Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fox Faith The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD

Fox Faith The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD

From Executive Producers Roma Downey (Touched by an Angel) and Mark Burnett (The Voice, Survivor) comes The Bible — an epic 10-part miniseries retelling stories from the Scriptures for a whole new generation. Breathtaking in scope and scale, The Bible showcases powerful performances and visual effects that span Genesis to Revelation. The Bible feature score by Oscar and Grammy winning film composer Hans Zimmer and it's narrated by Emmy winning Keith David. Rated PG. Widescreen. Closed captions. 4 DVDs, approx. 7.5 hours.

DVD Features:

  • The Bible: Genesis
  • The Cast of The Bible
  • The Bible: Creation
  • Scoring The Bible
  • Believing in Miracles
  • The Bible: Visual Effects
  • "Mary, Did You Know?" Music Video
  • English, French, Spanish Subtitles
Average Customer Rating:
3.663 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(187 Reviews) 187
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (187 reviews)
5 stars
93
4 stars
27
3 stars
15
2 stars
15
1 star
37
129 out of 18769%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Review 1 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Did not meet expectations

Date:April 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ruth Culmer
Location:TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cinematography is not enough here. For me, it was a dissapointment. Granted, the film makers never promised that it would be 100% Biblical in every detail. Nevertheless, I expected far more than I received. It reminded me of one of those "based-on-a-true-story" things. That's about the best I can say for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:March 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
JWHoop
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
They tried their best but they did not follow the bible in certain areas, they did this by putting in things that are not found in the bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Top quality material

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Granny
Location:Davis IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christianbook.com is a website I use for ordering supplies for Bible study. We have had the best service and quality items provided for a fair price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Sadden

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
King Whale
Location:Hong Kong
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this as soon as it was available and eagerly waited for its delivery. I started watching it almost as soon as it arrived. After one episode, I was shocked. After two, I put the whole thing away. It might have been done beautifully, but it's not Biblical.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent DVDs

Date:December 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diana
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my mom who doesn't have cable so wasn't able to watch it on the History Channel last spring. I know she will enjoy it!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Failed to follow the one True God of the Bible

Date:November 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
myZeva
Location:Mount Pleasant, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The special affects were the best but that was where it ends. Not a single special time to draw the onlooker to the one true God was not at all biblical. The devils words were changed but that wasn't all - this movie maker went a bit further with distortion of the devil. Moses is not known to be a Isrealite to anyone other than his mother. No signs of the pillar of fire? Samson was not black, Samuel did not have 2 sons, they were the sons of Eli. Samuel followed Eli after his 2 sons died . Entertainment nothing totally factual was produced. Todays politial correctness is a better way to name this film or the word of the devil not the True God.
+4points
12of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Film

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jane Watson
Location:Athens,TN.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommend for everyone to watch. This film follows the Bible closely. We need more films like this one so maybe America would repent and turn back ti God.Hope to see more Bible based films from these producers.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Remaining Faithful to the truth of God's Word

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Discerning the Truth
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned home from the mission field to find THE BIBLE Epic Miniseries production and with enthusiasm I watched it.
The historical records of God has been plainly and carefully written down and recorded for the whole world. It is not just a book of stories, but it is a complete story which God dictated to men through His Spirit so that the WORLD might know Him and receive His gracious gift of eternal life. The written content has power to save those who read it and follow the instructions for Eternal Life. It is one story told within many books. It is GOD'S comprehensive historical narrative through men, of man's only way to get right with HIM after the disobedience in the garden.
The BIBLE Epic is an artistic work which did not stay true to the deep spiritual meanings woven through the scriptures showing always inner personal relationships or the lack of with the one true God. The Epic failed to highlight or show those deep and/or shallow spiritual aspects of the main characters' relationships with 'The One true God of the BIBLE.
The scriptures have clearly recorded the different relationships of men to the Hebrew God and purposely highlights both those who refused Him and those who had unwavering belief and commitment to obey Him.
The additional dramatic inserts added to the text such as the angels' killing of the residents of Sodom is an example of unnecessary dramatizations beyond God's scriptural account in the BIBLE.
The scriptural records of THE BIBLE, cannot be separated from God's overall purpose of providing a way for man to have a personal relationship with HIM and must remain the main point throughout each well told story within the scriptural purpose and SPIRIT of the text.
The scenes of Abraham's relationship with GOD failed to depict a man who was experiencing a belief which would be recorded as an example down through human history of genuine saving faith.
As we are aware, it is God's Story and the scriptures are full of the details of mankind’s good and bad relationships with The One True God.
THE BIBLE EPIC miniseries, failed to match the Spirit of the BIBLE in its’ portrayal of the deep and shallow relationships of God and mankind through human history.
Nevertheless, some may seek HIM after their hearts are stirred. Carol Farquharson, missionary
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not a True Account of the Bible

