Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Castlemoyle Books Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM

Castlemoyle Books Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM

Spelling Power is a multi-sensory, multi-level spelling customized program that will help your students master the rules of spelling in only 15 minutes a day! A 5 minute test starts off the day, which helps to review, check retention, and preview new words to study. For the next 5 minutes, you'll test misspelled words, and for the remaining 5 minutes, you'll test new words, picking up where you last left off. In only those 15 minutes, you'll be on your way to mastering the 5,000 most frequently used words, phonetic principles, and spelling rules! Glossary, Scope & Sequence, Verifying Research, and sections on dictionary and proofreading skills are also included. A Quick Start Seminar DVD has been added to this new fourth edition, along with a Teacher's Resource CD-ROM. The DVD contains the author introducing each element in the Spelling Power Program, followed by a real homeschool families completing each step. The CD-ROM contains forms used in the program, including printable skill-building activities, a searchable word list and even more helpful tools and hints. 330 pages, softcover. CD-ROM is not Mac-compatible.
Average Customer Rating:
4.44 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
6 out of 875%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Review 1 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not for us

Date:October 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sherral
Location:Western Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought this program sounded perfect for our situation, but it didn't take long for our 4th grade struggling speller to become frustrated. There are too many rules clumped together in the spelling lists. For example: long a list includes a/c/e, ai, ay, eigh, etc. Disappointed. :(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is very effective.

Date:August 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
MBmom
Location:decaturville, Tn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is very effective. You must read the quick start to make sure you get started right. At first it can seems overwhelming, but it is worth the time to figure it out and get started. I really like the structure of the daily lessons with extra activities to do. My son is a hands on student so the reinforcement activities really help him to learn. Also the idea of not having to test on words you already know is a very big plus.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
denimsbaby
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so excited to use this next year.. and the years to come. All the spelling words my kids need to learn are in this book and its a bit tricky to get started, but once you get through the first week or two, PIECE OF CAKE! Excellent!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic!!

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
headzookeeper
Location:Red Lion, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I had purchased this program sooner!! I can't believe that the seemingly "high" price tag held me back for so long. Considering that I would regularly spend $50 a year just on spelling workbooks for my four kids, I could have bought Spelling Power once years ago and been done with spelling workbooks forever.
I began using SP with my four kids last year, and now it's the only spelling program that I will ever use again. The introduction that teaches you how to use the program IS a bit daunting, but DO take 15-30 minutes to read through it so you'll really understand the program. The rest is a breeze!
Spelling is now my kids' favorite part of our school day. They are all naturally good spellers (because they are avid readers), but I know that this program has helped them learn and retain "tricky" words and words that they hadn't seen before. Highly recommended!!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
msmom
Location:Hernando, Ms
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried other spelling programs. This one seems to fit us best. My fourth grader is weak in spelling but is feeling much more confident now and enjoying spelling. Since she isn't given a list to memorize first and gets to skip words that she already knows it seems to make her feel like she knows more than she thought she did! My tenth grader is working on his weak areas in spelling as well. It's working well for him too. I like this because it's all in the same book! No more spelling programs to purchase for us! Yay! It may not work for everyone but it is for us...
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Spelling Power

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Location:Austin, tx
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a spelling program for my children. I have 3 kids all at different spelling levels. My 4th graders test higher thantheir grade, so that makes the graded spelling books impossible to use. I will be able to use this program, at each childs level until they complete it.
This program ensures that you know the spelling of the 5000 most commonly used words in English.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great program

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
canoetippen
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this program works great. at first it is alittle intimidating because the teachers part is about 40 pages. i am happy i can use this program with the kids for multiple years. equals a big savings.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Better for older children who are motivated

