Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Inter-Varsity Press A Parent's Guide to Preventing Homosexuality

Inter-Varsity Press A Parent's Guide to Preventing Homosexuality

Many insist we believe that nothing can be done about homosexuality, but research indicates otherwise. Clear insight is provided for identifying potential developmental problems in children and gives practical advice for addressing them. For all those who seek a healthy heterosexual identity for children, you will find compassion and hope.
Average Customer Rating:
3.167 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
3 out of 560%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Parent's Guide to Preventing Homosexuality
Review 1 for A Parent's Guide to Preventing Homosexuality
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

helpful features

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
peanut
Location:Metairie, Louisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was helpful in understanding what these young individuals go through and how we, as adults, can help.More information on what females go through would be helpful.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Parent's Guide to Preventing Homosexuality
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This is child abuse. If you love to torture kids.

Date:April 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karl L
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The ideas behind this have been fully discredited by every medical and psychological society. This treatment increases shame, humiliation, rejection, depression, suicidal thoughts, but does zero to change a child's sexual orientation. Love your child more than you love your intolerant religion, please. For your childs' sake.
-12points
26of 64voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Parent's Guide to Preventing Homosexuality
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DANGEROUS AND HARMFUL MATERIAL

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wilbeaux
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The material in this book will not prevent homosexuality. God made every one of us special and unique. Attempting to prevent something as simple as what sex gives you butterflies WILL damage your child and can drive them to things such as depression and potentially suicide. EricJames Borges recently completed suicide because of years of being told he was wrong by peers and FAMILY. Let's change the future for our children and love and accept them as children of God and love them as nothing less.
-15points
28of 71voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Parent's Guide to Preventing Homosexuality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is extremely helpful and easy to read.

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
pianomom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was extremely helpful and eye-opening for anyone with a son, and read it when they're little. My son is a teen and I pray that it's not too late. It also gives me an answer when I encounter people who argue that homosexuals are born that way and there's nothing you can do to change that.
-2points
32of 66voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Parent's Guide to Preventing Homosexuality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
laurie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book brought understanding and peace into my life. Because I finally understand the cause, I can make wise, Godly choices to help my child.
+2points
27of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Parent's Guide to Preventing Homosexuality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Connie
This is the best book on homosexuality out there. It should be titled, "Everything You Wanted to Know About Homosexuality." It answers questions about gay behavior which I always wondered about, and explains my gay friends' actions. Buy it before you buy any other book on this subject.
-14points
25of 64voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Parent's Guide to Preventing Homosexuality
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
R Milfino
If you want to throw your money away, then purchase the book. Frequently while reading the book, I went from states of laughter to outrage that someone would state the things in this book as fact.
+11points
49of 87voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Parent's Guide to Preventing Homosexuality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robert Partington
Dr. Nicolosi is to be commended for his ongoing work with men suffering from same gender attraction, and for sharing his clinical experience with parents. A largely misinformed public will appreciate learning what causes homosexuality, what parents can do to avoid it, and how politics has trumped known science within the APA and the therapeutic community. What an eye-opener! This book should be given as a gift to every new parent.
0points
30of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Parent's Guide to Preventing Homosexuality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Truth sets you free
A heterosexual relationship is what God wants. It is NOT based "on fear OR ignorance". Advice TO BE heterosexual is what God wants. There is nothing wong with that.
-6points
21of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Parent's Guide to Preventing Homosexuality
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
c j robertson
I've read this book, and found it disturbing and full of misguided information. Human sexuality is complex and diverse and can't be forced to be something that isn't natural to each human being. The concept that only a heterosexual identity is "healthy" is based in ignorance and fear.
+5points
35of 65voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Parent's Guide to Preventing Homosexuality
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
susanne mitchell
Thank you for this book! Incredible information with substantial supporting evidence. Finally a wonderful resource to help parents who love their children enough to care about helping them develop healthy sexual identities.
+4points
25of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Parent's Guide to Preventing Homosexuality
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeff
This book takes a very interesting standing on human sexuality. In general I believe that this book is of little use and potentially harmful. Advice given by this book has potential to cause serious problems in a persons later life depending on the person. That is my opinion of course but buyer beware.
+3points
23of 43voted this as helpful.