Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Liberty Press Exploring American History Second Edition

Christian Liberty Press Exploring American History Second Edition

Explore American history with the European men and women who first traversed the landscape. Units are divided into: Exploration of the New World (from Leif Ericsson to Henry Hudson), Settlement of a New Land (Miles Standish to George Whitefield), Founding of a New Nation (B. Franklin to James McGready), Growth of the Nation, and the Maturing of America (through 2008). Clear, chronological chapters provide an engaging narrative of the history of the United States, and are accompanied by a number of black and white photographs, reproductions, and maps. Comprehension questions end each chapter. 266 indexed pages, softcover. Appendices include a list of presidents and important facts on the states & territories. Grade 5.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exploring American History Second Edition
Review 1 for Exploring American History Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

History mistakes have been corrected

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
librarymom
Location:OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The mistakes mentioned in the reviews seem to have been corrected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Exploring American History Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

King Charles was not married to Marie Antoinette!

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica Scruggs
Location:Edwards AFB, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How do you make this mistake? At the top of page 42 of this book it states when referring to Charles 1 of England: "The king's wife, who was Marie Antoinette, was a French Catholic." King Charles was in fact married to Henrietta Maria, who was French. However, she was not Marie Antoinette. This makes me wonder how many other mistakes there are in this book.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Exploring American History Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
jennie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this book! So much better than the history book my daughter had in public school! Love this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Exploring American History Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Covers a lot of history

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
cookingmama
Location:Hazleton, PA.
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I liked the book over all ,but felt they went into too much detail about irrelevant history. It seems a little confusing when the chapter is tilted one thing but they discuss other people and events. It covers a lot of history and people. It's a good book if you want to get through a summary of American history in one year.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Exploring American History Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book but needs updates

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dyslexic
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really think this book is good but for a quick example for updates well needed in this book. A woman archelogist spent a good amount of her life researching and and conducting digs that has proven the Vikings lived in America for close to 500 years before the Indians "came" and brutally murdered their village. Until that time the Vikings were unaware of the Indians. The evidence strongly implies that those particular tribes were not living on this land until they brutally murdered the Viking tribes. This bothers me greatly because, due to the history books not being through and not telling all of the truth in many cases the Western European nations have taken on a bad reputation that is nothing more than a lie and we should be seeking the truth.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Exploring American History Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Dombrowski
I am very pleased with this history textbook. It is easy to read and loaded with good information. My kids are enjoying learning American history. This book tells about the people who made history not just the dates. Some of these people I had not heard of before. When we come to a section that we feel we want to learn more about we either research it on the internet or we find additional books in the library that compliment the topic we are studying. Each chapter is simple with just enough information to satisfy an elementary student. I highly recommend this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Exploring American History Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Teri
I really like this book for my 11 year old son. It has lots of great information, the readability is wonderful, and it was quite reasonably priced. The ONLY complaint I have is that there are not enough review questions at the end of each chapter; there should be at least 10. But overall, I am very pleased with this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Exploring American History Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
J S
Lessons are short and sweet and to the point.Gives enough information without overkill. Good review of materials.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Exploring American History Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Maria Garcia
My daughter, who does not care for history, actually likes this book. It has great pictures and plenty of details on people and places but doesn't have a lot of 'busywork'. I bought the teacher book and test book as well. I like that these can be purchased with it, but the tests are on the easy side. Overall, I think it was a very good buy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Exploring American History Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandra Kee
Just what I was looking for. Three pages or more given on the significant historic figure of their day. Useful as complete lesson or as a starting point for a research project. Positive Christian patriotism makes it a valuable tool for homeschoolers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.