Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover

Zondervan The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover

The Amplified Bible captures the full meaning behind the original Greek and Hebrew. It is based on the philosophy that a given word may have a multitude of meanings. This translation's purpose is to reveal any clarifying meanings that may be concealed by traditional translation methods. A unique system of punctuation, italics, references, and synonyms to unlock subtle shades of meaning as found in the original languages is used inside to get the full meaning of the text. Black letter edition, concordance, study notes, footnotes, historical background, archaelogical notes, book introductions, cross references, double column format, and bibliography.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Review 1 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patty
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for the price!! Purchased as a gift for a Sunday School teacher in my church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kali
Location:Kalulushi
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bible to have along side your 'everyday' version. After doing a comparison of many verses in Greek, I found that there so many places were the translators just got it right. This is a tool which one can not afford to do without.
God bless.
Kali
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this Bible

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
JCourt
Location:Cameron,WV
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible. It helps to make the word become life for me. I bought one for my pastor also and he loves it as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
dpssgo
Location:Indio, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use King James and Amplified to get a better understanding of the Word of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biblia para Estudo

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ciceli Brasil
Gente é maravilhosa essa biblia, o nosso conhecimento realmente é ampliado.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great edition and price. Great gift for my studnt

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
mhooke01
Location:Livonia, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the amplified Bible. It is a great resource and my daughter in college loves it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great quality Hardcover Edition

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
RichWe
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recently I browsed a softcover version of the Amplified Bible.
The newsprint paper and cheap cover disappointed me.
I was pleased to see this product has a quality cover and binding. Print quality on coated paper stock is nicely done.
Has book introductions and a few good notes/comments with the text.
I see this as more of a study resource than for use in a devotional or public reading because of the large number of alternate readings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Evelyn Fear
I LOVE this Bible; it's just what I've been looking for to make understanding what I'm reading in the Bible more clear to me. GREAT service from CBD as well, which is what I've learned to expect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paula Ratcliff
I have used the paperback version for years. I loved it sooo much that it feel apart. I'm sure the hardback version will last longer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
New Song Christian Fellowship
The Amplified is a wonderful translation for expanded understanding. Although wordy at times, it has the ability to open up the meaning of a verse in a new, clear way. I love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Martha L. Mcgee
My Granddaughter came to me wanting to know more about my faith. I bought her this Amplified Bible because while in Bible college I took a Greek and Hebew class and this Bible does follow the meaning behind the original text.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beverly Johnson
For the person with limited time to study the full intended meaning of words within a context, this Bible offers understanding and illumination. Additionally, with all of the study helps, it removes any excuses for ignorance of the Bible no matter what your religion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sheila B.
This is a great Bible. It's very easy to read and understand. Great gift for a new Christian who has never read the Bible before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beabea7
This translation of the bible is great,but this one is a really helpful study bible,it's one that my husband and I have always loved.It gives you the full meaning of different words without having to stop and look them up.I would recommend any one that hasn't read one to get it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Joseph Zook
This Bible was recommended to me by a minister and it is very easy to understand and I have enjoyed reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
James Yates
This is the most awesome of all Bible translations in the way it opens the mind to think new thoughts about the Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
StarLysandra Cole
My very first Bible as a new believer in 1971, it taught me to look beyond the obvious to that which is buried deeper in the Word. This led me to Strong's and Vine's and Thayer's and Brigg's... deeper word studies, as well as looking for the historical and cultural contexts of Scripture, not depending on the interpretations of man via sermon and commentaries, but seeking the Holy Spirit's interpretation of what His Word means and how to apply it to my life and attitudes. I strongly recommend it alongside the NASB Updated Zondervan Study Bible for regular Bible Study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Barbara Malkowicz
Although I have several other translations, this is the one that puts it all together for me. References to other related passages appear within the text, which is especially helpful in appreciating fulfilled prophecies. After giving away my two previous copies to interested seekers, I have decided that I really do need to have my own copy again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
Rev Bruce Pritchard
Excellent!. Don't expect this to be a commentary because it is a translation from two very precise languages to English. It is difficult to translate word for word but this brings out the original meaning of the original text. Commentaries are tainted toward the the one who is making comment. This Bible allows the the Holy Spirit to work His ministry in this world straight from Gods Words. Make up your own mind you don't need to rely on commentaries.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
Aden
Not very helpful. It exaggerate the nueances of the original languages. This can be misleading. For word studies, you would be far better off by consulting a reliable commentary or a reference work, such as Mounce's Complete Expository Dictionary of Old & New Testament Words and Interlinear for the Rest of Us: The Reverse Interlinear for New Testament Word Studies.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.