Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for CLC Publications Calvary Road

CLC Publications Calvary Road

This is an updated edition of a book written by Missionary and evangelist Roy Hession in 1950 in which he profiles the nature of religious revival and lays out the prerequisites and consequences of the activity of God in the heart of the hungry seeker.

Seize this opportunity to learn how Jesus can fill you with His Spirit through brokenness, repentance and confession.

Average Customer Rating:
4.905 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Calvary Road
Review 1 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

These insights are invaluable

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
paulie
Location:Sacramento, California
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thought it was a real eye opener for us present day Christians. Extremely helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Personal Revival

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
rsmith3865
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been on this Calvary Road, personally, for the last 6 years. This book summarizes what I have found in researching what has been the root cause for revivals around the world since the 1600's. I recommend this book to all believers in Christ who want a closer walk with the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A call to revival: Picking up one's cross!

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
David Gough
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roy Hession's "The Calvary Road" was recommended to me nearly forty years ago when I began my walk with the Lord. For some reason, I never picked up a copy to read until recently. Written in 1950, this small volume (barely one hundred pages) has sold millions of copies and continues to be well-loved by those who seek a deeper encounter with the living Christ. The fact that it may not "excite" more seasoned believers is probably evidence that it should be read by them. Although written in simple and straightforward terms, its message remains relevant throughout the Christian life. It is, therefore, an appropriate read for both new converts and those who have followed the Savior for many years. Given its brevity, one may sense the need to read it annually, or at least on a regular basis. Its call to revival (in essence, true Christian discipleship) addresses a perennial need. This edition contains a transcript of a three-part interview Hession did with David Mains on "The Chapel of the Air" in 1988, nearly four decades after the book's initial release and four years before the author's passing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book will challenge you to surrender all!

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
hockeymom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple yet profound insights have challenged me to surrender more of myself to the God of the Universe and Jesus our Lord. If you are ready to go deeper in your obedience to and intimacy with God, this book is for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Changing!

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bobbi
Location:Myrtle Beach, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
If you want to be totally yielded to Christ and allow the Holy Spirit to fill you to overflowing then this book will challenge you to that. It is the crucified life, dying to self on a daily basis. It is amazing how much of 'self' rules our lives. I thank God for this amazing little book and the workbook that is also available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every believer needs to read this book.

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Katherine White
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every believer needs to devour this book. It is the recipe for revival.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tobiah Pilgrim
incredible word pictures. its all about grace. its top on my list of discipleship "manuals"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
William Welton
Hession is a visionary in bringing God's cry for purity and peace within by examining oneself, our attitudes and motives in our personality always tell how intune we are with the Holy Spirit. If we are attentive to his promptings we will well be able to avail ourselves to the deepest oneness with the Lord and our fellow man. Enjoy and be blessed in the Lord.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Leona Taggart
This book is a must read for those serious about their Christian walk and serving King Je.sus
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alyssa Giddens
This is a fabulous reminder of how we should live. It is a must read once a year. Each time I read it,God deals with me on something.Be blessed and allow God to transform you inside each time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dorthy Rohland
Excellent book! I'd encourage everyone to read it. The book was given to my daughter as a graduation present from someone that had been impacted by the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharron Moody
i have been reading this book since the '70s and need to have copies available for those who may want to join me on my journey down Calvary Road. I have read this book with so many people! It is a good book to read with another person seeking a deeper Christian walk. This book changes me more each time I read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dan Gallo
It would be absolutely unchristian to not want revival to sweep through our land, but how many of us understand what needs to be done in order for revival to happen? If you want to know what you can do to facilitate revival, read this book. It's short, but it will have eternal consequences. I particularly love that it was written in 1950, the supposed peak of faith in the USA. The period everyone talks about... when we were a Christian nation. Yet Hession saw something was amiss. I also HIGHLY recommend you read Leonard Ravenhill's "Why Revival Tarries," also written in the 1950's. It will knock your spiritual socks off! Soli Deo Gloria!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Leah Ellis
This book is breath-taking. It is an awesome, intimate revelation of Christ's purpose of revealing Himself to us and in us. This book could be read and meditated on many times, taking us further and further into the depths and heights of what our Lord is to us and has made totally available to each of us.It's a wonderful book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Paul Worcester
I am 23 years old and this is one of my favorite books of all time! It has changed my life and helped me to be humble before God and get my strength from Him. God has used this book to help with a personal revival in my heart!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gail
This little book changed my life in the 70's when I first became a Christian. I looked to see if it was still in print, ordered it and it' still as good today as it was when I first read it.I have ordered copies for everyone I know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2005
Customer Avatar
Marvin Patrick
Superb book! Challenging and gets right to the point. A must read for any serious Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2004
Customer Avatar
Steve Harness
The Calvary Road is a true eye opener to a deep, meaningful fellowship with Christ. I encourage all Christians to read this book. I have read it many times. It is a must read for the individual who yearns for revival in their life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2002
Customer Avatar
David Harris
Tremendous book! You will see and learn things about your relationship with God that you never knew of before. A must read for Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Calvary Road
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2001
Customer Avatar
Dave Miller
If you want to see yourself as Christ see's you, read this book! I had to hang my head in shame many times! But P.T.L.after REPENTANCE comes PRAISE!! This book is not an easy read but it is so powerful!! If you really want the will of GOD in your life you will find it on THE CALVARY ROAD !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>