Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for IVP Connect The Beatitudes: Developing Spiritual Character, John Stott Bible Studies

IVP Connect The Beatitudes: Developing Spiritual Character, John Stott Bible Studies

The beatitudes reveal to us eight qualities that bring God's blessing: meekness and mercy, poorness in spirit and purity of heart, mourning and hunger, peacemaking and persecution. Jesus highlighted these to offer both encouragement and instruction on living distinctly as his followers in a world with values much different from God's. Eight studies are included in this study, one for each of the beatitudes. Questions are in an inductive format with commentary notes, personal application, prayer helps and leader guidelines. After you have worked throughthe questions and notes in the guide, you may want to read the accompanying commentary by John Stott in the Bible Speaks Today series (WW2965).
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Beatitudes: Developing Spiritual Character, John Stott Bible Studies
Review 1 for The Beatitudes: Developing Spiritual Character, John Stott Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Study

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
JonR
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This short study has really filled our Wednesday night our with some great conversations and opened our eyes to what our Lord really meant with these great one liners.
Loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Beatitudes: Developing Spiritual Character, John Stott Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

John Stott explains the Beatitudes brilliantly

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bill Watson
Location:Solon, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are in the middle of this book in our Couples Bible study. I have already recommended it to another group of men I am participating with. So I will be ordering more books. I am not disappointed to go through this section of scriptures and book a second time. It is that good! Thank you John Stott
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Beatitudes: Developing Spiritual Character, John Stott Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
LapDog111
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John Stott studies are simply the best. He is simple yet thorough. Meaty without being overbearing. This study is particularly good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Beatitudes: Developing Spiritual Character, John Stott Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A nice format for personal or group use.

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
quilter780
Location:Western PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A group will be using this as a monthly study in 2011-2012, along with other resources. We expect this study to promote personal reflection which will enhance the group process.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Beatitudes: Developing Spiritual Character, John Stott Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
carole
I have been in Bible study for over 10 years, this is our first John Stott study and I am the facilitator. We all love this study. Each week the lesson starts with a Beatitude, explained in a way I have never heard before, with ample application to our lives. It stirred much discussion in our group and was a blessing. We have one more lesson and on to another Stott study :-)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Beatitudes: Developing Spiritual Character, John Stott Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
amy palitto
Our small group of 5 couples used this book for our study. We found it provoking concerning what Christ truly meant and how we apply the Beatitudes to our lives. It promoted good discussion. The included leaders tips were useful.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Beatitudes: Developing Spiritual Character, John Stott Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jan Schneider
II have participated in this study in the past and am currently facilitating the study with a group of young moms. John Stott is a wonderful theologian and has helped the Beatitudes come alive in my thinking. The questions have sparked some lively discussion in the group and we are leaving with a greater appreciation for Jesus' teaching at the beginning of the Sermon on the Mount. I am interested in doing more of John Stott's studies.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Beatitudes: Developing Spiritual Character, John Stott Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Lichoff
It was not what I expected for my small faith group. I expected each chapter to start with a beatitude.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Beatitudes: Developing Spiritual Character, John Stott Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Frances Abel
It is very eye opening. I liked it. The womaen I teach are getting their hearts opened!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Beatitudes: Developing Spiritual Character, John Stott Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kevin Searles
Very well constructed study. Solid Biblical foundation with provocative inductive questions to help process the Scripture as well as the author's inspired thinking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.