Date:February 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kris
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My two older children did not like this program at all and most importantly - the words that they were spelling were not retained. I know this is a very popular spelling program for homeschoolers, but not worth the price...get it used if you want to try it. I prefer everything grouped together and not extra random activity cards in another box. This is poorly laid out...lots of reading before you start. This program has you tell the rule before giving the words, but sometimes the rule did not make sense...with no explanation, confusing for the student. Check out all the used ones on ebay, that should give you a clue. Also you need to buy a binder to place the pages in.
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Mossburg
I used Spelling Power as a home school parent for sixteen years with multiple grade levels. When choosing curriculum for a new Christian school (grades 6-12 only) this past year, my choice was once again Spelling Power. It is the most thorough and complete spelling curriculum available.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nicole Hubbard
This is a great spelling system for really helping my kids to retain the words they study for longer than just the test. I will say it is a lot of work initially for the teacher to get prepared, going through the manual and video, etc. Once you get started, though, it is really easy. I love that I will never have to buy another spelling book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather
This is a great spelling book for all ages. It is perfect for my homeschool. I love the fact that I have one manual for all my grade levels.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Steph
This program seems great for younger children. I decided to give it a try after my son completed ABeka 7th grade spelling last year. He was able to test right out of the program, so it would not be of value to us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Hawkes
We recently purchsed "Spelling Power", like so many before me, I found the thick book overpowering. As I got into it, the thick book is something that can be mastered. I followed all the placement steps with my 13 year old grandson. It took a few days, but now we are ready to start at a level that will not discourage him. This program, a least for us, will work much better than conventional spelling programs and I am confident he will be a much better 'speller' at the end of the school year using this approach. The Student Record Book can be purchased also, it helps the student see his progress. Keeps things organized for the teacher.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
MDV
My son is a natural speller and LOVES this program. It has made it easy for us to test him at a level where he is challenged instead of spending years doing "busy work". It does take a while to figure it all out and the informational CD is very boring, but once you have the basic concept, it is very simple. I am not sure how the program would work for children who struggle with spelling, but if you invest your time doing the extra activities, I think it could be a good fit for almost any child.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2009
When I first received this program and went through it, I was not very enthused about using it. The book is huge and I did not want to have to read through it plus all the other reading a homeschool mom has to do. Thank God for the "Quickstart Tips" and the Quickstart DVD. That's all I used to get started, and we're doing fine. If I want to read a novel, I'll read a novel, not a spelling book. Anyway, when we first started this, my 4th grade son was spelling at an upper-second grade level. His confidence is increasing with this program and I'm so glad I found it. In the past I leaned towards the fun, colorful spelling workbooks that presented spelling words in families or some other logical progression. My son learned nothing from those. If you are willing to commit to the program and stick it out, your children will benefit. It's great.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christy White
This is great! My girls now WANT to do spelling. It is easy and not time consuming to start or do and they retain what they learn. I would recommend getting the workbooks to go with it - makes it really easy to get going and stay with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mekel Rice
I am using Spelling Power for grade 3 and 6. We are so happy with it! Both children look forward to spelling now, amazing! It really does work. I especially like it that the child corrects the misspelled word right away. The DVD is excellent and easy to follow. I highly recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Shelley Snyder
I am so jazzed about this system. My ten year old son had previously been on about a first grade level with spelling. He refused to write at school and no matter how many hours a week we would study (using traditional methods), it wouldn't stick. Now he spends 15 minutes a day and the correct spelling sticks like magic. He is up to knowing over a hundred words after working 1 week!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jackie Tijerina
This edition of Spelling Power has improve so much. The dvd was very helpful and the cd had all the forms on it. My son loves the Spelling Tutor on the CD.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Spelling Power, Fourth Edition with DVD and CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sylvia Larremore
I believe this is the best spelling program that I have ever had. I have a 14 year old that is dyslexic, and he has always struggled with spelling and writing. Well we have been using Spelling Power for 2 weeks and he has improved not only his spelling but also his writing skills. His confidence level has improved too. I am just so please and as a mother so relieved. I know we have just begun, but I am anxious to see how far we will go.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>