Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for McDougal Publishing Foreign to Familiar: A Guide to Understanding Hot- and Cold-Climate Cultures

McDougal Publishing Foreign to Familiar: A Guide to Understanding Hot- and Cold-Climate Cultures

If the world were roughly divided into "hot climate" and "cold climate" cultures, what could one half of humankind learn from the other? Lanier---the daughter of missionaries and an experienced world traveler---writes insightfully on topics including relationship vs. task orientation; direct vs. indirect communication; individualism vs. group identity; and different concepts of hospitality. 128 pages, softcover from McDougal.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Foreign to Familiar: A Guide to Understanding Hot- and Cold-Climate Cultures
Review 1 for Foreign to Familiar: A Guide to Understanding Hot- and Cold-Climate Cultures
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
lobell
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone who has friends from a different culture, or especially if you are planning a missions trip to a warm culture climate when you live in a cold one (or vice versa), should read this book first. It helps us to understand the differences so that we can have a more positive relationship with those of different cultures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Foreign to Familiar: A Guide to Understanding Hot- and Cold-Climate Cultures
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tackle your blindspots

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adam
Location:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Essential reading, every chapter shed light on blindspots that would have derailed or made difficult the communication of Christ across cultures. Thank you for this valuable resource.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Foreign to Familiar: A Guide to Understanding Hot- and Cold-Climate Cultures
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

eye opening!

Date:May 9, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has opened my eyes in an amazing way! I feel far more prepared to understand and interact with people from another culture. This book showed me that culture goes far deeper than clothing and food - it is a different way of thinking and relating!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Foreign to Familiar: A Guide to Understanding Hot- and Cold-Climate Cultures
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I recieved my order quickly.

Date:May 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pearl
Age:25-34
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recieved my order in a resonable amount of time. There is not alot out there on this subject wich I feel is verry important in this global economy. I was pleased to have found this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Foreign to Familiar: A Guide to Understanding Hot- and Cold-Climate Cultures
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very helpful in understanding those around you!

Date:October 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynette R
Location:Minnesota
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is very valuable in understanding the cultures around us whether from near or far! It's a must read if you plan to travel anywhere! It will help resolve many communication issues and misunderstandings past or present and help to avoid them in the future!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Foreign to Familiar: A Guide to Understanding Hot- and Cold-Climate Cultures
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shirley Beltz
After working with short-term mission teams in a hot-climate culture for a number of years, this book helped me make sense out of some of my puzzling observations (and frustrations!). I had been sharing this information with my son and daughter-in-law who are preparing as missionaries to a hot-climate country now, so I ordered a copy for them. It should ease their transition from a cold-climate to a hot-climate culture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Foreign to Familiar: A Guide to Understanding Hot- and Cold-Climate Cultures
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gail
I lived in Africa for 20 years and learned many things about the culture of the people I worked with. However, it wasn't until I read Sarah's book that I learned WHY people did the things they did. I wish I could have read this book before I ever went. If would have saved a lot of grief and headaches. Thanks Sarah.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Foreign to Familiar: A Guide to Understanding Hot- and Cold-Climate Cultures
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Ouko Benard
I think that this is a book that I would advise any one going cross cultural to read before going out there.I am from Africa and i struggled a lot in the USA but later when i read this book, it was of great help.Thanks Sarah
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Foreign to Familiar: A Guide to Understanding Hot- and Cold-Climate Cultures
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2003
Customer Avatar
Kelly Ford
Everyone who interacts with people outside their own culture should read this book. I couldn't recommend it more highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.