Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Chosen Books Outrageous Courage: What God Can Do with Raw Obedience and Radical Faith

Chosen Books Outrageous Courage: What God Can Do with Raw Obedience and Radical Faith

Treating rebel guerillas on an Asian island, having tea in a Mozambican hut with bullets whistling by, caring for 900 HIV-positive orphans . . . the "chapters" in motorcycle-rider Tracy Evans's story reflect jaw-dropping boldness and obedience! Kris and Jason Vallotton share her adventures---and encourage you to put your life on the line for Christ. 160 pages, softcover from Chosen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Outrageous Courage: What God Can Do with Raw Obedience and Radical Faith
Review 1 for Outrageous Courage: What God Can Do with Raw Obedience and Radical Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outrageous Courage is a Outrageously Good

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
katiespen
Location:Greer, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Outrageous Courage" by Kris Vallotton and Jason Vallotton is one of the best true stories I have read in a long time. The story of Tracy Evans, a physician assistant, is both inspiring and convicting. To see how God used someone so immersed in anger, bitterness, and corruption to lead such a life of faith, impacting others, is a challenge to Christians everywhere to step up our faith in God.
Walk beside Tracy as she recounts her experiences working with drug lords and prostitutes in the city of Los Angeles to caring for HIV-positive orphans in Mozambique.
Once Tracy put her faith in God, she believed there was nowhere that God wouldn't protect her, and she has lived all around the world trusting Him to protect her in war zones, amidst hostile tribal groups, and under flying bullets.
Anyone who wants to learn more about how real God can be should definitely read Tracy's story. Your life will never be the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Outrageous Courage: What God Can Do with Raw Obedience and Radical Faith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

INSPIRING COURAGE AND COMMITMENT TO SERVING GOD!

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The title of the book certainly lives up to how Tracy Evan’s has lived her life after becoming a Christian. The courage she displays in her Christian walk is the kind that all of us would love to have. Nothing held back, no doubts or fears entertained, no questioning His plan, just totally trusting and obeying God in all ways. I would love to have that kind of courage.
Having had a rough start in life, you wouldn’t think Tracy would have come to such a place of total commitment and service to God. Her story is proof God can use anyone, no matter what their back ground, if only they are willing. He will polish the rough edges in His time and way.
Growing up in a dysfunctional family and her father in prison, Tracy took the path of most youth in that situation; one of rebellion, anger, hatred, and violence. She ran away and joined the army where she found Christ through a fellow solider. She then obtained her degree as a physician’s assistant and trained at Stanford University. She has served in 64 nations over the past 30 years and is serving to this day.
Her “radical faith” and “outrageous courage” have brought her face to face with death, unbelievable hardship, debilitating illnesses in a shack in the Philippines, heart wrenching suffering of those she worked to minister to. In all of this she did not panic or turn away from what she believed was her calling. Through these frightening situations or only thought was reaching others for Christ and following the Lord’s direction.
While Tracy and I do not share the same beliefs, and I found myself questioning the legitimacy some of her accounts, there is no questioning the testimony of her zeal and commitment to following Christ and spreading the Gospel. Something we could all use more of. This is a very interesting book.
I received this book free from Baker Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Outrageous Courage: What God Can Do with Raw Obedience and Radical Faith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Recommendation: Read it, it won’t take that long!

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
GennaReads
Location:Evergreen, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Outrageous Courage is a quick read somewhat chronicling the life of Tracy Evans: a missionary/God-warrior. There were times I was frustrated during reading, as this book jumps around, skips details, follows an intriguing story with a chapter of thoughts without any stories, and on and on. I quickly figured out that Outrageous Courage is not a memoir that is going to leave the reader knowing anything of substance about the person it is about, and perhaps that was the point. I have never read anything that is trying so fervently to take the focus off of people and instead directly point it right to God.
Despite the fact that I like the heart behind the evasive nature of this novel, if it was any longer I would not have had the motivation to finish it. There was just no story line to keep me wanting more. The strengths of the book are the few detailed stories that are shared and then used to demonstrate a point about the amazing things God will do with our lives if we say, “yes” to Him and “no” to fear. If you are looking for a book to help motivate you and teach you what saying “yes” to God may look like, then this book might just help you on your way. The closing thoughts by Kris Vallotton really helped solidify the main point of the novel and spur the reader on to a life filled with an adventure that only God could orchestrate. In the end, I certainly wasn’t left with the feeling that I had waisted my time, and I don’t think you will be either.
*A free copy of this book was given to me from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Outrageous Courage: What God Can Do with Raw Obedience and Radical Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get it now!

