Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Saxon Publishing Saxon Phonics K, Home Study Kit

Saxon Publishing Saxon Phonics K, Home Study Kit

Help your children build solid reading skills with this multisensory, sequential phonics program. Developed by Lorna Simmons to remedy her own son's reading difficulties, Saxon Phonics is flexible, easy to use, and highly effective. Kits include a student workbook in two parts, a reader, a teacher's manual, teaching tools, (A Home Study DVD and Pronunciation Guide on CD) This program is separated into 140 lessons or 35 weeks.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Saxon Phonics K, Home Study Kit
Review 1 for Saxon Phonics K, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful program!

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
carolanng8
Location:Bountiful, Utah
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This program allows a struggling child to get the repetition that is needed to succeed. While I believe that the paper quality is not the best, the program is fabulous. I would recommend laminating all of the paper cards so that they last through the program.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Saxon Phonics K, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
jkmb
Location:north carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had 2 different home school moms recomend this book to me. It is very detailed and simple to follow. It moves slowly but I find that the authors have a reason for doing things the way they do it. I have learned not to skip much. My boys have responded well to it so far. I love the scripted lessons because I can scan it and know exactly what to say without a lot of work.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Saxon Phonics K, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Product Out There for Learning to Read

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
HotMama
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a 2 Kindergarten teachers who have taught for many, many years tell me that this was the best product they have found for teaching children to read.
I love it! It has great worksheets, great manipulatives, and my son has been excited to do phonics each day.
It tells me exactly what to say, which I love, so that I can be sure I am teaching phonics correctly.
Great price for so much stuff!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Saxon Phonics K, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL program

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
blessedwith4
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have taught our oldest 3 children to read/spell with this wonderful program. This fall we will start our 4th and last child. It is easy to use, scripted for the teacher, and teaches not only to read but to spell based on rules. It is EXCELLENT and I highly recommend it! The problem we had after completing the 2nd grade Saxon Phonics was finding a good spelling program to continue with the excellent teaching already learned through this program. I will admit, we have not found anything yet that even stands close. My oldest is now 10th grade, an excellent speller, but we have yet to find a good, solid spelling program to carry over through elementary school and middle school. I do highly recommend Saxon Phonics. My children are excellent readers!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Saxon Phonics K, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mandi Donaldson
We are really liking this curriculum. It is broke down in a way that works well for us. And having it all laid out helps in prep time. It also lets the child go at there on pace doing the lessons, or half a lesson, or more than one in a day. So glad we purchased the Saxon Phonics K.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Saxon Phonics K, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristina
About 3/4 of the way through my son's kindergarten year, I discovered he was reading a bit, but not using phonics (I was attempting to teach phonics, but I think he was memorizing and figuring out the words). I switched to this program since he enjoyed the Saxon Math program we were using. We are on about lesson #50, and I know he is definitely sounding out the words he is reading. This program is structured and straight-forward. The worksheets lack color and excitement, but my child does not seem to mind at all. There are plenty of teacher helps in the way of flashcards/charts. We are excited for the progress he is making and look forward to continuing on with this program.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Saxon Phonics K, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Heather
After teaching 1st grade in public school using Saxon 1, I chose SaxonK for my son's homeschool curriculum. The Kinder program progresses at a slow pace, but not too slow. My son started the program knowing all letters/sounds, but has still been challenged by Saxon as it introduces things like compound words, beginning/end word sounds, rhyming words, etc. The teacher's manual is wonderful, as it gives you a script to follow. Of course, change it if needed, but it's a nice tool to follow! The quality of all materials is nice. I like how the daily workbook pages are already 3-hole punched, which makes it easy to put in a 3 ring binder for documentation purposes. There are also regular assessment sheets to record your child's progress if you are required to submit something by your state law. We will most likely continue to use Saxon for phonics as far as it can go. I've seen it work in a 1st grade classroom, & now I'm seeing it work at home!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Saxon Phonics K, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Papandrea
This is a terrific value for the money. Unlike so many other kindergarten products, time is not wasted on "cutesy" things. Instead, a wealth of information is put at the disposal of both parent and child to give a solid foundation in the fundamentals of reading. Not only will your child become thoroughly grounded in the sounds of the alphabet, but he will also learn several digraphs, syllable division and other concepts most publishers do not give the child until later. You will be very pleased with this investment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Saxon Phonics K, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Janice Wisner
This is a course that takes a lot of time, but it was well worth it. After my daughter finished the Saxon Phonics series, she was able to spell words with up to 4 syllables at a very young age.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.