life. His career takes off and he is soon handling billion dollar deals, but his marriage and family life suffers as he engages in a fast-paced lifestyle of drinking and extreme work weeks of 100+ hours. His younger brother, Gary, confronts Dale and helps him turn his life over to Christ. That decision soon leads him to wife Susan and they begin a new life together with three more children and life in a high-priced neighborhood with all the best things money can buy. Until Susan and Dale read the story of the Rich Young Man in the Bible where Jesus tells him to give all his belongings to the poor and to follow Him. This sets the couple, and their children, on a quest to discover: Does Jesus really mean what He says? The answer they finally discover sends them on a path of radical surrender and obedience that few readers can truly comprehend following. Eventually Dale works as a spiritual adviser in Florida's state prisons for death row inmates. Dale's journey is absolutely fascinating and his willingness to live as God commands, no matter the cost, is both inspiring and jaw-dropping. The writing is compelling, and I had a hard time putting the book down once I started reading it, because I truly wanted to see where God would take the Recinella family. I hope that Dale follows up this book with one focusing only on the stories of the men he has met in his time working on death row. The book takes on an urgency and depth when the Dale starts his work in the prisons, and I would love to read all of the stories he didn't have room to share here.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Powerful and Inspirational Biography

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vanessa of HHCreations
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know I usually write positive reviews regarding the books I receive to blog about, and I guess that is due to my love of reading and my enjoyment of most genres. However, if you are looking for a book that pulls you in with the first page and holds your interest captive all the way to the last word of that last sentence on the last page, then Dale S. Recinella's Now I Walk on Death Row is THE book I would HIGHLY recommend to you!
Dale S. Recinella is a Wall Street finance lawyer turned lay chaplain whose life "change" has an amazing story which Recinella shares in this book. Just when Recinella thinks his life can't get any better as a high-class lawyer, it suddenly takes a horrible downward spiral -- at the end of which is absolutely nothing except.... God and Jesus. When Dale finally surrenders and puts God in charge, his life's path shuttles him and his family to places and to people Recinella would not even have considered beforehand. And then, to end up as a lay chaplain for Florida's death row and solitary confinement ... I find that simply awesome! A great testament of how our lives can change for the better if we stop, listen, and look for what God's plan and purpose is for each of us.
I could go on and on about my favorite parts of Recinella's journey, however I'm afraid that if I do I might ruin it for anyone looking to read this book. So, if you are looking for a good, inspirational read -- whether Christian or not -- I encourage you to add Now I Walk on Death Row to your list. I think Sister Helen Prejean states it best when she says, "Dale's story is a bold reminder that no life should be treated lightly. In the weighty matters of justice and mercy, Dale chose to follow Jesus, who sided with the poor, the dispossessed and the despised. I hope what you read here impassions you to do the same."
Thank you to Bethany House for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Different from my expectations but wonderful!

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
gal513
Location:Madison, wi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the book: Dale Recinella had it all. He was received a scholarship to attend law school a Notre Dame and began a wonderful career as a finance lawyer. After the failure of his second marriage, his brother coerced him to attend church and Bible study. As much as he was reluctant at first, he found meaning in his life and was faced with many times when he had to decide whether to follow what his friends and colleagues thought he should do or what God was telling him to do. A ministry that began as something he did on his lunch break and Saturdays grew more and more demanding and he was forced to choose between living a life for money or living a life for God.
Review: When I selected this book for review, I thought it would be interesting to read about a man who used to be a high-powered lawyer becoming a minister to death row inmates. It was impossible to know just how little of the book focused on his time with inmates or his former career versus the amount of time Mr. Recinella spends discussing his journey to live his life as God wanted him to. I picked up the book one morning thinking I would read a chapter or two and found myself still on the couch at lunch time, halfway through the book. The book is well written and clearly shares the message that you can't live your life in pursuit of Christ and a pursuit of money at the same time.
I received a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

several objections

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hannah Jane
Location:Alabama
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Now I Walk on Death Row
A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God
by Dale S. Recinella
I have a mixed feeling about this book. On the one hand, I found his story was a strong reminder of how we, as followers of Christ, must never forget about those who need the gospel, regardless of their previous sins.
On the other hand, however, I strongly disagree with other things in the book. Chief among these things is the fact the the author is a roman catholic.
Although I strongly assert that a person can profess to be a roman catholic and still be saved, I do not believe that the doctrines that roman Catholics teach leads to salvation. The Bible is extremely clear about this, and does not give any wiggle room on the matter of salvation by faith only.
A few other things to look out for:
* The idea that material wealth is bad. Many times in the Bible God indicates that he blesses people with financial and material wealth. Obviously, we must never let such things become an idol, but that does not at all mean we must expect to be poor. Although I may be wrong about this, I believe that Jesus confrontation with the rich young ruler about his wealth was not a condemnation of being wealthy, but a warning not to let riches take precedence over God, who was ultimately the one who gave them in the first place.
* The idea that the death penalty wicked and should be abolished.
* The idea that is an okay thing for the mother to be the breadwinner and the father to be stay at home. (especially when the dad has no reason other than the fact that his family wants him home more.)
* The notion that a family is a democracy.
The above are, for the most part, not "taught" in the book, but they are things that the author very evidently believes.
I'll give this one 6 out of 10 stars. ★★★★★★☆☆☆☆
I received this book for free from Bethany House publishers for this review. I was not compensated in any other way, and I was not in any was obligated to write either a positive or negative review for them.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not exactly what I expected, but still good

