Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Inter-Varsity Press Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition

Inter-Varsity Press Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition

Follow Jesus' example by gathering in intimate groups of two or three for study and encouragement. This innovative disciple-making workbook features 25 weekly units—each with a core truth in a question-and-answer format, a memory verse and accompanying study, an inductive Bible study, a theme-related reading, and discussion questions—plus a new study on stewardship. 232 pages, softcover from InterVarsity.3
Average Customer Rating:
4.76 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Review 1 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
thefig
Location:Sewickley, Pa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I worked through this book in a group of 3 and have just invited 2 more to start with me and work through the book again. This is a wonderful tool to use to help you truly make disciple-makers of others. It is a study that helped fill in many gaps and holes in my faith that I did not even realize were there as the basic tenants of my faith came into a clearer view. I plan on using this book for years to come as I venture out into meeting in small groups in discipling others. This book was the tool that has given me to confidence to do it. Highly recommend to any Christian whether you are a new believer or have been a Christ follower for many many years. Awesome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Todd Stout
Location:Littleton NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am using this as a discipleship guide with my son and am very pleased with it. I went through this study with two other pastors on staff at our church and find it to be a tremendous individual or small group discipleship study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God inspired a great man filled with His Spirit.

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Neil
Location:Queensland, Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the help and Godly inspiration of 'Discipleship Essentials'. Greg Ogden has shown me the light which has given me a Spiritual insight of Discipleship. It is books like these written by trusted authors that mentor as Jesus commanded in Mathew 28:18-20. I now will begin to put into practise as I agree totally to his concept of Discipleship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent tool for discipleship!

Date:January 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this resource for discipling two co-workers. It is an excellent resource and very comprehensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this workbook has very good material

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Me2U
Location:Ringgold, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this workbook has very good material and very good posed questions to stimulate your thinking and learning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Resource

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
DKwolf
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This resource is excellent for a triad setting and allows for a wide range of spiritual backgrounds. Questions are sometimes open to interpretation and can provide answers that identify present issues in participants life that promotes openness and discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excelent material for one-on-one/group studys

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
ToddG
Location:Birmingham, Al
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have gone through this study twice and the sequel "Leadership essentials" and both are well written. I use this study for one-on-one discipleship of new believers and small groups. The study models the tactics that Jesus used to move people to maturity. I would also recommend “Beginning Steps: A growth guide for new believers”. I normally use the Beginning steps book and then transition into Discipleship Essentials.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In depth bible study

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:LaPorte, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book for an in depth bible study and just a great book for discipling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great tool for the small groups and churches.

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Streak
Location:Portola Hills, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jesus was intentional about his ministry and called His followers to be disciples, not just pew warmers. The modern church focuses more on the masses. Jesus certainly did address the masses, but the masses were fickel and scattered. His main focus was on His disciples, who would go on to do amazing things and change the world. "Discipleship Essentials" hits the nail on the head. It is a practical guide to get the believer to a deeper place, impact his world and go on to "make disciples of all nations" (Matt. 28: 18-20). For those serious about their Christian life, being His disciple is the priority and "walking worthy of the call in which we have been called" (Eph 4:1). If you want to go deeper, your life to change, your church to grow spiritually, and see an impact on your community and world, I would highly recomend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

DISCIPLESHIP IS WHAT ITS ABOUT!

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robert Burns
Location:CINCINNATI, OHIO
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great resource for reading on your own/as a group learing to become disciples of Jesus Christ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product was a great resource and value

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor CMP
Location:State of Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have greatly enjoyed working my way through this series of lessons. Each lesson is very well written and challenges you to think about the subject matter at hand. I feel that this will be an excellent tool in our effort to launch a much needed and ongoing discipleship effort among our people.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
JGCAC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i used it in a young adult retreat for self study and group sharing. it is very helpful, thank God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
G. Richard Craig
Location:St Catharines, Ontario
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is certianly, by far, the best study guide that I have seen and worked with. I would recommend it to any serious person/small group who desires to understand and apply the foundational principles of the word of God.
For men and women who desire to be the spiritual leaders in their home and church, this study is a must. It is demanding and time consuming but extremely rewarding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A study to mature your Christian walk.

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gran4
Location:Pascoag, Rhode Island
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Format is easy to follow as a single study. Material is thought provoking and interesting. Raises questions you didn't know you had leading to searching for more information. Satisfies a need for deeper study in the Christian walk.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a great tool.

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Church is finding great success in our Discipleship process using Discipleship Essentials. We highly recomend it as a tool for helping people grow in their walk with the Lord.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diana Wilson
This book is being used for an evangelism college course. Thus far the reading is easy and presented interestingly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barnabas Bibles And Books
Great book! Will help Christians mature in their faith and hopefully disciple others as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Friendship Church
As a church staff member who handles the curriculum for all of our Small Groups and Sunday School Classes, I have found this book to be a tremendous asset! It is foundational and essential to developing mentoring/accountability small groups. I am going through this book myself and am certain that the LORD will have me beginning an accountability group myself soon! I could not recommend this book more highly, for those who wish to develop their own relationships with the Lord and lead others to do the same.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Leonardo Kowalczuk
AWESOME book, we love it, it is a great tool for beginers in the walk with Our Lord,or somebody that has doubts on doctrine,back to the basic of Jesus teachings, will build up a strong foundation of faith. Get it!!!!...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Discipleship Essentials: A Guide to Building Your Life in Christ, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bill Parks
Excellent material, good Bible study material and great discussion questions.This is a great book for helping new believers to grow deeper and to find their way on their new journey of faith and obedience
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>