Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Street This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook

Center Street This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook

Josh's life spirals into a tailspin after he's hit by a drunk driver. He gets medical disability but it's far short of the insurance settlement that never seems to come. His mother Annie laments as she watches Josh drift along for years, making one bad decision after another. Just when it looks like the insurance settlement will finally come, out of the blue a gold-digger claims her seven-year-old is Josh's daughter. When the truth comes to light, will Annie discover a treasure more valuable than she could have expected?
Average Customer Rating:
4.679 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An unforgettable novel with a lasting message!

Date:April 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To pray for someone is the greatest call believers have on their lives. The power behind it is truly incredible. Sometimes, the hardest things to come to terms with is regrets. Regrets for things not done, love not given, things not said. Often times, regrets come when we reach the end of our life and are reflecting back, other times it comes when we least expect it. When we believe we will have time to make changes and thus, no regrets. I've told myself every day when faced with any decision, to consider any regrets that might come later for not taking the road less traveled. For saying yes, instead of no.
In Karen Kingsbury's novel This Side of Heaven, we get a sense of what this all means in a story she wrote based on her own brother's life. It is that reflection that she shares at the novel's conclusion and one that once again makes you glad that you read any of her novels. Because you gain an understanding that only comes from sharing the painful parts of our lives with close family and friends, and if you're a reader of her books, then that includes you. Welcome to the family.
Josh Warren is considered a disappointment by her parents, Annie and Nate. He had the world in the palm of his hands and after some bad decisions, watched his hopes for a future with his long time girlfriend, Becky and college slip between his fingers. Hanging out with the wrong crowd can do that do you, as well as believing you'll have time to rectify some of those choices but then life moves on without you. Becky gave Josh an ultimatum that told him he needed to straighten up otherwise they had no future. Josh waited too long and Becky found love somewhere else. Josh soon lost interest in school and found the only employment he could find would be driving a tow truck. Now it seems whenever his father, Nate faced reelection, all of Josh's failures in life were brought to the surface by those successful people in campaign.
So Josh kept to himself while the unanswered prayers of his parents and sister Lindsey went unanswered. Until the day, his parents received that dreaded phone call that you think would change things. Josh had been hit by a drunk driver. It would mean that his life would be forever changed by his actions that day, and he would face years of pain and surgery. Instead of his parents being grateful for that second chance, it only seemed to push them to pressure Josh to make some changes in his life. To find a way to start over again before it was too late. But Josh had other plans. Plans that would give them the greatest gift this side of heaven and change things between them all forever.
I received This Side of Heaven by Karen Kingsbury compliments of Center Street Publishing, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained in this review are strictly my own. I was blown away first by the story and later to learn that it was based on a true story made it that much more impactful. It made me realize the power of our testimony and how it can completely changes lives if we are willing to let down the walls and let people see how God can change us from who we were to who we are in Him. This is a novel of regrets but also of resolution that can come from them, but more importantly about realizing how truly priceless our time here on earth really is. Hands down another 5 out of 5 stars from Karen Kingsbury and another permanent addition to my personal library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent book about family grief

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jacky
Location:Nobleford, AB
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is based on actual fact in the author's own family. The topics covered are very much in tune with what is happening in today's society, and yet healing and love are found. A very good book for parents who are suffering.
Even for those who are not going through grief right now, it is an excellent book to read. It gives us a good picture of what others may be going through. Throughout the book, it is one that you are constantly wondering what is going to come next in the turn of events that happen in this family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You'll need tissues for this book.

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tamara May
Location:Ontario,Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book made my cry and want to keep reading. I recalled decisions of my own I've regretted and reminded me that I can do things differently now. I read this book aloud to my husband who also enjoyed it right to the end. I love the way Karen writes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jesse Beiler
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the book and didn't put it down until I finished it. The writer explained how she put her brother 's life into the book as one of the characters and I appreciated that fact.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia Crain
I would say that if you choose to read this book,keep a box of tissue near. This was one of the best books I have ever read!!! I have passed it on to my son that loves to read too.I will probably never forget Josh,because the things he went through makes me realize that I ought to pay more attention to my children and know what is going on in their lives and to know how God is using them.He can work in someones life and we may not even know it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Harrell
Have only read about half way through this book, but am having the similar problem I have with all of Karen's books, I don't want to put it down!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Fay Aven
This book is so true to life today about being disappointed when our children make bad decisions. I really like the ending of this book and to know that it was written about the authors brother.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
A great tearjerker. I had to get out a few tissues for this one. Its a great story of how little we could really know someone. And the power of a father's love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandra Van Horn
A very sad story, however, it was good. If you don't like sad stories don't read it. Our book club rated it 4 1/2 mostly because it was sad. Well written, easy to read. Josh's life of pain both physical and emotional were so compeling. His pain brought him to the Lord and he used one song to inspire him to the Lord in his darkest hours. Medication for pain was addressed in this book and the dangers.You'll see his family go through some major changes mostly pointedly his mother, Annie.His daughter, Savannah, was precious.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Pereda
Karen is an amazing author with great talent to capture her audience. This book touched me with her character's. This has happened in the past with her Sunrise series. I was so touched by the good Josh did without telling anyone about his actions. This is really how it should be isn't it? Doing good without getting the credit from others. I loved seeing the growth of Josh's mom to be a better person. I did need the tissue box but am an emotional reader. I am going to purchase the first two books in this series :) I do enjoy Karen Kingsbury!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debbie
This book was incredible. It was the first Karen Kingsbury book I've read and it will not be the last. This book had so many similarities in it that our family has gone through that it made me cry. It has some sad parts but it also has so many good parts. I would highly recommend it. Karen's writing style, blended with an abundance of Christian teaching, has a way of getting to your heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Davis
Another excellent book by Karen! A very touching and heart rendering story. I read it in one sitting and passed it on to my sister. Keep the tissues nearby!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Morey
This is a great book, I could not put it down.Karen Kingsbury is one great author. If you have not read any of her books, I suggest that you start with this one. You will not be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shirley Bartlett
Very well written and we can all relate to this as we probably know someone like or maybe we were like this. Enjoyed the book thourghly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Olive Nabors
This heartwarming story makes one realize that every person has worth and needs love and encouragement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Charles Daniels
Geneally I don't read very much,but I saw this book listed and thought it would be interesting.Once I received it and started reading it I didn't want to stop.I am a slow reader,but I finished it in three days Charles E. Daniels Lonaconing, Md.21539
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Sprague
I Bought this Book for my Mom for her birthday, and she said it was so good that she wanted to read the rest of the series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Burge
Always a good read with Karen K!!! So true with some families that loose touch with their children. I enjoyed it <
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ann Bush
I enjoy Karen Kingsbury's books and this one was no exception. I stay up way too late reading them! I didn't have it all figured out though sometimes I do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for This Side of Heaven: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThis Side of Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
lori
I just finished reading it and what a reminder that what matters to God isn't what matters to man. My son did not go on to be a college grad but he has so much about him that is great and this book reminded me to celebrate him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.