Date:September 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:DFW, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
The production was a huge disappointment. There were many inaccuracies. It would have been great if the actual Bible books were followed. There was so much extra added and removed. The Bible is a wondrous book and it doesn't require any change.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

not for beginners

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
joel
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
special affects and sound were great but that was it . rest was not biblical at all . after all for the words to be from the devil it to just slightly change abit . but with this movie they went further. for 1 moses was not known to be a isrealite but the king or anyone other than his mother. where was the pillar of fire.? samson was not black , the profit samuel did not have 2 sons . they were the sons of eli . samuel followed eli after his and his 2 sons died . this is just dvd 1 and not all . the rest is just todays politial correctness or in other words the word of the devil not god
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Intro and Intro

Date:July 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marja B
Location:Shawnigan Lake, BC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the core of the video but wish they would have done a more watchable edition for DVD - cut all the intro's! It starts with what the previous one(s) covered and ends with what the next one will cover.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not Scriptural y sound.....

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sherry H
Location:St. John's , Newfoundland
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was disappointed concerning biblical accuracy, and was surprised to hear that there was a group of counselors to keep the stories accurate! Who were these people???
It looked like they were trying to stay politically correct when it came to the destruction of Sodom....you did not see any sign of homosexuality going on in the city just partying and thugs.
Also when they have Jesus say I am the way....the part of no man comes to the Father except through me was not spoken....again politically correct...not wanting to offend the other religious groups.
I don't believe that Roma Downey would purposely mis-represent the Bible but I believe there should have been much more caution taken to keep the purity of the book.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good teaching tool

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
otis
Location:Ontario CANADA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would be a great series for non believers. Sticks pretty much to the book.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed!

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
BTrue
Location:Nashville, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I do not watch TV so I did not see this previously. It was given to me as a gift from my children because they know that I love good DVD's. Contrary to reviews, I was very disappointed with the truth of the Scriptures in most of what I watched. I must admit I did not finish watching all of it. I believe that The Bible should be depicted as it is. If a story leaves something to the imagination and a speculation is given - ok. But don't change the truth! What will happen to those who don't know the truth when they read The Bible and learn it is different? Worse, what will happen to those who don't read it and won't know the truth? What an opportunity to tell the Truth and then choose to change it! Abraham, Sarah & Isaac, Moses, David, John the Baptist for a few that upset me with injected falsehoods. I expected better.
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
jeffsilvas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Was really looking forward to watching this movie but the inconsistency with scripture made it just a game of fined the mistakes and believe me there are a lot of them
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Arunas Budnikas
Location:Greenwich, New York
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well done and polished production. Reminds us all of the stories we've heard but may have forgotten.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This movie is the best

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peaches
Location:Philadelphia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked at other Bible movies this one is the best
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT!!!

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gods Choice
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good DVD series. It is a very good depiction of the Bible.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
dtpa
Location:rochester, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interesting and mostly accurate but the portrayal of violence is too graphic. Also, both Samuel and Nathan are represented as harsh and arrogant.
ps - Why must i enter a nickname in order to ghive a review?
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Bible: The Epic MiniSeries DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth watching over and over

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barbara Sandtorv
Location:Wantagh, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The television series was great. Owning the CDs is especially nice to rewatch the episodes.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
12345 ...10Next >>>