Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson NKJV The Word of Promise New Testament, Collector's Edition, Audio Bible on CD-slightly imperfect

Thomas Nelson NKJV The Word of Promise New Testament, Collector's Edition, Audio Bible on CD-slightly imperfect

This 20-CD set features over 120 actors, including Jim Caviezel (The Passion of the Christ), Kimberly Williams-Paisley, Marisa Tomei, Lou Diamond Philips, and Louis Gossett Jr., presenting the words of the New Testament in dramatic audio theater. Includes a special bonus behind-the-scenes DVD and beautifully scripted softcover NKJV New Testament that allows you to follow along with the actors, and even includes the sound effect direction and production notes. A perfect way for you and your family to share the Word of God together.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for NKJV The Word of Promise New Testament, Collector's Edition, Audio Bible on CD-slightly imperfect
Review 1 for NKJV The Word of Promise New Testament, Collector's Edition, Audio Bible on CD-slightly imperfect
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An unexpected great buy!!

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Coffeyville, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had been looking around for an audio Bible, but we were not able to pay for the high-priced collections. We decided to give this one a try, although we were kind of concerned about the "slightly-imperfect" condition.
This was the best decision we could have made. We have not seen anything imperfect, but a little bump right on the corner of the outer box of the set - and honestly, if we hadn't known anything about it, we would have never thought there was anything wrong with it. This is constant with CBD's good quality. Don't hestiate to give "slightly imperfect" products a try!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV The Word of Promise New Testament, Collector's Edition, Audio Bible on CD-slightly imperfect
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A wondeful way to really hear the Bible

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbara Leonard
Location:Colona, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a good value and good way to have the Bible.
bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV The Word of Promise New Testament, Collector's Edition, Audio Bible on CD-slightly imperfect
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this product exceeded my expectations.

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Margarita Rivera
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so happy with this product. It truly exceeded my expectations. The price for the quality of the product was excellent. It came with a beautiful case to store the CDs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV The Word of Promise New Testament, Collector's Edition, Audio Bible on CD-slightly imperfect
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT!

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were a little hesitant because of the 'imprefect' description, but we found no imperfections whatsoever. It was one of the best buys we've made. My husband put it on his ipod and listens to different books throughout the day. The audio is attention grabbing and puts new life into books you've already read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV The Word of Promise New Testament, Collector's Edition, Audio Bible on CD-slightly imperfect
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The CD's bring the Bible to life!

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
cbay
Location:Troy, Mi
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend the Word of Promise Audio Bible. It really brings the Bible to life. Being on CD, you can easily find a chapter of the NT via the tracks. Great for a gift or your own personal use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV The Word of Promise New Testament, Collector's Edition, Audio Bible on CD-slightly imperfect
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best product I've ever purchased

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
wb4God
Location:Grand Rapids MI.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's very enlightening, I like to sit and listen and then pause and contemplate. It's the best purchase I've ever made, It's more than I expected and once I ordered it, It came really fast. Truly not disapointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV The Word of Promise New Testament, Collector's Edition, Audio Bible on CD-slightly imperfect
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Excellent Excellent !!

Date:November 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Careabu
Location:NW Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love this recording with all its sound effects and different voices. It was advertised as "imperfect" but I have not found anything that is obvious. The set comes in a box-type "sleeve" but then, what a delight to open it up and find the discs are in a zippered case with the photo silk screened on it that is the same as the cardboard sleeve. Very nice and gift-giving quality. We keep it in the car and listen whenever we drive somewhere. We really love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV The Word of Promise New Testament, Collector's Edition, Audio Bible on CD-slightly imperfect
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent product

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
007trex
Location:Kansas City MO
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just want to say, that overall, the NKJV audio Bible is excellent and very well done. As another reviewer has stated, Richard Dreyfuss, although an excellent actor, is totally miscast as Moses. A few other readings were not done with much emotion/ feeling. That being said, most of the music, drama and readings are very good. I could, however, do without the syrupy, Pentecostal style voices when Christ was resurrected. Again, somewhat a minor point here. Just the classical style of music alone would suffice, but am just giving my opinion here after studying the word for over 38 years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV The Word of Promise New Testament, Collector's Edition, Audio Bible on CD-slightly imperfect
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Slightly imperfect, LOL Please read on.

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donald
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just received my CD set today and started to Rip them to my computer so I can listen to them on my MP3 player.
I found that there are many, many, many tacks mislabeled that do not match what is on the disk, some that don't even match books of the New Testament. On One of my disks, the tracks are "Genesis Chapter 1-17". Wait I thought this was the New Testament? OK, it is not really Genesis but is labeled as such.
I even have books on these CD's labeled Ruth and Judges.
How does that happen?
I have no Idea if I have all of the New Testament on these CD's and I wont know until I relabel all of the files.
I also had 1 disk that was warped or out of balance and made all kinds of noise in my player. I was lucky to be able to rip the last 3 tracks from that disk.
Just be aware that the Slight Imperfections in these CD sets are NOT limited to cosmetic blemishes.
FYI: The set I received looked beautiful from the outside.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV The Word of Promise New Testament, Collector's Edition, Audio Bible on CD-slightly imperfect
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product & Great Value

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Forgiven57
Location:Largo, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The phrase "slightly imperfect" is an overstatement and a testament to the honesty of this merchant. While the outer box may have a bit of a wrinkle or two, the permanent carrying case within is in pristine mint condition. This excellently acted, beautifully scored audio theatre version of the New Testament is rich with sound effects for a nearly true to life first-hand experience.
I would recommend it very enthusiastically!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NKJV The Word of Promise New Testament, Collector's Edition, Audio Bible on CD-slightly imperfect
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeremiah
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The audio bible is a great gift for people who have difficulty reading on their own. Being in scripture in your car, at work, on the tread mill, and waiting for your appointments is great way to strengthen your faith. Romans 10:17 "Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the Word of Christ." (Romans 10:17 NIV84)
Praise be to God the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. Amen
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NKJV The Word of Promise New Testament, Collector's Edition, Audio Bible on CD-slightly imperfect
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Audio Version Available

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Galesburg, Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my favorite audio Bible! I have numerous audio Bibles but this one is my favorite out of them all.
They have done a marvelous job with this and I wouldn't want them to change anything! I like the voices as well as the dramatic effects and beautiful background vocals. This would make an excellent gift for anyone who has an interest in the Bible. The price is very low for such an outstanding product. Mine did not come with a new testament, but it is easy to follow along in my regular NKJ Bible. Get this while you can, it is truly a blessing !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NKJV The Word of Promise New Testament, Collector's Edition, Audio Bible on CD-slightly imperfect
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome value!!!!

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
my73sissy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was sold at a discount because of "cosmetic blemish". The corner tip of the case had a tee-niny dent is the only thing I could find wrong. Unbelievable value!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NKJV The Word of Promise New Testament, Collector's Edition, Audio Bible on CD-slightly imperfect
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a great Bible version for the price.

Date:October 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
momof3
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had searched for a set of CD's for the entire Bible. When I made my order, I did not realize this was for the New Testament only. However, even at this is a great bargain. I paid less than $20 for this and saw it later in a bookstore for $49! I have begun to listen to it in my car and am enjoying this drive time with the Bible. At some point, I will need to get the Old Testament. But I am satisfied with this for now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.