Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oxford University Press NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover

Oxford University Press NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover

The New King James Version of the Scofield Study Bible III is now available in an easy-to-read large print edition. The Scofield Study Bible III, NKJV, Large Print Edition combines the renowned Scofield study notes and references with the popular New King James Version in a large font format. Identical to the original study Bible, this large print edition contains the fruit of Dr. C. I. Scofield's decades of reflection on the Word of God, which has been augmented (not revised), to help make the ideas underlying the Scofield's annotations clearer and more accessible to modern readers. Factual information is presented in a wealth of topical articles, charts, and lists that add depth and richness to Biblical study.

This sturdy hardcover edition is perfect for anyone needing a large print version of this trusted study Bible, whether for public reading or personal devotions. Pagination and design match the standard Scofield Study Bible III, NKJV Bibles exactly.

Features
  • The easy-to-read large print format (10.5 point type) is perfect for public reading or personal devotions
  • Pagination and design match the standard Scofield Study Bible III, NKJV Bibles exactly, making it perfect for group study
  • Over 100 factual articles, charts, and lists put a wealth of fascinating information at readers' fingertips
  • A subject-based topical chain reference system follows major themes throughout the entirety of Scripture
  • Nearly 70 in-text black-and-white maps orient the reader to geographical references in the biblical text
  • Notes crucial to understanding the Scofield are formatted as accessible, in-text articles
  • Sixteen pages of accurate, full-color New Oxford Bible Maps (with an index of places and natural features) illustrate the biblical world
  • Bottom-of-the-page study notes permit quick retrieval of interesting data
  • Select NKJV Concordance
  • Expanded introductions include detailed outlines of each book
Average Customer Rating:
4.655 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
26 out of 2990%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Review 1 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surpassed expectations! Great features!

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
DmScott
Location:Conyers, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this study bible for my husband as a Christmas gift. I had his name engraved on the cover. He was not only pleased with the overall informational value but was surprised by the cost since he had priced other study bibles in our local Christian book stores. I highly recommend CBD to others and have purchased this same bible in large print for myself and four other friends. I've been a customer for more than 20 years.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was given as a gift

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandy V
Location:Desert Hot Springs
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had looked at it on line and thought it would be a wonderful gift for a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I've been looking for!

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Misfit Mom
Location:Displaced Midwesterner
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'd been looking for a new bible for a while now. I got a different large print one on here (CBD), but it had no place for notes and funny how I really missed the headings (I couldn't find anything--HA!). Then, I bought a bible with wide margins, but the print was too small, so for me it was not what I was looking for.
I bought this Scofield a few months ago. I'll explain what I like and why I like it, and hopefully it will help someone. I like to underline and draw arrows and write in the margins. As I might be, hypothetically, getting older, I was looking for large print. BUT...gotta say, I like the large print anyway, just because I can see it, and I feel it's easier to follow and leaves me more room to underline and outline words, etc. I love the feel or view of the bible and I like it's big size for studying. Yes, this makes it a little heavier, but I was surprised how easily and quickly I got used to it!
I had not heard of the Scofield Bible until recently, but I do like that he is a dispensationalist (not hyper, just normal). I had a previous study bible where 2/3rds of the page was commentary which I didn't even look at, but I really like this bible because (as you can see from the preview) most pages have just a little bit of notes, only a minimal amount (like Genesis 1) have more notes. I also like that there is usually plenty of room to write notes. I printed a page from the preview to get the "feel" of it, and it worked great. It is true to size (other that it's not 8 1/2 x 11, but you get the idea by the size listed).
Some of the helps are just that...helps and/or facts. I really like pages that, for instance, have the feasts listed, the seven cries from the cross, miracles of Jesus recorded by John, or the all the apostle's names and which book they are named what and that kind of thing.
Now, what I also like about the Scofield notes here is I was able to find something I had a question on right away (something on deacons/elders). AND, the notes are more in-depth things instead of commentary for the most part. On the elders "box" it took me to scripture where things are listed--not just opinion. Thanks Mr. Scofield! **OF COURSE**, with ANY study bible, you always have to be a good Berean (Acts 17:11) and check to see if what the commentator says it true. I think most of his notes look very solid, even though I've already found one thing that I don't agree with also. Regardless, I like to have the option to find information IN my Bible, instead of always getting up to the computer to search something. Also, I've really appreciated some of the insights he brings to the table.
I would rather that the preview or the description had more information. There are TONS of helps in this Bible like monies, weights and measures; chain references; subject index; my FAV is the index to proper names; then a very extensive concordance and great maps! I did find more extensive previews at two other places that helped me to decide (they had more pictures), but CBD always has the best prices, and they have the option for imprinting.
Now, I've never had a thumb-indexed bible before, and that is SO COOL! Love this feature! For me, I like how the pages turn and the pages also are nice and durable to me. In my last bible, you'd turn the page and it was crinkled forever. So, I see the pages as very nicely durable. The cover seems fine to me. I have no reason to think it isn't durable as well.
I am not really sure how this compares to the original Scofield though. Hope that helps!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hard Cover

