Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Promised Land Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 1

Zondervan Promised Land Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 1

The Promised Land Discovery Guide contains questions for discussion and reflection on Scripture passages explored in the DVD (WW7955X), the first volume of the "That the World May Know" series. Discover how God guided his people to a specific place—the Promised Land—to impact the world both in ancient times and today. 5 group sessions plus personal Bible studies to help you deepen your learning experience between sessions are included in this revised Discovery Guide.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Promised Land Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Review 1 for Promised Land Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best Bible studies ever

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diane
Location:Alaska
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our church is small, without a pastor, and we were loaned an old VHS copy of this Bible study to help in prompting people to come to the church. Everyone loves this study and are helping the church raise enough money to buy the newer CD edition!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Promised Land Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good help with DVD

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dean
Location:Pueblo, CO
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We appreciate this series and the lesson book. Good value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Promised Land Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brings things to life.

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr Curley
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Using this series with our Joyful Seniors by-weekly study. Well received by all and linking the video brings things to life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Promised Land Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible Study - Worth every minute spent on it!

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Use the book with the DVD from Ray Van De Laan on the same topic - the combination is extremely powerful and will bring you to new understanding you nevr have had!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Promised Land Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent resource.

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pierce
Location:Staunton, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent resource for those wishing to understand the Bible better, particularly the the background of the physical settings of places mentioned in Scripture. The DVD's and the Lesson Books are well put together, and are easy to use.
Currently using the material for a Adult Elective Sunday School class. Has been well received. Could be used for children, as well, for the DVD's hold the children's interest. Well done!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Promised Land Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very thought provoking.

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
rosebud
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using it in a small group ladies study and are very excited about the insight we have gained on our purpose as Christians in our current culture.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Promised Land Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Margaret Spencer
Probably Ray VanderLan's best yet. He really makes the Bible come alive. We use this for lesson material in our Adult Sunday School Class.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Promised Land Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
TNW
I was using this DVD along with the corresponding study guide as an at home Bible study and daily devotional. The DVD includes five 30 minute (rounded up) segments all of which are able to bring life to scripture by helping you understand culture and history, while at the same time making it relevant to our lives today. Ray Vander Laan does an excellent job communicating this information; his knowledge and enthusiasm make a marvelous combination. If you are familiar with Stephen Davey (who I was introduced to AFTER watching this first DVD) I could compare the two and say they equally inspire me with their words! Most of this DVD/study guide directives refer to the Old Testament, however, there are a few references to the New Testament as well. The segments on the DVD are long enough to leave you feeling like you learned something, but are short enough to squeeze into a busy day. I do not feel the study guide was required to watch this DVD. ALTHOUGH. I found the study guide an excellent tool for guiding me through the Bible and finding the relevance to it's stories and God's message to us all. The study guide has a section to complete immediately after watching the DVD segment followed by five days worth of short guided readings with questions about scripture and how it relates to your life. I highly recommend buying the study guide! The last thing I will say about the study guide is that it does take a little time - I would estimate about 15-20 minutes each day, which is truth is the very least we can offer to studying the Bible. Enjoy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Promised Land Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ron Bunch
This is a great small group study and I highly recommend it. Brings the Bible to life and gives terrific insight and meaning to what is written.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Promised Land Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eddy Messick
The Faith Lessons on the Holy Land is one of the most remarkable Bible Studies one could ever do. If you've never been to the Holy Land, after going through this series, you will feel like you have been. All of the lessons, video, etc. are filmed in the Holy Land and they add insight to scripture that is invaluable. Ray Vander laan is an awesome teacher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.