Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Charlotte Mason Research Simply Grammar: An Illustrated Primer

Charlotte Mason Research Simply Grammar: An Illustrated Primer

Some old-fashioned teaching models are timeless. In this revised and expanded edition of First Grammar Lessons by Charlotte Mason, you'll discover one of them---the simple method of narration that focuses on conversation as a natural means of teaching grammar to your fourth to eighth graders. 178 pages, softcover.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simply Grammar: An Illustrated Primer
Review 1 for Simply Grammar: An Illustrated Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good for young ones

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Strongmom04
Location:Guelph, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My five and seven year old are going through this first unit, and they enjoy the examples and pictures. We use narration rather than writing at this early stage. We are teaching grammar basics only, as they love playing MadLibs games, and acting out Charades- basic grammar is often needed...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Simply Grammar: An Illustrated Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for a span of different ages

Date:November 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brianna
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read reviews and felt I understood what to expect. It may be a little old fashion for some but I felt that worked to our advantage in reading.(sometimes the classics can be hard to follow) I bought this as a supplement for my 4th grader(whom I had just removed from public school) and I plan on using it over and over for at least a few more years. We play with the lessons sometimes shorting the amount of sentences, splitting the assignment into two days, or having an oral lesson. We think it is a wonderful addition to our studies.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Simply Grammar: An Illustrated Primer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Marvel
All three of our children enjoyed using this material. The second day they wanted to do grammar. It is a come along side and learn together material. They are learning, enjoying learning and enjoying each other. I am excited to find such a material. We will see how day four goes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Simply Grammar: An Illustrated Primer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenny
This book seems to be written for girls - most of the pictures are very, very feminine and the lettering on the cover is pink. My daughter liked this book and loved the pictures! However, my son did not like it at all. He felt like he was using a "girl's book" and was totally not interested. I think it made him dislike grammar even more than he did before!
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Simply Grammar: An Illustrated Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ivania Castillo
Excellent grammar book! I used it with my 5th-grade daughter to reinforce concepts not well taught at public school. Definitively not boring compared to the dry, lifeless workbooks.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Simply Grammar: An Illustrated Primer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diane
I purchased Simply Grammar as an alternative to a fill-in-the-blank workbook. I thought that this gentler approach would result in greater retention of the material. Instead, I found that my children were often confused by the awkward and antiquated wording in the lessons. I believe the concept of Simply Grammar is good, but the book would be more useful if it were written in a more modern style.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Simply Grammar: An Illustrated Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lisa Strevel
Great Book! I love the old-fashioned teaching. It brings back memories. I think you will enjoy it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Simply Grammar: An Illustrated Primer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Becky James
The title is enticing but the content is anything but simple. Difficult to follow and quite boring, to say the least. We will continue to shop for an effective teaching tool for our "right-brained" daughter.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Simply Grammar: An Illustrated Primer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
jane
I found this book to be a HUGE disappointment. I feel it is overpriced and overrated.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Simply Grammar: An Illustrated Primer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mrs. Jackson
The beauty of this primer is in its simplicity. Pick up the book and read the lessons to your child using the "script" provided. You and your child will not be unnecessarily confused or bogged down by extras found in other workbook-based grammar programs. If you allow your child to answer the questions orally, the concepts will present themselves more naturally because your child already uses spoken grammar in the day-to-day speech.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Simply Grammar: An Illustrated Primer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2003
Customer Avatar
ann
I was very disappointed in this book. It is hard to follow and very boring for any age. I was bored with it and so was my daughter. The wording used in the book is confusing. I would not recommend this book for homeschoolers.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Simply Grammar: An Illustrated Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2001
Customer Avatar
Bruce Wallace
This fine book is a must for parents who want to help their kids learn English grammar. Dont count on schools to do all the teaching but get involved and learn with your kids from a book which is laid out neatly and easy to go through. I was impressed at it's simplicity and information which is presented clearly.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.