Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for YWAM Publishing Gladys Aylward: The Adventures of a Lifetime

YWAM Publishing Gladys Aylward: The Adventures of a Lifetime

The Christian Heroes: Then & Now series chronicles the true stories of ordinary men and women whose trust in God accomplished extraordinary deeds for his kingdom and glory.

What follows is an amazing adventure of faith and determination. Gladys Aylward, a housemaid from England, dared to trust God in the face of dire and seemingly hopeless circumstances. Her life is one of the truly great missionary stories of our era.

For ages 10 and up.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gladys Aylward: The Adventures of a Lifetime
Review 1 for Gladys Aylward: The Adventures of a Lifetime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Remarkable story!

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Oracle Triple C
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An remarkable story of courage, taking a leap of faith, and fully relying on God's provision and protection in difficult days. Once again, the Benges do a magnificent job of detailing difficult circumstances in a way that is appropriate for children. In a day and age when children don't have the opportunity to see very many "heros", this book points them to a true hero of the faith. Not because of what she did, although she accomplished some remarkable things in her lifetime, but because of how she lived a life totally and fully devoted to serving God by ministering to the Chinese people. Just be aware, if you are reading this with younger children, that there are some descriptions of tragic events and death that are present. After all, Gladys served in China during the period of the Japanese invasion of China and later during the communistic take over of the country.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gladys Aylward: The Adventures of a Lifetime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brent Zimmerman
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Several years ago a friend told me that I should read this book. I finally got around to it. Once I started, I could not put the book down. This book will draw you in from the very first page. The cliff hangers at the end of the chapters will keep you reading. Gladys Aylward's life is more thrilling than a movie. She left her home in England to answer the call of God to go to China. With no missionary backing, she saved her own money for a one-way train ticket to China. There are many adventures along the way - adventures that will encourage believers to keep trusting God in their most difficult trials.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gladys Aylward: The Adventures of a Lifetime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Easy to Read Biography

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I opened up this book, I sat down and read the first two chapters. I was immediately struck that this book was interesting and had great description, though it was very easy to read. The vocabulary is about a 5th or 6th grade reading level. I'd say it would be great for students in grades 4-8. Over the next week, I read the book and the farther I got into it, the more I wanted to read it. It drew me in. It is a biography that is written in story form. When I reached the end, I was glad I had the entire book--every page of it.
But, when I read a book, I am usually thinking about it as more than just a simple story. I want my children to read books that are worth reading. So, I ponder what message this book would tell kids--what will they take from it? What did I take from it? Interestingly, I'm reading a book about evangelical feminism right now which really made me ponder her actions as a woman. I came to several conclusions.
1) I need to focus on the strengths of Gladys Aylward and what she did.
2) George Santayana said "Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." What can we learn from Gladys Aylward and her life? Hopefully, the reader will be able to see the Chinese as people and with compassion after reading this book.
3) When we make decisions, I have come to believe that we should seek God in prayer, in His Word, and seek out godly counsel (Proverbs 15:22). Psalms is filled with David crying out to God in prayer. That is the one thing that isn't mentioned in this book and what I struggled with. In the story, Gladys isn't encouraged by anyone to go to China. If anything, she is discouraged. What I realized is that this story is told from the authors' perspective--it is not an autobiography. I don't know if there was anyone who encouraged her to go, but there could have been. If you or your children have questions about book, do more research! Find another biography and see if you can find an answer to what you're questioning.
I highly recommend getting the curriculum guide to go with this book if you're homeschooling--I actually liked it even better than the book! I brought a lot to my understanding of Gladys Aylward.
My conclusion? I like the series. I would definitely recommend getting and using the curriculum guides with the novels. There may be topics you want to discuss with your children that are covered in the books. I would recommend that you read them too. I think you'll probably enjoy them. My plan is to read several of these books with my children when they are in grades 4-8 and contrast the lives of the missionaries with our own lives. As a culture, we have an idealized view of the past and expect there to be less suffering than there is. In the past, people expected life to be hard. It's reflected in their writings. These books don't idealize the past and will hopefully help our children that God didn't promise that life would be easy.
There is one last note that I want to make about these books. It is important not to see missionaries as saints. They were sinners too. They weren't perfect. God used them just as he uses all imperfect people. In the Bible, we see that over and over--God uses imperfect people. They spread the gospel as we are all called to do and they answered this command in a particular way.
Please note that I received a complimentary copy of these materials from YWAM for review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gladys Aylward: The Adventures of a Lifetime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
A Mom
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book! Very exciting. It is amazing how God can use someone when they aren't prepared and even at times a bit confused and lost. It just shows how he can use any of us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gladys Aylward: The Adventures of a Lifetime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nikki
This book was given to us a few years ago and I put off having my oldest daughter read it because I wasn't sure how detailed it was going to be about dangerous or depressing situations. I finally got around to reading it myself and was very impressed. The authors do a very good job of telling the story and giving the details of some scary situations without being overly upsetting or depressing. It was a wonderful, exciting, uplifting book that makes you yearn to be used by God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gladys Aylward: The Adventures of a Lifetime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Karen Joy Reill
An incredible story of determination, courage, and living one's convictions to the fullest. Afterwards, see the 1958 Ingrid Bergman movie based on Gladys' life, "The Inn of the Sixth Happiness." The movie is marvelous, and the boys and I had a great time being reminded of bits from the book, and noting inconsistencies (none too serious) between the two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gladys Aylward: The Adventures of a Lifetime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2006
This is an amazing book, definitely one that challenges you to live your faith. Gladys was an amazing woman who God used in miraculous ways.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gladys Aylward: The Adventures of a Lifetime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2003
Customer Avatar
PP
This book is a great testament to faith. A lady that the missionary said was too old buys a one-way ticket to China. Only God kept her going! You won't want to put it down until you've finished the book. We homeschool and this is a great book. It tells you about the horrors the Chinese people lived through during and after the war. These whole series of Christian Heroes: Then and Now is great. A must for the homeschool library!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gladys Aylward: The Adventures of a Lifetime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2001
Customer Avatar
L.M.
I just wanted to say that this was absolutely a wonderful book!The courage, determination and faith of this young woman, is so encouraging.Isn't it amazing,when you ask guidance from the Lord, how He responds?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.