Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Chosen Books It Is Finished: Finding Lasting Victory Over Sin

Chosen Books It Is Finished: Finding Lasting Victory Over Sin

How can we overcome persistent sin and bad habits? Wilkerson says by allowing God to deliver us into a Spirit-filled life! Drawing from the messages he preached at Times Square Church, he shows how claiming God's promises can free us from vices such as drugs, alcohol, pornography, and other bondages; destroy satanic strongholds; and more. 160 pages, softcover from Chosen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for It Is Finished: Finding Lasting Victory Over Sin
Review 1 for It Is Finished: Finding Lasting Victory Over Sin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How to get rid of sin

Date:September 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone harbors a secret sin in their heart at least once in their lives. And then there are the rest of us who struggle with it a little more often than that. Which is why I was excited to be given the opportunity to review It Is Finished: Finding Lasting Victory Over SIN by David Wilkerson as part of Chosen Books review program. I love free books, I have sin in my life--a win/win situation. Hopefully I might even learn something new from the book.
I really loved the book. I saw myself everywhere in this book. I have this big, fat, ugly, horrible, besetting sin in my life (a sin that just keeps coming back over and over despite doing everything I could think of to get rid of it). At first I tried to pray it out. No dice. Then I tried praying harder. Nu-uh. Then I decided maybe it wasn't such a bad sin after all. It's just a little tiny sin that no one knows about. It's not like I shop lifted or murdered someone. If it were something big like that then I would need to get serious about this rooting out sin thing.
So I let it go. And by go, I mean grow. Every now and then, God would tap on my head and say, "Dear, you have this sin in your life. You really should deal with it." Oh right. So I'd wing off a prayer and repent, but nothing changed. Back to ignoring the blight in my heart. After a while, God tapped me on the head again. I prayed, repented, nothing changed. Repeat.
About a month ago God got a little more forceful with His tapping. In fact, I'd say it was more like clobbering me over the head. "DEAR! YOU HAVE SIN IN YOUR LIFE! DEAL WITH IT!" Fine. I will pray. I will repent. I will try fasting. I will try thinking "Lalalalala" and hope that will fix the issue. But it didn't work.
Look, God. I'm trying here. Don't you see that I am trying? But I keep falling on my face. I don't know what else I'm supposed to do. What am I supposed to do?!
I really did try hard to get rid of the sin. I did everything I could think of--except stand on my head. Though I would have tried standing on my head if I thought I wouldn't end up injured. And when nothing worked, I slumped down into despair. What does a girl have to do to get You to answer her, God?! Why aren't You fixing me?!
Thanks to this nifty book, I know the answer. All this time, years, I have been trying to fix my life on my own. I was trying to fix the sin myself. Except no one can get rid of sin on their own.
"I don't want this iniquity to ruin my life, but I can't cast out my own sin. I need a new heart that's beyond my ability to create." (pg 76)
"All [spiritually] dead men and women--hear the Lord. The only way you are going to defeat the sin that has ruined your life is if God's Spirit does the work in you. He has to enter and take dominion. Only He can bring you to life so that you can obey God." (pg 80)
Huh. All this time trying to do it on my own. It is not my job to get rid of the sin in my life! Good thing, because I stink at it. My job is to admit I am a sinner, that I am powerless to cast out my sin, and to trust God to do the rest. I must stand on the finished work of Jesus who died on the cross for my sins and rose again.
How freeing is that?!
"I will cause you to walk in My Ways and I will plant My fear in your heart. I know you cannot do this for yourself, but don't worry--I will do it all for you, with your cooperation. This work is accomplished only by faith in the finished work of the cross. All I ask is that you trust My promises to you. The work has already been accomplished by Me. It is your work to accept it by faith. That is My everlasting covenant." (pg 187)
I just finished the book tonight so I can't say yet that I am now fully free of the thorn in my side. But I have prayed. I have repented. I have hit bottom and given up all control. I have thrown myself on the mercy and power of Jesus who has already forgiven me. I know that He has victory for me and that He will fight the battle for me. God has promised that his Spirit will empower me to overcome sin and I hold fast to that promise.
If you have your own area of besetting sin that is plaguing you like mine plagued me, if you have no idea what you need to do to get rid of it--read this book. If you are to your breaking point of dealing with the same sin over and over and see no way out--read this book. It's a good one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for It Is Finished: Finding Lasting Victory Over Sin
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well Worth The Read!

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This informative book instructs a reader on taking up your personal cross tained in this useful volume.
to follow Jesus. Sections such as Abolishing your fears, What are strongholds, Lessons from the depths, From conviction to comfort are but a few of the many that will equip the believer with the knowledge to be able to resist Satan's lies, traps and strongholds. Many bible passages along with meaning and explanation, along with discussion questions and life stories pertaining to the chapters are contained in this useful volume.
When I picked up It is Finished I eagerly dove into the content. I learned much from this well written, researched and explained in detail book. This will be a go to read from time to time when questions I or someone I know has because I know that the dependable answers lie within. 4 Stars! I received a complimentary copy from Chosen Books for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for It Is Finished: Finding Lasting Victory Over Sin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Returns me to my First Love, my Jesus.

