Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook

FaithWords One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook

Two mothers end up more closely connected that they could dream...and yet they are strangers.

As Christmas Eve quickly approaches, one mother waits anxiously for her husband to return from an overseas business trip, so they can celebrate their last Christmas together before the twins head off to college.

However, the other mother barely notices the Christmas festivities since her daughter is waiting desperately for a new heart and prays for a miracle. God's miracles are sometimes bittersweet.

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All they wanted was the perfect day!

Date:June 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For Nora Peterson, this was going to be the Christmas her family would long remember. After all the countless times her husband, Gordon, has been traveling for business, they were all going to be home together to celebrate those time honored traditions she had hoped would continue on as her twin teenagers Charlie and Christi grew and had families of their own. Knowing that Gordon would be flying home late from Germany she had hoped he would at least call to let her know he was on his way. When she tried calling his phone all she got was voice mail. The only thing she could do was simply pray that everything would be fine despite the worry settling in her stomach. Her children were expected home soon and then they would begin the Christmas celebration none of them would ever forget. Everything would be just perfect. .
For Jenna Montgomery, this would undoubtedly be her daughter, Heather's last Christmas. Growing weaker by the day due to a defect in her heart, she wasn't sure just where she was on the transplant list. For them, they refused to speak of things in their finality. Last time decorating the tree, last time making Christmas cookies or opening presents. At least for Jenna should could hope that it would be a good Christmas for Heather. But when she announced she was more tired than she expected and running a slight fever, Jenna knew from her experience as an ER nurse that these were not the signs of something good, but her worst fears being confirmed. She was losing Heather and they wouldn't even make it to see Christmas this year.
Sometimes life hands up things we hoped would never fall on our plates. We always hope that the bad things in life will escape us and happen to someone else. But when that doesn't happen, it is hard for us to remember how to breathe again. To remember despite all the doubts, that God is still in control even if it seems like this went by His attention unnoticed. If God can do anything, why doesn't He answer our prayers they way we want? For both the Peterson's and the Montgomery family, both of their prayers will be answered just not in the fashioned either had hoped. How each family deals with those answers takes the readers on a chilling look at what grief looks like during one of the worst times in a families life and how they will rise to find a way to move ahead and see the good God can bring from it.
I received One Perfect Day by Lauraine Snelling compliments of Faith Words, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained in this review are strictly my own. This is a difficult novel to read because it deals with death and the implications that affect the family in such a surreal way, you can easily relate to what it must be like dealing with the situation. While grief affects us all differently, there is no time table for when life returns to normal. For some, they find solace in getting back into their routines again; for others simply trying to find a way to get through the day is a challenge in itself. I believe Lauraine did an exceptional job at taking one of the hardest subjects to face in life and show the beauty that can come from it even though it never fades. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars and it even includes a reader discussion guide that is perfect for book clubs or for small study groups dealing with loss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's Okay...

Date:December 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
LoveForever
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book had a great message and a great story, but the author took too much time explaining every little thing about what the characters were doing. "She picked up her coffee cup, filled it up with coffee, drank it, put the coffee cup in the sink, rinsed it out, and put it back in the cupboard." Things like that. Other than that, the book really was very good and uplifting in the most dreadful of circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a very moving book showing God's love

