Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2

Zondervan Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2

Filmed on location in Israel, Faith Lessons is a unique video series that brings God's Word to life with astounding relevance. By weaving together the Bible's fascinating historical, cultural, religious, and geographical contexts, teacher and historian Ray Vander Laan reveals keen insights into the Scriptures' significance for modern believers. These illuminating "faith lessons" afford a new understanding of the Bible that will ground your convictions and transform your life. The Faith Lessons video series is ideal for use at home, especially in personal and family Bible studies. Individual believers and families will gain vital insights from long-ago times and cultures through this innovative approach to Bible study. The six sessions include: 1. Innocent Blood - Part 1 2. Innocent Blood - Part 2 3. Who is God? 4. Wages of Sin 5. The Lord is My Shepherd 6. God with Us
6 sessions; 1 DVD with leader's guide, 110 minutes (approximate).
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2
Review 1 for Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
sethmark
Location:corvallis montana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All of Ray VanderLahn's teachings are the best. His knowledge of the Bible, the Jewish land and traditions back up his teachings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diana
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were introduced to this series of DVDs in the mid 1990's at church and began buying them for our family. At first we used them for homeschooling Bible studies but we continued watching them over and over. Back then they were VHS and lately we've had problems with them wearing out and getting stuck in the VCR so we just ordered the first five again, this time on DVD. That's how good they are. We have all 12 and the study guides that go along with them and just continue to watch them in order from start to finish and never tire of them. Ray Vander Laan is an incredible, humble, insightful teacher and teaches from his heart as well as his mind. The scripture becomes much more real as he explains different cultures, customs and meanings of the Bible. Even though we have watched them many times it seems we still learn something new each time that we didn't pick up on before. Can't recommend these highly enough. Every time we get a catalog from CBD I open it first to these DVDs to check and see if #13 has arrived yet. We will continue to purchase them. It's the best Bible teaching my husband and I have ever received and we've been in church all our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really a great study - love Ray!

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anita Martin
Location:Ashland, KY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just great. The Faith Lessons series always shed new light on subjects I thought I already knew. Love to see the actual locales we are learning about. It brings the Bible to life in a way words alone cannot do. My Wed. night small group partners are really enjoyed the series. This is our third in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maria
Location:San Diego, Ca
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I started one session at a time and played it over and over again, and every time I saw it I learned something new. I knew nothing of the bible and this has helped me not only learn but gain understnding and insight. Thank you for the work that you do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jerolyn B. Holland
I have used this series before. We are using this for two groups and the Discovery booklet, which we did not have the first time, has really helped in adding background information or giving information that clarifies or supports what we are studying. Even thought this was released some time ago, it is relevant and brings to life the stories in the Bible as we see locations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Delton Judd
Ray Vander Laan's "Faith Lessons" are so interesting to see what the country actually looks like and hear the stories that happened at that place. It opens the Scriptures even more. We use it ourselves and also have started using it in a home Bible study. Innocent Blood part 2 is the same information as part 1, and we would have rather had a different lesson since we can go back and listen to part one however many times we want to. We have Faith Lessons Vol. 1-4. I recommend them as a good learning & growing tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ron Bunch
The entire series of Faith Lessons is just outstanding. The insights it gives into the culture, geography, and history adds so much to the study of the Bible. Ray Vander Laan's passion adds considerably to each lesson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Ray Vanderlaan has a gift for Hebriac teaching. The scriptures are opened for better understanding. Would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ernest Scott
I did not enjoy this product. It was not in keeping with the other videos I have reviewed by Ray Van derlaan. Too much emphasis is placed on the worship of Baal. Secondly if it was not enough to have placed these images before your face for an entire session the next session does the same thing. I felt my money was not well spent. I recommend that no one purchase this lesson. The lesson seemed to be bent toward entertainment rather than being a lesson to inform the student of scripture. The other lessons I viewed were very informative.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kenneth Passno
This is truly a unique way to study the Bible. These "faith lessons" provided a keen insight into cultural, religious, and even social life that allowed me to better understand what is written in the Bible. Informative, educational, enlightening, inspirational... what more can I say, I loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy Leonhardt
Ray is truly a man of God, and very wise teacher. His passion and his knowledge of Christ and the Holy Land has given me a new perspective on Christianity. This DVD has helped me to grow in Christ and has inspired me to learn more about the Bible. Ray Vander Laan is truly a blessing and his teaching in these Faith Lesson DVD's are helping to transform my heart (and my family's hearts too).... and our life. EXCELLENT!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Traci Mays
Ray Vander Laan is a wonderful teacher. I learned a great deal by watching these lessons on the history of the kings and prophets. I plan to get the entire set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Vaughn
Ray Vamder Laan is a wonderful teacher of the bible. I have seen some of his other bible studies, and the pattern is the same... great on site views of biblical lands coupled with artistic drawings make his stories come alive. Great workbook included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Quillen
Our small Bible Study Group uses Ray Vander Laan's "That the World May Know" series. We have learned a great deal and have thoroughlyenjoyed his method of teaching while on our walk with the Lord. Ray Vander Laan is so impressive that we all would like to go on one of his tours one day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janet Clayton
This is an excellent DVD. The entire series of Faith Lessons with Ray Vander Laan teaching from Israel is awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Prophets & Kings Of Israel DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Katherine Laughton
I have not watched it yet. I am hoping that it is not part of the old VHS (4 tapes) series. I have used them for years for different groups and I latter purchased Walk as Jesus Walked,In the Dust of the Rabbi, and On The Early Church. All of the above were the greats series that I have ever gotten my hands on. I know that the series on the Prophets & Kings will be great as well. My hope is that he does some more very soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.