Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. Lectures in Systematic Theology, rev. ed.

Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. Lectures in Systematic Theology, rev. ed.

Three generations of college and seminary students have gained invaluable perspectives in theology and church history from Thiessen's timelessly lucid and objective outline format. Condensing 20 centuries of church thinking into eight major sections, he also includes helpful subject and Scripture indices. A reference you're sure to reach for repeatedly. 466 pages, softcover from Eerdmans.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lectures in Systematic Theology, rev. ed.
Review 1 for Lectures in Systematic Theology, rev. ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Students in Theology must have this book.

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bernie
Location:Chicago
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this book to students of theology.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lectures in Systematic Theology, rev. ed.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book will take you deeper in knowing God

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Harval
Location:toronto, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
God's will for your life and His complete plan for humanity is outlined in various subject matters to be found in this book. Ideal for students studying the subject.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lectures in Systematic Theology, rev. ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sylvia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent. Comprehensive and well developed, yet writing style is very easy to read. I love this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lectures in Systematic Theology, rev. ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent information.

Date:December 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great book. The information is excellent and it has challenged me to study more and do more research before coming to any conclusion about the Bible. The Word of God is true and this book has challenged any and all other views that the Bible is true and it is God's Divine Word for mankind. I am still reading the book, but I have truly been blessed.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lectures in Systematic Theology, rev. ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
David Gray
As a student of Gods word, i found this book a challenging read as well as application to my life. we have always be ready to give this world an answer for all the questions that are out there. Thiessen has done a phenomenal job introducing as well as going into detail alot of the doctrines that have to be taught so we can rightly divide the word of truth.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lectures in Systematic Theology, rev. ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Thom Stewart
Good resource volume. I purchased this book as required reading for a seminary class, and was quite pleased. Thiessen's lecture notes provide a lot of information to use as a springboard for building a research paper.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lectures in Systematic Theology, rev. ed.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Philip Carlson
This book provides a more "conversational" style to systematic theology. It is easy to read and speculative in a few areas. This book is much easier to use than sifting through a multiple volume systematic theology set, and it still provides moderate depth. I don't think I hold it quite elevate it to the same level of respect (among other authors writing the same type of book) as Thiessen's Introduction to the New Testament (which I would highly recommend as a NT survey book). This book does provide a good reference at times but lacks sufficient development of ideas (the author probably views these things as self evident) on some topics. Thiessen's theological background is lauded and makes a good systematic based around fundamentalism. I would choose Chafer first. More familiarity with this volume may change my mind a bit since this book is highly recommended by others in my church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lectures in Systematic Theology, rev. ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael L. Greene
I used this book as a theology textbook in Bible College, and had lost it as a result of a traffic accident. I was very happy to find it available at Christian Book. I highly recommend it to anyone (pastors, students, and laypersons) interested in finding an excellent, easily readable introductory theology book to refresh or deepen their understanding of the basic doctrines of the christian faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lectures in Systematic Theology, rev. ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Roger French
I am in the process of preparing a series of studies on "tough questions" for an adult class at church and this book has provided a great deal of helpful material which I will use in the course of these studies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lectures in Systematic Theology, rev. ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dr. Miguel J Gonzalez
A must have for every serious student of theology. This is a conservative systematic which is straight forward, leaving out much of the technical language making it one of the easiest systematics to read. Faithful to the Scriptures and to the historical, orthodox teachings of the church.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lectures in Systematic Theology, rev. ed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
Thomas Conrad
Great to have it in paperback! My seminary students will love the price and the excellent quality!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.