Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Liberty Press Our Nation Under God

Christian Liberty Press Our Nation Under God

The founding of America and its development into the country it is today is explored in this young person's history book. Exploring the past through the lens of God's providence, lessons reflect a western view of civilization and growth. Illustrations and two-tone photographs bring a visual element to the text, while the gently written chapters should be easy and enjoyable for children to read. Maps, exercises and review questions are also included. 154 pages, softcover. Grades 2-4.
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 425%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Our Nation Under God
Review 1 for Our Nation Under God
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disheartened. Can't recommend.

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
MomofTwo
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited to find a Social Studies curriculum for my 2nd grader that (according to a particular review) claimed that it was good coverage of the basics. I also liked that God didn't appear to be left out of our nation and our nations development. As I read more of this book, I became very disheartened. The author has a very skewed view of Native Americans in the first place. He painted a picture of Native Americans being stupid, completely Godless, and complete savages. Their consolation was that they were clever hunters. In contrast, every Viking, Puritan, and Pilgrim were brave, smart, angelic, and ideal. Also add Christopher Columbus to this second list. Beyond that, there was so much misinformation that I wouldn't have room to write it all in this little review. One small example would be how he claimed that the oceans were all created as a result of Noah's flood; see Genesis 1:6-9 to read the facts. This book is a compilation of very few facts, loads of biased misinformation, and a MAN'S doctrine.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Our Nation Under God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful for the price!

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
richkat
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am using this book for my 2nd & 4th grade sons this year. It is easy to follow and presents a Godly view of American history. I wish Christian Liberty Press had a similar resource for world history that I could use next year!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Our Nation Under God
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ok, but not what I expected

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sara
Location:Yoder, Kansas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would say this curriculum is "ok." It gives basic information, but there isn't a lot of "meat" on anything. Also, I think it paints the United States in an overly wonderful light. There have been a lot of awful things happen in this country, and I just didn't see that really being presented. I prefer to see history taught as it was and not as we might wish it was. It sort of sounded to me more like something to brainwash children rather than to educate them. It's not the worst curriculum I've seen. And it is very affordable. It's pretty hard to beat the price for the scope that it covers. I just feel like you would have to supplement it with quite a bit to really get a full curriculum. I read through the book and actually decided not to use it. It just really wasn't what I wanted to teach them. I just pieced together my own curriculum. I wanted to like this, I just couldn't. I'm sure some people would though. Not bad for the price, I suppose, but nothing I fell in love with.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Our Nation Under God
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ok, but just not for us

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandra Buxton
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was not what I expected. I would have prefered something with more detail as my son always want's to know the details not just the basics! Next year we will go with something else.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Our Nation Under God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angela
Excellent! Like the previous reviewer, I appreciate the Christian worldview from which it is written. My son has especially enjoyed the illustrations and maps and claims that history is his "favorite subject". We do flesh it out with additional literature and a timeline, but I'm so thankful to CLP for their Godly and affordable texts. I would note, as another reviewer did, that the content is a bit advanced and 3rd or 4th grade is more appropriate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Our Nation Under God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sally Greenham
I love the fact that this is a textbook and workbook in one. It is such a relief to have found something that allows the teaching of our nations' history from a Christian worldview! And it's very affordable. I am really excited about using this with my boys next year.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Our Nation Under God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Becky Price
I got this book for my 6 and 8 year old sons for history this year. The format is great and it covers a lot! The only thing is that I do need to supplement in order for it to be a whole year's history. Wonderful foundation though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Our Nation Under God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Eilene Weimar
I believe this is an excellent exploration of our country, but I caution anyone who thinks about purchasing it. It is rated for Grades 2-4 and I would say that it is appropriate for Grade 4 only if the child is extremely bright and their comprehension is at a very advanced level.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.