Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ignatius Press The Story of Ruth, DVD

Ignatius Press The Story of Ruth, DVD

Ruth, a young Moabite woman, marries Mahlon the Judean, who believes in a merciful God. When he dies, she leaves her own culture to be with her mother-in-law, Naomi. They journey to Judea where Ruth faces hostility as a stranger. She wins the hearts of two powerful men, Boaz and Tob, who vie for her affections, but Ruth's first loyalties are to Naomi and her faith. Starring Peggy Wood and Stuart Whitmann. Not Rated. Approx. 135 minutes.

DVD Features:
  • Widescreen
  • Closed-captioned
  • Audio: English, Spanish and French
  • English and Spanish Subtitles
  • Average Customer Rating:
    3.818 out of 5
    3.8
     out of 
    5
    (22 Reviews) 22
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
    5 stars
    13
    4 stars
    3
    3 stars
    0
    2 stars
    1
    1 star
    5
    7 out of 1070%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Reviews for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Review 1 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    An enjoyable movie

    Date:November 11, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Ahuva
    Location:Tucson, AZ
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    At first, I wasn't sure what I would think about this movie. After viewing it, I would recommend it. Although it is an older movie, I think the storyline is very good and believable. The acting is good. The beginning was a little shocking (the idol sacrifices). I had to fast forward through that part the second time I watched it. I like the fact that this is one of those movies that you can kick back and just enjoy!
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Excellent movie 1

    Date:June 7, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Kanoelani
    Location:Los Angeles
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I LOVED THE MOVIE IT MADE MY BIBLE COME ALIVE AND BEAUTIFULLY TOLD THE LOVE STORY OF RUTH AND BOAZ. IT GAVE ME EVEN MORE PATIENCE TO WAIT ON THE LORD FOR HIS BEST !
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5

    Too much literary license

    Date:January 19, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    GrpLdr
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Value: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    If Ruth were not a real person whose story was told in the Bible, I would have thought the film was great story-telling. This movie creates a fictional fantasy about Ruth's background (of which we know very little), and then proceeds to rewrite almost all of the history of her life with Naomi as it is recorded in the Bible. Perhaps the movie should have been titled, "A Fictional Story about Ruth: a non-biblical account."
    -1point
    1of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    child sacrifice, Boaz a Moabite hater at start

    Date:May 16, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    frognoter
    This is so unscriptural as to mislead, not worth watching. There is a better one accurate to the Scripture staring Carmen.
    0points
    1of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Ruth

    Date:April 10, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    littlesparrow
    Location:Stilesville NB
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This was a very touching and good love story. It was also very interesting about who she was and what she had to do in her own culture. How she learned about God the true God.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Very Good Movie

    Date:March 14, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    joebee
    Location:Phoenix AZ
    Age:Over 65
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5
    It's a good movie, not a biblical account.It's about 50% Biblical and 50% Holywood. I enjoyed it.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Date:July 1, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Debbie
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    Value: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    This product had too many things in it that were not in the Bible.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:June 17, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Meema
    Location:Seabeck, WA
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    A good, acurate, classic Biblical story with good acting.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    The Story of Ruth

    Date:November 23, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Angel Hull
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I needed a DVD to show my 'tweens' on Wednesday nights and this one is a good one. I am a stickler for Christian movies to be Biblically sound and this one is pretty good. It's still made by Hollywood and I although I don't really know if when they said (about Ruth) "Your seed will be a great King and some will even call Him the Messiah" is anywhere in the Bible (I couldn't find it in the book of Ruth) and the timelines throughout the story otherwise the movie itself was very good and depicted several heathenistic practices that we in America really can't fathom and that was very interesting. A good love story, too.
    -2points
    0of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    It was more interesting

    Date:November 5, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Laura
    Age:18-24
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    then i thought it would be it was a very enjoyable moment to spend with my family. I recommend it.
    -1point
    0of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:September 13, 2010
    Well-made film, with Elana Eden as lovely Ruth and Peggy Wood as her gem of mother-in-law. Unlike most modern movies, it is beautifully photographed and tastefully done.
    -1point
    0of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:May 21, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Esther Flowers
    The DVD is very good, I remember watching it as a little girl. I recommend it
    -1point
    0of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:May 5, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Yvonne Padilla
    AN OLDIE BUT VERY GOOD! SINCE THE STORY IS VERY OLD IT IS STILL VERY GOOD.
    -1point
    0of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:March 4, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Deborah
    I remembered this older movie version of The Story of Ruth from my childhood. This book is from the Old Testament, and refers to the 12 tribes of Israel as well as the ancestry from Boaz to David the King. Both Elana Eden and Stuart Whitman are excellent as Ruth and Boaz, and the movie does a good job of displaying the Idolotry that took place in Moab. Also shows the Loyalty and love Ruth had for her mother in law, Naomi.
    0points
    1of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 15 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:February 1, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    LRSRSCLSCTS
    this is one of my favorite biblical movies....although some people believe that it is not biblical it actually is if you study your words....some of it is creative license but the movie is biblical based
    -1point
    0of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 16 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:January 23, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Delina Sherrod
    This was my grandmothers favorite movie, I remember her watching it when i was a child, and now that I'm grown it is still a favorite of mine. So I was glad that CBD had it on DVD! It was also neat watching the old reels (opening night) on the special features. The movie is, in my opinion, a very good retelling of Ruth.though we aren't really sure what her life was truly like, especially at the time this movie was made, the writers took some artistic liscence. however the Movie stays true to the essence of the story and triumphs with a very happy, feel-good ending. Highly recommended for the romantic at heart.
    0points
    1of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 17 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:October 11, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Lynn
    This is an amazing story, although not right on with God's word, but shows love, compassion and how important it is for us to witness and overcome obstacles. A true love story! I have watched it so many times with my children, they love it.
    -1point
    0of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 18 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Date:September 14, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    bob johs
    this is the worst movie i have ever purchased. This movie is not about ruth at all. It doesnt even come close to the story. I would never purchase a move from this venor again. Trust me, it is not worth wasting your money nor time.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 19 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Date:March 31, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Dan
    I saw it on TV and it's not according toGod's Word. Jesus warns us not to add toHis Word and subtract the Words too. Pleaseread Ruth in God's Word and you will find outthat the movie is fake.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 20 for The Story of Ruth, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:February 6, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Tom Avret
    Very good, but has some content that was not in the Book of Ruth. Good for all to see.
    -1point
    0of 1voted this as helpful.
    12Next >>>