Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realms Unwilling Warrior, Seasons of Redemption Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Realms Unwilling Warrior, Seasons of Redemption Series #1

The War Between the States has Valerie Fontaine frightened about her future. She never suspects she'll be thrust into the middle of it. Benjamin McCabe's got a noble dream of photographing the Civil War - and he never expected to fall in love with a New Orleans socialite.

When Valerie's father is arrested on charges of treason, Ben secures a way for her to leave the city and travel to his family's home in Jericho Junction, Missouri where she'll be safe.Can Valerie adjust to life on the prairie and remain true to her promise to wait for Ben no matter what the cost?

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unwilling Warrior, Seasons of Redemption Series #1
Review 1 for Unwilling Warrior, Seasons of Redemption Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Read

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brian Currie
Location:Victoria. B.C.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife is the Fiction reader in the family. Here is her review:
I have read book one and book two and have just begun book three of this series and I love the series. Great read!
Faye Currie
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unwilling Warrior, Seasons of Redemption Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christian Historical Romance

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I almost didn't read this book, what a mistake that would have been. I Loved it! It was a real page turner and a fast read. Interesting tidbits of the Civil War are included in this book.
It has it all History, Romance, Murder, and through it all a Love of the Lord.
I also loved that there is an epilogue in this book, something I wish more books had that don't have a sequel!
Product Description
The War Between the States has Valerie Fontaine frightened about her future. She never suspects she'll be thrust into the middle of it. Benjamin McCabe's got a noble dream of photographing the Civil War - and he never expected to fall in love with a New Orleans socialite.
When Valerie's father is arrested on charges of treason, Ben secures a way for her to leave the city and travel to his family's home in Jericho Junction, Missouri where she'll be safe.Can Valerie adjust to life on the prairie and remain true to her promise to wait for Ben no matter what the cost?
The opinion I have expressed are my own!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unwilling Warrior, Seasons of Redemption Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janet
Another great read from Andrea Boeshaar! This novel is set in the Civil War time period and provided an interesting look at the War between the States from the standpoint of independent photographer Benjamin McCabe. It also involved romance between Benjamin and Valerie, plus a great message as to relying on God and His provisions in all times. I can't wait to read the next novel in the series - it promises to be just as good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unwilling Warrior, Seasons of Redemption Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
262-483-0610
I have read several of Andrea Boeshaar's novels and this one was as enjoyable as the others. Andrea offers a well-written novel that kept my interest from beginning to end. I am impatiently looking forward to reading the next one in the series due out in October.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unwilling Warrior, Seasons of Redemption Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Liz Tolsma
Andrea Boeshaar is one of my favorite authors and in Unwilling Warrior she returns to writing historicals. Unwilling Warrior is set in New Orleans in the first year of the Civil War. Valerie Fontaine is a young, wealthy socialite who has returned home from boarding school to be with her father following the death of her mother. Her father, however, views her as nothing more than a nuisance. He has determined to marry her to James Ladden.Then Ben McCabe, the son of an acquaintance of the Fontaines, arrives as a house guest, driving all thoughts of James Ladden from her mind. But will their love survive the accusations of conspiracy against Valerie and her father or Ben's search for his missing brother?Andrea Boeshaar left me sitting on the edge of my seat, desperate to turn the page and find out what happened next. Her plot is rich and well developed. She populates the story with interesting characters. She has proven again why she is a popular and multi-, multi-published author. Book two in the series is due out in October and I can't wait!**A copy of this book was provided to me free of charge for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unwilling Warrior, Seasons of Redemption Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barb Buehner
There is nothing I love better than snuggling with a good book. With Unwilling Warrior by Andrea Boeshaar I wasn't disappointed. At the beginning of chapter one Psalm 55:22 is quoted, "Cast thy burden upon the Lord, and he shall sustain thee." The heroine, Valerie Fontaine, and hero, Benjamin McCabe, have their faith in this verse and it's God put to the test as they face Yankee vs Rebel intrigue, possible prison, uncertainty & loss. Excellent story telling along with believable characters and well-researched Civil War history made this a satisfying, enjoyable read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unwilling Warrior, Seasons of Redemption Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2010
Unwilling Warrior is a Civil War romance. Valerie returns home to New Orleans from her young women's school in Virginia after her mother's death only find that her father doesn't want her there. His house guest is a young man who is a photographer photographing the Confederate army and battles while he searches for his younger brother. It is a delightful book full of anxious moments, good character development, surprises, spys, personal dramas, and realistic descriptions of areas as well as the lives of those who weren't actually involved in the fighting. A reminder that life continues and God keeps working things out for those who follow him no matter what the political agendas of the times. It is the first in a series and promises future intriguing stories for the family of characters.Special thanks to Anna Coelho Silva | Publicity Coordinator, Book Group | Strang Communications for sending me a review copy for the FIRST blog tour. I was under no obligation to provide a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unwilling Warrior, Seasons of Redemption Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brittany Parks
Welcome home, is what Valerie expects to hear upon her return from boarding school. Her father is displeased with her decision to travel home during the war. Now he has plans to marry her off and quickly. James Ladden the obnoxious boy who threw pears at her when she was young- is the last man that Valerie wants to marry. Hope and love at first sight just came bursting through her back door dripping wet! Benjamin McCabe is photographing the battles and soldiers while looking for his missing brother. He treats her so kindly always acting like the perfect gentleman. As suddenly as Ben came into her life, hell be with her until death do them part. Her heart is broken with a loss. Her happiness is trampled by Bens cousin. Healing will only come when she hands her burdens over to the Lord. I didnt know what kind of adventure I was getting into, but after reading the first page I was impressed. Boeshaar immediately brings you into the pages with great detail and sympathy for the characters. The epilogue ties up all loose ends of the story well. (I received this book complementary of Strang book group. I gave my honest opinion.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.