Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords Breaking Free - eBook

FaithWords Breaking Free - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Breaking Free - eBook
Review 1 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Great read. Writing style allowed the reader to create a relationship with the characters. Hard to put the book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janet Peterson
Having had a daughter in the prison system for three years I related to Maggie's character extremely well. I also know how difficult it is for ex-felons to get jobs once they are back in society no matter how severe or minor their offense. The book was very good in relating rehabilitation for prisoners before re-entering society. Maggie was blessed to have this opportunity with the other inmates and how interacting with the Thoroughbreds changed their lives and the value of themselves as a person. Edward was an awesome boy in loving others as Christians should do regardless of the other person's background. Aren't we to "love our neighbor as ourselves"...A very good read. Lorraine Snelling is one of my most favorite Christian authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Tucker
this was great--i think it started slow so i was not into it til about 3rd chap--but it grabbed me then and i finished it in record time for me--i couldnt put it down--great book-i'm so glad DC didnt hurt her-i was worried about that aspect-glad lauraine didnt go there--great read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beth
I loved this book. It was hard to put down. Once I started it, I just wanted to keep reading. A touching story about redemption!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tanya Grab
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I have read all of Lauraine's books and have never been disappointed. I really like the way she wrote this book, not so much centering on a relationship with Maggie and Gil, but on relationships in general. I felt the ending was perfect. Thanks for another great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christine Rupert
Another great L.S. book. Well written & great story! Especially enjoyed the son Eddie with his determination. Also proves you cannot judge a book by it's cover, meaning being a prisoner & then being released to be watched ever so closely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chelsea G.
I can honestly say this is the best book I've read in a long time. I have more than one book by Lauraine Snelling and I have NEVER been dissapointed! This book is a must for horse lovers and lovers of romance novels alike.... my only complaint is that this book ended too soon! I would love to see more like this!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2008
Breaking Free is a must for those that love horses and the story about Maggie and thoroughbred race horses when they are no longer useful. The way the author explains about the behavior of a horse makes one understand them more. We have a therapeutic program in our city so I know the benefit these children receive. I understand what the little boy Eddie was going through and was glad Maggie could go with this horse that she trained and was adopted by Eddie and his father. Great story but the ending should have been a little longer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marina Williams
Great story that reminds us that there is hope and redemption for all no matter the situation. God's grace is sufficient. I couldn't put it down. I look forward to more from Lauraine Snelling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judy
This is an excellent book. You are caught up in the characters and emotions from the very start. I also found the concept of using horses with inmates very interesting. I did not know these programs existed and enjoyed learning about them and about horses in general. You are drawn into the story and into the emotions of the main character. A definite must read especially if you are a Lauraine Snelling fan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hazel K.
What a wonderful book to sit down and relax to. The only bad part was I DID NOT WANT IT TO END. It covers allot of surface about todays life. Wish it was a series. Thanks so much for writing this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dana Meredith
This story gripped me from the beginning and I read it in two sittings. It was very good except I was disappointed in the ending. It seemed a little simplistic after the complicated situations that preceeded the ending. I would recommend it as a captivating light read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
tildy
I liked this book a lot. Its about a woman who had to endure a lot pain and heartache and with God's help she ended up with a lot of joy .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Selena Adams
Could not put it down to see what good was going to happen next.Great Book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2007
<I>Breaking Free</I> is a novel that shows forgiveness and restoration is possible given by God to us all. Maggie feels that she is not worthy of this gift. Love of a horse and a special needs child brings out the beat in this woman and leads to her acceptance of forgiveness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2007
I'm not really a horse person, but I did enjoy reading this story. I like stories when a troubled person and an equally troubled animal find each other and connect. Maggie and Breaking Free's relationship reminded me of the story of Seabiscuit. Reading about Maggie's life in prison was harsh, but I know that in real life it is even worse. I would have liked, however, if we could have found out what happened to the other inmates that she befriended. I did like how the women were allowed to take care of the horses and learn about them. It was touching to read about how they finally had something to be proud of, to know that they are performing good and to have someone look up to them. At first Grant seemed to be the overprotective father, but after learning about his ex-wife, you realize why he acts that way. I liked Eddie very much, although I felt Grant treated him too much like a young kid. His relationship with Maggie is very moving. The only thing I didn't really like was that Maggie was served such a harsh sentence for her "crime." I mean most people do not get drunk after drinking 2 glasses of wine, and the accident didn't really sound like it was her fault, yet she gets so many years in prison for it. Yet celebrities will do worse crimes and stay in jail for less than 2 hours! It just didn't seem too believable, or else Maggie has a really bad lawyer that didn't defend her very well. I feel though that this book is well written. If you are a horse fan you will definitely want to pick it up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Vivian Stike
A most enjoyable summer read. Perfect for that youngster who adores horses and also the adult reader will know of the good in people and animals. Given a chance all of God's creatures including people are redeemable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Breaking Free - eBook
This review is fromBreaking Free.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sandra
Running FreeLauraine Snelling, Faith WordsISBN 978-0-446-58208-7In prison for ten years, Maggie Roberts has learned to keep to herself and her emotions under tight control. Up for parole in a few weeks, Maggie is offered the opportunity to work with Thoroughbred race horses in a new prison program. Reluctant at first, her love of horses finally wins out. Working with an abused blood bay gelding, Breaking Free is soon gentled by Maggie's patient touch. But it's not just Breaking Free learning new coping skills. Maggie, too, begins to deal with the guilt of yesterday and embrace the hope for tomorrow. Then Maggie learns a local businessman is set on adopting Breaking Free. Will she have to let go of the one thing keeping her afloat?Running Free immediately registered with me since my daughter is also involved in a Therapeutic Horseback Riding program. Maggie's awakening is well paced and believable, and though the romance felt rushed, it is apparent that a second chance at love is only icing on the cake of Maggie's post-prison life. As she finds her niche again and begins to sort through her grief and shame, she becomes a woman worthy of the title Heroine. Good, solid writing and a fresh storyling. A must read!www.sdionnemoore.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.