Date:April 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
mamabear1975
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first half of the book was about the authors’ upbringing, how his sister became institutionalized, how this affected His faith for some time, his beginning career as an attorney, a nutshell version of marriages and children. He was a very successful Wall Street finance lawyer, who was married to his job and the money. Through a series of Bible studies, his life changed & he starts earnestly seeking God and His will for his life. He met his current wife through this Bible study group. They begin questioning what else they can do for God. He begins to work part time and starts devoting his time to street ministry and volunteer work. He goes on a study-pilgrimage to Italy, where the group spends time begging in the streets of Rome, visiting holy and historic sites there and Assisi, & go to a monastery , spending 3 days in silence, praying and reading Scripture. When he returns to the US, as both were raised Catholic, they feel they can best serve God under the auspices of the Catholic Church. They are met with jaw-dropping remarks like, ‘You are suffering from excessive zeal…. Leave the work of the religious to the priests and nuns.’ They end up getting connected with The School of Lay Evangelism, & volunteer through Good News Ministries. After some time, he and his wife are trained in working with AIDS patients and their caregivers through Big Bend Cares. He becomes a spiritual advisor for a prison inmate, and eventually becomes a chaplain for death row.
I am challenged by his faith, prayer life, (including their prayer life as a couple) and their quest to leave the life of luxury behind, become stripped of possessions, in order to focus on serving the ‘least of these’. He is real and open about his struggles, including that his identity was in his work as an attorney and his affluency. From the title of the book, I expected the death row experiences to begin earlier in the book, but actually begin around Chapter 13. There is a small glimpse into the death penalty system and the politics behind this, too. A couple of occasions I felt sick to my stomach with sadness reading about the reality of the legal system and the fact that innocent people do go to prison and that an execution would not be stopped even if a confession was made by the one who committed the crime. My heart was softened at reading about experiences of inmates’ faith, openness to being prayed for/with, and it challenged me to look at some of my personal stereotypes and judgments about those in ‘the system’ . It challenged me to start praying for professions such as attorneys, staff who work at correctional institutions, along with their families. More about his experiences as witness to executions and especially his time spent with the inmate, & their families, in the days/hours leading up to execution, would be a fascinating read, if he ever wants to write a sequel! The book is challenging, making one think about what it really means to be a follower of God and ‘take up your cross to follow Him’. A haunting quote, “who of us wants to face the worst possible consequences of our smallest mistake?’ There is no room for arrogance or self-righteousness in the face of that question! “It is only by the grace of God that we ourselves do not face the worst possible consequences of our smallest mistake, let alone our worst.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome read

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
JoyAnne
Location:Jackson, TN
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say I truly enjoyed reading this book. Dale's story on how he came to be a prison chaplain is very interesting. I thank God for Dale and his wife, that they are obedient to God. Dale's writing style makes one feel like you've met the prisoners he talks about. They are human beings and God loves them as much as he does us.
This book makes you really think about the death penalty and the prisoners on death row. How important it is for someone to minister to them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

From Wall Street to Death Row

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam M
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow...this book would be an excellent read for anyone, but people groups who come to mind would be lawyers, people interested in Wall Street and finance, people involved in prison work and Catholics. Having said that...I am in none of the above categories and came away from the reading of this book challenged and convicted.
To me, there is nothing greater than hearing someone's experience of their relationship with Jesus. Dale is an excellent writer and the story he tells of God's call on his life is shared with honesty and humor.
One part that stood out to me was the resistance he and his wife met from the Catholic church when trying to serve the Lord. I found it a wonderful reminder that God calls us all to serve in His ministry...not just full-time pastors or priests. I was glad to see the purpose the Lord had for that entire disappointing experience which led to a greater rewarding one. So often even our best well-intentioned ideas are just not the same as God's plans for our lives.
I enjoyed seeing how God led Dale and his family each step of the way into service for Him
Such a wonderful book that I had to read it all in two nights!!!
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Now I Walk on Death Row: A Wall Street Finance Lawyer Stumbles into the Arms of A Loving God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book touches the reader on several levels.

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
misterehmuses
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now I Walk on Death Row by Dale S. Recinella
Review by Misterehmuses
Now I Walk on Death Row, by Dale Recinella "gets" the reader on several levels.
First, it is a straight forward Christian testimony. It states clearly this is where he "was" and this is where he "is" in his spiritual journey.
Secondly, it reads like a "Deeper Life" or "Christian Living" or "Inspirational" book that encourages believers or "followers of Jesus" to put into practice the kingdom principles that Jesus put forth in the Sermon on the Mount, or simply "what it means to live the Gospel".
Thirdly, it gives insight into various ministries and how one might be involved in a ministry almost without realizing that it is or will become such. And that comes about simply by doing or being what is before you.
Fourthly, it "exposes" some of the obstacles well meaning believers or professing believers put into the pathway of those who would hear the leading of God and try to follow in obedience.
Fifthly, it shows the rich rewards that come with interacting with the ones to whom the Recinellas minister.
And sadly, or perhaps wonderfully, it exposes the horrors that the American commitment to Capital Punishment and the death sentence brings upon the name of Christ and the American people. It is very clear in its testimony of the record and present political and economic grounds for maintaining such barbaric practices. (Dale Recinella is also the author of "The Biblical Truth About America's Death Penalty")
This book will be an encouragement to all believers in Jesus. The testimony is written as a "born again spirit filled charismatic" might receive with great joy, but is written in the context of a devout Roman Catholic who has heard the voice of God calling and has responded in obedience and seen abundant evidence of being used to God's glory each step of the way, where simple trust and obedience has been put into practice.
Anyone who reads this should be both challenged and encouraged to meet the challenge. It is, I think, an invitation to adventure and "abundant living".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.