Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1

Zondervan Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1

Travel to Israel and radically change your understanding of the Scriptures. Wet your feet in the Jordan River and impact the culture with life-giving water. Show your trust in the Lord's provision by offering up first fruits at Jericho. And cleanse the land by confronting evil and using the tools of society to redeem your world for God. In this first volume of the "That the World May Know" series, historian and teacher Ray Vander Laan will show you how God guided his people to a specific place - the Promised Land - to impact the world both in ancient times and today.

The five session DVD comes with a Leader's Guide and is designed to be used with the revised and expanded Discovery Guide sold separately: WW7957X. Running time is approximately 110 minutes.

"Nothing has opened and illuminated the Scriptures for me quite life the Faith Lessons series." Dr. James Dobson That the World May Know is a registered trademark of Focus on the Family and Faith Lessons is a trademark of Focus on the Family. All rights reserved.
Average Customer Rating:
4.87 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Review 1 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great resource for Sunday School class.

Date:May 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
David
Location:Edmond, Ok
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used almost all of the Ray Vander Laan series over the past Year and half in my adult class and just recently acquired this DVD lesson to cover material not previously examined. Even though it is a much earlier production, it is as equally good as the others in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diana
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were introduced to this series of DVDs in the mid 1990's at church and began buying them for our family. At first we used them for homeschooling Bible studies but we continued watching them over and over. Back then they were VHS and lately we've had problems with them wearing out and getting stuck in the VCR so we just ordered the first five again, this time on DVD. That's how good they are. We have all 12 and the study guides that go along with them and just continue to watch them in order from start to finish and never tire of them. Ray Vander Laan is an incredible, humble, insightful teacher and teaches from his heart as well as his mind. The scripture becomes much more real as he explains different cultures, customs and meanings of the Bible. Even though we have watched them many times it seems we still learn something new each time that we didn't pick up on before. Can't recommend these highly enough. Every time we get a catalog from CBD I open it first to these DVDs to check and see if #13 has arrived yet. We will continue to purchase them. It's the best Bible teaching my husband and I have ever received and we've been in church all our lives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent video and teaching.

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Afiddler
Location:Lawrence County, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this video for a small adult Sunday School class with limited amount of time--about 45 min. The class really likes seeing areas of the Holy Land and the discussion afterwards. The booklets are full of additional weekly indepth studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what we were looking for

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shar
Location:Hutchinson, KS
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed some good Bible Study material for our prison Bible Study. This is just what we needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT SCENERY, INTERESTING TEACHING.

Date:February 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
OBXGIRL
Location:SPARTANBURG, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE TEACHING IS SET ON LOCATION IN THE MIDDLE EAST, MOSTLY IN ISRAEL. ACHEOLOGICAL SITES ARE SHOWN AND USED TO EXPLAIN POINTS IN THE LESSON. IT MAKES IT SEEM AS IF THE VIEWER IS PRESENT WHILE THE DISCUSSION IN GOING ON. EACH LESSON BUILDS ON THE PREVIUS ONE. THE INSTRUCTOR BRINGS EVERYTHING TOGETHER IN AWAY THAT CAUSES THOUGHTFUL REFLECTION AFTER WATCHING.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for bible students.

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lester
Location:Watervliet, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is very professionally done. It is great for anyone who is interested in biblical teaching, but especially for those who are interested in biblical history. You see the actual places where biblical events occurred, and learn the culture of that specific time also.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Daphne Boydston
These DVD's are the next best thing to a visit to Christian landmarks. They are beautifully done, informative and scripturally sound. I have used the videos for many years with groups of all ages. The guides are easy to use also.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
GeannineMiller
I really enjoyed and learned from this DVD. However, the shipping cost was overcharged. I doubt it cost you $6 to ship and will probably keep me from ordering more in this series.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jo Ann Brewington
This is the first DVD of a set of great learning DVDS. I haven't watched a boring one yet. The material that they contain would be helpful to any Christian. Its just like being in the Holy Land only you're sitting in your living room.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robert
Very good! Well done! I am looking forward to the rest of the series. Great investment!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gary Marks
This is the third DVD presented by Ray Vander Laan I have used in a small group bible study. The faith lessons are magnificent and the background information and history of the locations bring the scriptures to life. I would highly recomment this to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ernest Scott
Outstanding material. I found this material to be extremely profitable. My thanks to Ray and the Focus staff for making this available to students of the scriptures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathy Penrod
I have only purchased the first in the series so far. It was informative and even though I have been a Christian for a long time, I learned several new things. I am definitely going to order more in this series for my own personal study. I would recommend these to anyone who wants to deepen their understanding of the Scriptures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robert Morris
My husband and I decided that since I enjoy watching DVD's, we'd get The Promised Land, Faith Lessons and watch it together. Even though I've been a Christian for many years, I still learned new things from watching just two segments of it. Susan Morris
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Thomas Mathew
The next best thing if one cant travel to the Holy land. The old testament comes alive. Looking to the new release of Vol 10 shortly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Yvonne Armstrong
CBD, I am so delighted to own the complete set of "That the World May Know" faith lessons by Ray Vander Laan. I have used them in Bible study groups and Sunday School and both groups raved about them. During the summer of 2009, a group of us studied Joshua in depth and Ray Vander Laan's teaching in ancient Gezer was just one of the enhancements in using his faith lessons along with our study of Joshua. I cannot praise them enough.Yvonne Armstrong
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenny Bullock
We have had other studies with Ran Vanderlaan in another series and absolutely loved them! We purchased this to use with our small group and have not started this yet, but if it is anything like the ones before it will be Great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
My family really enjoys this whole series, I have been giving them to my father for Christmas and birthdays the last few years. None of us has been to Israel in person, but we feel we've visited there with Ray Vander Laan, and feel the richer for the trip!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lincoln United Church
I bought the DVD to replace the video we already had of this session. This series has been used extensively by our church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Promised Land DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy Leonhardt
FANTASTIC!!!! Ray Vander Laan is an amazing teacher and these Faith Lessons are incredible. I feel as if I'm sitting right there with him. The teaching is great, Ray speaks clearly and with such passion! Our children (Ages 18, 16, 14, 11, 9, and 7) ALL enjoy Ray's teaching!!! This is one of the best investments I've ever made... and worth every penny!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>