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It Is Finished by David Wilkerson will be one of my top books of the year.
David Wilkerson was the pastor of Church and the author of several books, including The Cross and the Switchblade.
He went home to be the Lord in 2011, and this book is one of the many blessings his preaching legacy has left us.
Included throughout this book are testimonies written by men and women whose lives were changed by understanding the truth in here: That it is Finished. That through His work you are free of sin's dominion, because the Holy Spirit lives in you and is mighty to save.
That triumphant cry from the Cross "It is Finished!" is the absolutely perfect title for this book, this book that unfolds the riches of the New Covenant for us.
Listen to this quote: "Everything depends on Him. If there is going to be revelation, He must give it. If there is going to be deliverance from besetting sins, the Holy Spirit has to do it. If things in my life need fixing, He has to fix them. If I am to be a blessing and a joy to Him, He has to make it happen. If I am to walk in the Spirit, He has to show me how."
And this quote: "I ask you, If you throw yourself on the mercy of the Holy Spirit-trusting Him completely, believing He is able to fulfill everything God demands of you- what enemy could stand against His power to accomplish all things in you? What temptation could overwhelm His might, which abides in you? The Holy Spirit simply asks that we come to Him believing that He has all power and authority to break sin's dominion over us?"
It is Finished is a book that takes you back to your first Love, Jesus, by reminding us that it is His love that is constant and His work that saves.
This book refreshes the heart by reminding us of the foundational truths we tend to leave behind and lose sight of.
Learning them again brings joy to our spirit.
I highly reccommend this book, It is Finished by David Wilkerson.
Thank you to Chosen Books for my copy to review. One man quoted in this book said he wore out three copies of It is Finished. I can see why.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for It Is Finished: Finding Lasting Victory Over Sin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book you will read and devour

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
David Wilkerson is best known for his early ministry to drug addicts and gang members in New York City. His story is told in The Cross and the Switchblade which was made into a movie in 1970. For many years, Wilkerson struggled with the New Covenant and how to put that into practice having grown up with legalism and works theology.
“In my later years, I have concluded that laying hold of the New Covenant is the only way to break free from the power and dominion of sin” writes Wilkerson in his introduction to “It is Finished”. It’s not about hard work to make up for the bad things you’ve done. It’s about the redeeming power of the New Covenant.
“It is Finished” is composed of messages Wilkerson preached at Times Square Church in New York City. Wilkerson has filled his book with basic covenant truths with deep explanations in order for you to apply God’s truth to your life. If you have ever struggled with sin and grieved over them and sought freedom from them, Wilkerson’s powerful teachings will show you how to stop the cycle of sinning and confessing.
Wilkerson helped me understand the New Covenant concept better than any other pastor or teacher ever has because he struggled with this himself and diligently sought the truth. Thank goodness he was able to share this knowledge with us through the generosity of his estate. It is a book you will devour as you read. I am grateful this book was written and that I was able to receive this book I so desperately needed at this time in my life.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Baker Publishing Group as part of their book review blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for It Is Finished: Finding Lasting Victory Over Sin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Explanation

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It Is Finished is essentially a book that explains the New Covenant. I think many Christians don't truly understand the significance of the New Covenant and how it affects everything in our spiritual lives. This book does a fine job explaining the "how to" defeat sin in our lives. While this book is small it is jam packed with information. I also enjoyed the real life letters that were included as examples of people who struggle with the very topics he deals with in the chapters. If you desire to have a better understanding of the New Covenant this is a great read.
I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for It Is Finished: Finding Lasting Victory Over Sin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband receives daily emails with David Wilkerson devotional readings. Every now and then he'll pass one on to me that made an impact on him. Now it's my turn! I am definitely passing this book along to him now that I've finished it.
I really like how David Wilkerson explains the Old and New Covenants. Not only does he talk about what they were/are, he talks about the importance of each. The focus of "It Is Finished" is really about how to fully live under the New Covenant to be free from those pesky sins that you just can't seem to get rid of. Note the phrase "that YOU...", yeah, that could be the problem right there. You can't, but God can!
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for It Is Finished: Finding Lasting Victory Over Sin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book with a Timely Message

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robby from Da Bronx
Location:(Bronx) New York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is interesting is that Times Square Church in New York City has been my home church for the last 8 years. I had the privilege of sitting under Pastor Wilkerson's Shepherding and teaching so i knew i would like this book and it is full of great insight and wisdom. Even though Pastor Wilkerson is no longer here the message God has given him continues on. Again the price was very reasonable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.