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terry
Location:Hummelstown, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The way God's love is protrail in this book is very moving. There is forgiveness, love & how to get back on the right track if you only give God one more try. God is always there for us. We just need to reach out to Him. While reading the One Prefect Day you felt like you were right in the story & going through the lives with the characters.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Landreth
I couldn't put it down or the box of tissues either. This told the need of organ donors and the impact on both families. Great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Julia Smith
I thought this book was emotionally captivating. You need to grab a box of tissues before reading, but it's such a great read! Told from 2 Mom's point of views, it's like seeing both sides of the story and having a greater understanding. ~ I read this book in 3 evenings. I couldn't put it down. I give this book an A!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bethany Chancey
I agree with Pamela about the abrupt ending. There was so much potential, so much more that could have been said. Overall, a fairly good book. Just would've appreciated an "ending."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Helen Jean Higgins
This was a very easy read book. Once you start, you can't put it down. I could have slapped "Nora", one of the lead characters in the book, for the way she carried on about her son's death. I felt as a mother, she should have pulled her family in closer to her instead of pushing them away. I felt sorry for her daughter. On the other hand, the book was an insite to how an organ donor recipient and family reacts. It was a good story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2009
One Perfect Day is a great book. When the book starts you know Nora is about to loose someone she loves, but we don't know who. The pain Nora goes through is something any mother and wife can relate to. On the flip side Jenna's daughther Jennifer is in need of a heart to survive. Her pain and joy is something we mothers an also relate to. When the donar letter comes at the end of the book I can tell you I did cry. To me this book is about knowing God is still there doing our time of troubles maybe we can't see it at that moment, but he is always waiting to let us know no one loves us more and no matter what we all belong to him. Anyone wanting to find out the side of loosing someone and another person gainig the gift of life from another should read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
This author has delivered a book packed withfeeling as well as information about the areaof organ donation and its effect on lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marjorie Field
My Mom is almost 87 years old & loves to read. By making books available at a lower cost by ordering through CBD is GREAT! We've always been pleased with the books and the savings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Martha Pennock
I bought this book solely because it was a Snelling book, and I can't pass up one of her well written books filled with faith based stories. I sat down on a plane and started by reading the dedication. I was immediately in tears. As a sister of someone who died waiting for the 'perfect heart', and as a friend of someone who lived 14 years after getting the gift of a heart, the story hit home. I was spellbound and thrilled that through this piece of fiction, others will maybe think about being a donor. Giving that gift of life touches so many and yet gives the donor family the knowledge that their loved one lives on through others. Kudos and five stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pamela Ellinger-dixon
The book seemed an accurate representation of both sides of organ donation. The end of the book is abrupt and appears like the author just quit writing. There is no ending really to this book. Quite a disappointing read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
adriana
Read this book in one day. One of those books that stays in your mind for a along time. Everyone should read this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Peggy Hall
It was very sad,but a good read.I would recommend it to all my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenny Ott
Was difficult for me to put this book down. There are times when you need a good "cry" and this one was worth it. Caused me to do some very serious thinking about teh organ donor program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marilynn Lindahl
On page 172 the nurse tells Heather to "sit" and Heather replies "I do 'down' and 'stay' too. I burst out laughing aloud for several minutes.I'm one of those old Scandinavians for whom smiling loudly is the usual response to something really funny. Having been a nurse, I am acquainted with our habit of giving brisk orders, making this even more appropos
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
Jenna Montgomery prayed for a miracle - that a new heart would become available for her daughter. Nora Peterson wanted this Christmas, the last she knew her whole family would be together before the twins went off to college, to be perfect. But a car accident shatters Nora's dream and life as she knows it. Meanwhile, Jenna is thanking God for providing a new heart and saving her daughter's life.Lauraine Snelling writes with keen insight about these two women, both at turning points in their lives. Alternating between the stories, she shows us the private pain and joy of each family as they struggle to move forward. I think many of us wonder why God lets tragedy touch families who love and worship Him. In One Perfect Day one mother's nightmare becomes another mother's answered prayer. As I read, I found myself thinking about how even the worst circumstances can be used for good by God. I highly recommend this book, particularly if you know of someone, or if you yourself, have struggled with the loss of a loved one. It takes a bare, honest look at moving through grief, while at the same time celebrating life and second chances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Wallace Shiffler
it is a book of both sadness and happiness. I feel for the Peterson family in their loss of their son Charlie and Joy for the Jenna and Heather in receiving new hope in life. I hope every one that reads the book will become a donor for new life for someone else. When you do you live on in a new life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christine L. Alley-Howard
Compelling and beautifully written. The theme gives everyone a moment to pause and reflect on what is of real value in their life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for One Perfect Day: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOne Perfect Day.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Lauraine Snelling is a consummate and prolific Christian womens author. She delves into emotionally charged situations, producing realistic scenes of grief, mourning, cautious elation, and new hope. Both families struggle to adapt to the momentous changes in their lives as their stories are related in tandem. Noras descent into unbearable grief is written so strongly that it nearly overpowers the glimpses of praise and refreshment in Jennas story.Enveloped in her own despair, Nora sets herself at odds with God, enraged by His taking her son. As the Petersons struggle to adapt to the loss of their son they must learn to reach out to their remaining child as she sinks deeper into the darkness. However, there is a light at the end of the tunnel, no matter how faint. Conversely the Montgomerys are faced with new independence and a newly birthed spirit of enthusiasm from Jenna. New dreams and desires erupt from the hearts of both mother and daughter. Knowing that a future is possible for Heather opens a realm of previously unexplored possibilities to each of them.Throughout all of these changes God is present to walk His children through them. Using believers in the lives of these women He uplifts, encourages, and supports them through their respective periods of growth and change - even when it appears that His presence is missing.The strength of this title is found in the fluctuation of emotions the characters endure. Snellings depiction of Noras abrupt slide into a depression seemingly without end throbs with authenticity. Likewise the tentative tendrils of a newly blooming romance are suitably cautious and tender as Jenna begins to open her heart. It is this ring of truth combined with the emotionally dramatic that brings readers back to Snellings works.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>