Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Inter-Varsity Press The Cross of Christ, Study Edition

Inter-Varsity Press The Cross of Christ, Study Edition

A compelling and comprehensive treatment of the centrality of the cross. Examining the apparent and underlying reasons for Christ's death, Stott defends the substitutionary view of the atonement and explores Christ's achievement through his crucifixion. He also discusses the implications of the cross for Christian worship, self-understanding, life, and hope. Includes a study guide. 380 pages, softcover from InterVarsity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Cross of Christ, Study Edition
Review 1 for The Cross of Christ, Study Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of his best works!

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert
Location:Henderson Nv.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just buy it and take time to let it change your life. We all need to understand the cross.
Thank You
Jesus!!!
God bless
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Cross of Christ, Study Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In-Depth Look at the Cross

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply read the title… that’s exactly what this book is about. In “The Cross of Christ” Stott discusses the purpose of the Cross, its effects, and how it should affect our lives today. He explains how the Cross worked to satisfy both God’s love and justice. The depth of this book is amazing. Stott discusses theological theories that have come up through the years as to exactly what was done at the Cross. Were we truly justified? Or are we supposed to be moved to justify ourselves by our behavior? Did Jesus really take our punishment? Did He die to defeat Satan? How does any of this apply to me today? This book has it all.
I can’t even begin to fully process this one after just one reading. This is a book I will read again and again. I think I’ll see something new each time. There’s just that much information. This is not a light read, though it is easily understandable. I think my favorite thing about this book is that the Conclusion actually summarizes (and even clarifies) the entire book very nicely. It’s a great refresher of what you’ve been reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Cross of Christ, Study Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Classic Work on Christ's Work

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patricia Hubel
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stott's work on Christ's work on the cross is an absolute classic. Not only will a new convert be further convicted through Stott's examination of the completed work of Christ, but the seasoned Christian will be regenerated in his/her love of the Lord. This book is worth the cost and more because of what it will do for your walk with the Lord!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Cross of Christ, Study Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Classic

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Banning, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say. Everyone knows it is a classic. It is work to read it but worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Cross of Christ, Study Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for small group study

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
CMay
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great for small group study or use within an adult Sunday School class. Although it can be used as a individual study, more can be gleaned from it when in conversation with others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Cross of Christ, Study Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study on the cross of the Lord Jesus Christ

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
tackdrive75
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm quite excited to be starting a study with a couple other gentlemen that are serious minded believers in the Lord Jesus Christ. At first glance this will be a very thought provoking and intriguing book/study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Cross of Christ, Study Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
reds
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As usual, material by John Stott meets all expections
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Cross of Christ, Study Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intense but worth the read

Date:October 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
jrflem69
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this book for a Men's morning study at my church. The first chapter was intimidating but with each progressive chapter it has opened my eyes to the profound sacrifice and helped me better appreciate and defend my faith. Great Bible quotes and writing by Stott. Looking forward to finishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Cross of Christ, Study Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michael W Mattison
I received this marvelous book promptly and it was in perfect condition. This is my very favorite book by John R. W. Stott, and I cannot recommend it highly enough! And at $7.99 there is no way one can pass it up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Cross of Christ, Study Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lori Chyko
This is a "must read" for someone who wants to grow in their relationship with JESUS CHRIST. If you want to better grasp the meaning of CHRIST IN YOU-read this book. Excellent. Thanks so very much!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Cross of Christ, Study Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rev. Dennis Carey
His love for Christ, and his scholarship and study make Stott's book a masterpiece. The cross of Christ demands the attention of every Christian, and Stott shows us the way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.