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I was immediately drawn to the book by its description. I love biographies, but especially of those who are fearlessly living out their lives for Jesus. Tracy Evans is doing just that. Being saved while in the Army, to currently working in Mozambique, God has led her on a vast and courageous journey. It's an adventure that only He could put together for her.
I'm sure she has many more stories to tell, but from the limitations of a book, I am overwhelmed with how God has provided for her again and again and again. I will tell you, it makes you wonder what God can do with your life. Ms. Evans will say she's a nobody, just like you and me. God desires to use us, we just need to be willing to go, no matter the cost.
I was very encouraged by Ms. Evans' life and testimony. Also, those who are helping her along the way with either financial support or just their open love for her and their Savior. They are truly courageous in their walk with God by living out their obedience through their apparent calling of supporting Ms. Evans.
I received a complimentary copy from Chosen Books for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Outrageous Courage: What God Can Do with Raw Obedience and Radical Faith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Review: OUTRAGEOUS COURAGE

Date:February 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was written to share true and inspiring events from Tracy Evans' missionary life. Readers who enjoy the biographies and stories of missionaries or readers who like books with plenty of action will enjoy Outrageous Courage.
I enjoyed reading Tracy's story and seeing how God worked in her life, as well as how He protected her and orchestrated events in her life. Your heart will be touched by the stories of the people Tracy worked with and cared for.
Thank you to Bethany House and Chosen Books for providing me with a free copy of Outrageous Courage in exchnage for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Outrageous Courage: What God Can Do with Raw Obedience and Radical Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Raw

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Danni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What does raw obedience really look like? I think that question gets answered in many different ways in the book Outrageous Courage.
We are told the story of Tracy Evans in her own words, as she reflects on some of the things that have happened in her life. What I loved about Tracy's story is her raw honesty. She even says that she wasn't always obedient and that God taught her things through her disobedience as well. There were so many little pearls of wisdom in this book that can only come from being close to God.
It is any easy read but not a light read. Highly recommend this book.
I received this book from Chosen Publishing in exchange for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Outrageous Courage: What God Can Do with Raw Obedience and Radical Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This one makes you think...

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
BevK
Location:WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewing OUTRAGEOUS COURAGE by Kris Vallotton
This book lives up to it's name, and in the process makes you look at your own life. I doubt there won't be anyone NOT touched by it, if they read it through and allow the Holy Spirit to touch them. Parts are 'outrageously shocking' when you first read them, then it all settles in and you think, 'this girl/woman is living out her faith to the fullest with the Light she has at the time'.
Early in the book she says "I had ignored God's warning... and now I am sitting with the consequences. I apologized and asked for His mercy, committing my life once again into His hands." What a picture for us today! Today many don't want to face the consequences of their actions and want to be bailed out, but the 'bailing out' should only be done by the Lord, so it is "in His will".
We often get the picture of missionaries as meek and mild, but this book will show you the effectual workings of God through confrontation and challenge. She had the balance between challenge and gentleness. And, isn't that how Jesus is? NT tells us much about Him, and how our lives are to mirror His.
When we fail in our obedience, do we learn from it? Tracy tells us that we often do not because we are ashamed of them, but God does not feel the same way. "He is not ashamed when His kids stumble, He is right there to pick us back up..." But the key is, do we turn them over to the Lord and humbly submit to Him?
She states a beautiful truth "God always gives us enough time and resources to do what HE wants us to do. So... if we are lacking in either, then something is wrong on our end, never His.
I also liked her statement of "we get younger as we get older." There is so much in the book to make us examine our own lives in light of the Gospel we say we believe!
There were many stories of her experiences in the book, and stories of her co-workers, but two that touched me tremendously were in Mozambique. A woman was pronounced dead at the scene of an accident, and came to life before their eyes. She had a broken twisted neck and a protruding eyeball out of the socket, and all was fixed! The other was a heart wrenching scene as they rescued a woman left to die, seeping body fluids as they hit each bump in the road after loading her onto someone's lap on the way to the hospital. Such love is the kind Jesus would expect of us, because it reflects His love. And reading it, you ask yourself, could/would I have helped, or been as so many and passed her by, knowing she was going to die anyway?
The book ends with a sharp but true warning to all of us 'sitting at home ... wiling away our time in front of the TV or games. Parents who are so overprotective and controlling of their children that they hover over the kids' every move so that they do not skin up their fragile little souls in the game of life. We used to teach our kids that 'all day, all night...angels are watching over me' but our overprotected culture has caused a cosmic unemployment crisis in the heavenlies. Are we depriving our children of an adventurous spirit to 'trust' God with their lives by our overprotected culture... when we exchange that faith-filled life ... we have lost sight of our divine destiny."
I highly recommend this book. I was given a free copy from Chosen-Baker Publishing to review, without restrictions
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Outrageous Courage: What God Can Do with Raw Obedience and Radical Faith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Adventures with God

