Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Letters from a Skeptic

David C. Cook Letters from a Skeptic

Over the course of almost three years Greg Boyd and his father Ed corresponded about Christianity, the Bible and faith, Ed, a skeptic with a lot of questions, engages his son's expertise with love, transparency and candor. Greg, a notorious open theist and at the time Professor of Theology at Bethel University, addresses his father's questions and misconceptions about the issue dividing them in an attempt to reconcile his feelings about his father. Relying on more of a 'Pascal's Wager' type of challenge than a true call to repentance and faith, Greg gives his father the best information about Christianity that he had at the time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Letters from a Skeptic
Review 1 for Letters from a Skeptic
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Interesting format, shaky theology

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
gcconspiracy
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I came across this book because it was mentioned in Lee Strobel's "Case For..." series, and I have to admit I am very disappointed. The premise for this book is great, I was very excited to read the correspondence, but I just do not see Boyd's "Open Theology" as being Biblically sound. It's a shame, because this book had such potential, but I simply could not stomach the watered down picture of God that was painted. I will not be recommending this to anyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Letters from a Skeptic
This review is fromLetters from a Skeptic - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lory
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a great book every Christian should read. You will surely learn something from it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Letters from a Skeptic
This review is fromLetters from a Skeptic - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Magdolna
Location:Surrey,British Columbia, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although the letters about God were intellectual and not so much love based. The facts are interesting and it seems to be what the father needed to help him understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Letters from a Skeptic
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Apologetics Overview

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Letters have long been a means for those who are a part of the Christian Church to communicate truth. Over half the New Testament are letters, the letters of Augustine, Luther, and Wesley are all studied by scholars to help better understand these leaders of the church. Many have been introduced to the formal study of theology and apologetics by reading C. S. Lewis’ Screwtape Letters. In 1994, Greg Boyd contributed a set of letters between his father and himself.
Boyd’s father had given up on the church and faith years ago - perhaps it was a position that was cemented when his wife died, leaving him to raise his children as a single parent. Over the years, the resentment, the anger, and the confusion had grown - to the point, that as the book begins, he is not certain about what he does believe; though he feel fairly certain about what he does not believe.
It is at that point that Dr. Boyd and his father begin a two years correspondence concerning the major issues the unbeliever has when he or she considers Christ as Lord and Savior. The compiles this correspondence topically and somewhat chronologically. Issues are address one by one - using history, philosophy, and scripture. The answers are accurate and well thought out, though rarely getting heady or unintelligible.
I have two concerns about a book of this caliber that is now entering its 4th edition. The first is the lack of documentation. With very few exceptions, the author does not provide references for scripture (whether quoted directly from an English translation or merely a paraphrase written on the fly by the author). The same is true for statements made from third party sources. I can understand why these were not part of the original correspondence; but as the book enters its 4th edition, it would make sense to add the references - even while clearly noting that they were added to the original letters years after they were written.
The second concern is that a book that is entering it 4th edition provides no path for further study. Again, though not part of the original written correspondence, it would seem important to guide the reader in discovering additional resources that explain the ideas discussed in the book. The addition of a set of discussion question covering each topic does help the reader in processing the ideas - but provides not guidance in better understanding the history, philosophy, or scriptures that support those ideas.
The book would make a great textbook on apologetics with the addition of references and suggestions for further study. In a classroom, these missing elements can be provided by the instructor; but the reader is at a loss if the book is being read without the direction of an experienced teacher.
But even with those flaws, the book still serves as an excellent tool for evangelism. As the author makes clear, by the end of the correspondence, Ed Boyd (Dr. Boyd’s father) did come to faith. It has served the same purpose in the lives of others. It will continue to be so in the lives who read it in the future.
This review is based on an electronic copy of the book provided by the publisher.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Letters from a Skeptic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Learnt alot more about my religious faith.

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
freddy
Location:MINNESOTA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is wonderful. Very easy reading and very cute humor parts. Really helps with understanding the questions of my faith I've had for many years.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Letters from a Skeptic
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Questions about Christianity

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Windsor, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Son Wrestles with his Father’s Questions about Christianity
This book is basically a bunch of letters written back and forth between a father and son. The father is a skeptic and has a lot of questions about Christianity, the Bible and God, in general. This book is a little deep theologically at times, however the son does a great job at doing his best to answer his father’s questions – questions that I’m sure many unbelievers and probably even fellow Christians may have.
Do you know what you believe and why? Maybe there’s someone in your life who’s an unbeliever or a skeptic of God and/or Christianity. I encourage you to read this book. It will teach and challenge you I’m sure. I can’t say I agree with all his points however it caused me to dig in deeper into scripture to see what it is that I do believe.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Letters from a Skeptic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tina Schafer
My dad is what you might consider agnostic. However, I recently found this book on his end table. So, out of curiousity, I ordered it. This book is great! It contains so much info for those struggling to believe in Christianity and it's principles. It also explained things that I myself have questioned. I highly recommend it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Letters from a Skeptic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynn
I bought this book because the dad in it raises questions that we all struggle with. His son writes to him in a way that is totally understandable and easy to follow. I loved this book because it is in layman's terms. I highly recommend this to anyone who is struggling to reconcile all the bad things that happen in this world with a loving, caring God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.