Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Merlin R. Carothers Prison to Praise

Merlin R. Carothers Prison to Praise

Prison to Praise chronicles Merlin Carothers' spiritual journey from a hostile, bitter young soldier in World War II to accepting Christ and returning to the military as a chaplain. Through his story, discover how to be set free from your prison of circumstances.

Author information:
Merlin Carothers has served his country in Europe, Korea, Vietnam, and the Dominican Republic. Proudly, his life has been devoted to public service in the following areas: Lieutenant Colonel, U.S. Army, Retired; Guard for Dwight D. Eisenhower; Graduate Asbury Seminary; Chaplain U.S. Army 1953-1971; Methodist Pastor.

Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Prison to Praise
Review 1 for Prison to Praise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Story

Date:April 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jesus Freak 19
Location:Wisconsin
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put this book down! It is filled with amazing miracles, funny anecdotes and the inspiring story of Merlin Carothers. This is a must-read, as it challenges you to give thanks to God in all situations, and it also talks about the Holy Spirit and the gifts of the Holy Spirit. If you're looking for an awe-inspiring story, this is the book for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prison to Praise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Colleen
Location:Deerfield Beach, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book many years ago and it really ministered to me. This purchase is for a young adult who has a 10-year prison sentence. I am sending it to him as a gift hoping it will lift his spirits.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prison to Praise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Praise God in Everything?

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chad Omdahl
Location:Hatton, ND
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book gives us Bibical reasoning to give Our Lord praise
and thanksgiving in all of our situations. It will seem contrary
to normal reasoning but it will change your outlook on life for
the better. Only 120 pages long, but a powerful 120 pages. You
will not regret reading this book. 18 million already have!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prison to Praise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESME

Date:July 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Trachena Muchnick
Location:Miami, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend told me to buy this book I haven't read it yet but my husband did and thought it was great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prison to Praise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouraging Book

Date:October 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Phoenix
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inspiring and easy to read. I've already shared it with 2 other people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prison to Praise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vynne Harrison
This is a classic. This book has changed countless lives for the fullness of the Lord in them. If you have not read it yet, at this great price you can't afford not to. I bought several copies to share to spread the blessing!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prison to Praise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heidi
I haven't read this book in quite some time. I have been going through some personal struggles and picked the book up again. It is a great book, it made me feel better. I almost feel like I can break out of my prison. I would recommend this book to anyone going through a rough time in their life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prison to Praise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Margaret Seech
A book for all of us whether we are beset by small daily problems or those that bring us to our knees. We are admonished to in all things give thanks. God wants our praise - He wants the glory and our trust. Learn how to praise Him just as a bitter young Merlin Carothers did - FROM PRISON TO PRAISE!A great book to give to someone who is in circumstances such as these or someone who needs to learn to give God not man the glory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prison to Praise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rev. John Owen
In 1972 I was afflicted with ulcers, and a really terrible life. I began a Christian walk at that time and needed guidance. Father God sent this book into my life. The results have been wonderful. Instant healing from ulcers, infilling of the Holy Spirit and a life of praise and gratitude for such a wonderful Father God. This book was used of God to send me on a path of praise, power and peace in Him
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prison to Praise
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vonnie Erickson
I bought this book out of love for my mother as she has been going through some bad times. I read it to see if it would inspire her which it did. As I started reading the book, it started off kind of slow but by chapter 5 or 6 it really kept my attention and I couldn't put it down. It encouraged me and reassured my mom that there is better to come in life but we must be patient and have faith in our Father. We also passed it on to our pastor, but have not heard his opinions yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Prison to Praise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marylou
This book has changed my life. Marlin tell us how important it is to praise and thank God in all things and how the Lord will work all things to our good. Once we understand the message he brings to us right from the Bible we find its' true if we praise God and give him thanks he gives us joy and great peace even in the mist of hard trials.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Prison to Praise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
anne
This book changed my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Prison to Praise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2001
Customer Avatar
H. Ken Rodenberger
I have read a lot of christian books. Some very inspiring and some not so inspiring. After reading Prison to Praise, My whole relationship with God was well not changed, God always knew what he was doing.But my view of it was changed. I can now talk to my Lord as a friend. Someone who really cares about me on a personal level. (AND PRAISE WORKS)!!!!!!!!All I can say is I wish I had read this book years ago. But I know now that God's timing is perfect, years ago I wouldn't have understood it. I thank God that he made me wait until I was ready.Thank you also God for being with Merlin Carothers, and inspiring him with Your love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.