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda Walters
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A book written about a woman Tracy Evans, an every day woman living an Indiana Jones kind of Adventure of Faith. Written to inspire, comfort you when you fall down and enlarge your vision of true Christianity. Although she is unknown to most, she is honest in sharing her times of failure, how God didn't waste one ounce of learning and that God loved her through it all. She didn't get there overnight; but she shares many of the adventures she's been on. Her definition of the Secret door to the Great Adventure with God? Blind faith and wild trust!
I really liked the book, it wasn't written with a prideful attitude and includes and gives credit to many other people in the "cast of characters" in her story. She also addresses the revelation that she lived, that the older she got in her faith, the younger she needed to get; that childlike wonder and approach to life . The words " spend yourself" in Isaiah 58:10 was mentioned and seems a very good description of her life and others that she mentioned.
In the end Kris Vallotton capped it all by saying he believes we were ALL created for adventure . And this also stood out big, " Write your obituary and work backwards; and people won't have to lie about you at your funeral". You want to live to the outer limits of your destiny? Hang out with people who scare you!!
I received this book free through Chosen Books publishers book review program.
I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are wholly and completely my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Outrageous Courage: What God Can Do with Raw Obedience and Radical Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Life-Altering Encounter with God

Date:February 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
AMKreations
Location:NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think we can all be encouraged by reading the account of Tracy Evans life, as portrayed in Outrageous Courage. I'll admit, the title and cover made me want to pick this book up and read it. When I started, it was hard to put the book down.
This book is well written and easy to read. It's a story, in first person, of experiences the author has been through. I appreciated the transparency of Tracy, how she shares with the reader both good and bad on her journey of faith thus far. I felt like I could relate to her at times, making mistakes and yet wanting so much to know Him more.
I was struck by Tracy's courage and reliance on God in a number of terrifying situations. I could feel the love of the Father emanating through her as she reached out to the poor and needy, the broken, in places and situations we would find repulsive. I could also sense the heart of God, speaking through this book to a number of areas in my own life, as Tracy continually encourages the reader to a deeper walk and intimacy with the Lord. I feel the author portrays a genuine faith, full of practical workings, as evidenced by the fruit in her ministries. I appreciate her devotion to the will of God, even above her care or concern for her own life.
All these things and more make me want to pass this book along and encourage as many as possible to read it. I am truly grateful for the opportunity to have reviewed this book, free of charge, from Bethany House Publishers (Chosen Books). Don't hesitate to get a copy. You'll find that you're encouraged to a greater reliance on God and a deeper walk with Him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Outrageous Courage: What God Can Do with Raw Obedience and Radical Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Let Jesus wreck your life

Date:January 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janeece
Location:Kearney, Nebraska
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Could NOT put this down! This book makes you hunger for MORE of God, MORE of His glory. Make us heartbroken for what breaks your heart God. This book will give birth to vision.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Outrageous Courage: What God Can Do with Raw Obedience and Radical Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Be a Risk Taker!

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Josi
Location:Baker City, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outrageous Courage began as a story similar to that of many people who venture into missions at a young age, with much to learn about themselves and the Lord. The spiritual growing-up and healing that takes place in the individual, the hurt and disappointments carried when one has to leave a mission field abruptly, the struggle with reverse culture shock and fitting back in to the American church- all of this is the norm for young Christians who spend time in overseas missions. So I confess to feeling only a passing interest through the first several chapters of this book- nothing struck me as highly unique…at first. But then the story shifted from retelling the dramatic or memorable points in Tracy Evans’ experiences that shaped her faith, to focusing on the outcomes of her maturity in faith and her unique willingness to truly, and literally, live-or die- by faith. Consequently, what began as an interesting- but not exceptional- story ended as the authors intended: Outrageous Courage is a challenging story that does inspire and urge the reader on in a deeper walk with God. Like Tracy Evans, you will hear God’s call to “spend yourself” in behalf of others (Is. 58:10). You will finish this book asking the Lord to show you how to be a risk-taker in faith wherever you are, in whatever place you are living your calling. I don't think it would be possible to put this book down and feel satisfied with your status-quo; you will be begging God to throw you off a spiritual cliff so that you can experience the thrill of Him catching you. This book would be a great read for the restless (or aimless) teenager who is uncertain of God’s calling in his life, but it would be no less valuable to those at any life-stage who seek the challenge of living more fully, more passionately, and more abundantly in Jesus.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Chosen Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.