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Saint
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wish Scofield Study Bible came in regular font and hard cover. I was very surprised to learn the only hard cover Scofield Bible was the large print version. I prefer hard cover bibles for the durability.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoying the large print!

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
TJsmom
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoying this Bible. Easy to read without my glasses with the larger print. A little hard to handle since it is a larger size Bible, but overall has been a great choice for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Study Bible

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vonnie
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have several Scofield Study Bibles. I purchased this one as a gift for a friend. She loved it. I too love the larger print and will be getting one for myself.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pure joy to own

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
George
Location:San Antonio TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the New King James is a very easy to understand translation and with the Scofield notes it make reading the Bible a gift of knowledge. I can not speak highly enough of the joy I feel of not having to try to translate the King James into understandable English and then view the notes. I am now looking at the NIV version next to see what it has to offer.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
JAG is my nickname
Location:washington state
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really assist with understanding historical terms and means, which in turns helps with study in relevant historical meanings in the original text.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

a good study bible

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Juan Lopez
Location:Pittsburg, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
a good resourceful tool...can be use with many study tools
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is the foundation for my entire study.

Date:February 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jim B
Location:Canal Winchester, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this Bible at the end of 2011 and have gone completely through it this past year. I have two previous 1967 KJV's that are getting quite worn and the print seems to be shrinking. This hardback large print Study Bible III is exactly what I needed to stay up to date in the Word. It is the foundation of my entire study and remains open nearby even when I am studying from another translation. The larger size and print is perfect for longer study sessions at home.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Scofield Large print Bible

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shirley Salo
Location:Watton, Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this very much.
Needed large print as it is getting harder and harder to see
the small print in the Bibles I do have.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Satisfied with my new Scofield III.

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chauncey
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my purchase from CBD of the New Scofield III. It arrived on time, and was exactly as described in the advertisements on CBD website. It is a very large Bible, and I was happy to find a cover to hold it. Thanks CBD!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Scofield Study Bible NKJV

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lilibet
Location:Ottawa Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found this Bible lacking in information considering it is supposed to be a Study Bible. I found it had no information and I reverted back to the Macarther (not a NJKV) Bible I had bought previously which had much more information that made the Bible easier to understand.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Meets expectations

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Buttons
Location:Decatur, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was recommended to me by my mom and sister. They suggested that it would be great, since this is my first Study Bible, as it has everything I need at this time, and a great value!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
babylettuce2009
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had my last Scofield for 35 years and I anticipate using this one for that long too. I love the larger print, maps in the text, and updated notes. This is an excellent bible study tool and it's pretty enough to carry to church. I wouldn't change a thing about it. The staff helped me find a Drake xxl bible cover for it and that's terrific!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great value, bargain price, Scofield NKJV Bible.

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peter Jessup
Location:Tasmania, Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought of buying a Scofield NKJV Bible some years ago, but the price was high. On this occasion I was looking for a large print NKJV Bible, which I intend to cut into individual pages to make a loose-leaf Bible, since the publishers of the NKJV loose-leaf Bible are not reprinting. I would never have thought that I would be able to afford a large print Scofield NKJV Bible, so this has turned out to be a bonus for my loose-leaf project, resulting in a unique personal Bible at a bargain price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nicely made Bible, would recomend it to others

Date:March 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
dmacsimus
Location:Visalia, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the Bible. It's well made, and would recomend it to others .
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My husband love this.

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Msbuff
Location:Arab, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bible for my husband for Valentine's Day and he loved it. He uses it for his weekly bible study and it is very helpful. Large print makes it easy to read and the thumb tabs help to find each book easily.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible has great features.

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
ctbailey
Location:Stanton, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the study notes and references when I work on my Bible studies and I love the large print.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NKJV Scofield Study Bible III, Largeprint, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book is to heavy.

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
jackie o
Location:greenville S.C.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
every thing about this bible is great except the weight.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>