Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Steeple Hill Books Groom Wanted

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Steeple Hill Books Groom Wanted

It's a perfect plan-best friends Leah Bowen and Jake Lure will each advertise for mail-order spouses in the papers, and then Jake will help select Leah's future husband, while Leah picks Jake's bride-to-be! Surely the ads will find them what they seek: a wife who'll appreciate Jake's shy charm and a groom who'll take Leah away from the Idaho Territory she detests. When the responses to the postings pour in, it seems all Leah's and Jake's dreams will soon come true. But the closer they each get to the altar, the less appealing marrying a stranger becomes. Is it too late to turn back-or to turn around and find the happiness they truly seek together, at last?
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Groom Wanted
Review 1 for Groom Wanted
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet romance, unique characters

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deb Piccurelli
Location:Gloucester Township, New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am always fully satisfied when I finish reading one of Debra Ullrick’s novels. They ultimately coax a contented sigh from my lips, as I read the last word.
In Groom Wanted, best friends Leah Bowen and Jake Lure both advertise in the newspapers for mail-order spouses. Then they make a deal for each of them to choose whom the other will marry. Surely this is a good way for them to find what they seek: a wife who’ll appreciate Jake’s shy charm, and a husband who will take Leah away from the Idaho Territory she detests. As the responses pour in, some are way off the mark of what each is hoping for. But one man seems to be the perfect mate for Leah; the type she’s longed for—someone who is just like Mr. Darcy in the novel, Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austin. Jake is skeptical, especially after he meets this new suitor of Leah’s. By then, he’s also discovered he’s fallen for Leah himself, and aims to make sure she won’t make the mistake of marrying a man who isn’t what he seems. But Leah so desperately wants to move back to New York, where her new beau is from, she just may turn a blind eye to his faults. Can Jake change her mind before it’s too late?
As usual, Debra Ullrick’s writing is rich with detail, right down to the speech, and unique attributes of each character. When you read one of Debra’s stories, you forget about your life, and yourself, and feel like you’re there, in the center of it, all along. To me, those are the things that make up a great writer. If you like comedic, historical romances, you’ll love Groom Wanted.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Groom Wanted
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Picking and Choosing

Date:August 21, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two best friends, Leah Bowen and Jake Lure, place ads in the New York Times newspaper for a groom and a bride, respectively. They plan to help each other make their choice from the many responses to their ad. Meanwhile Jake stops reading his replies, realizing he loves Leah. But will Leah give up her desire to move to New York and realize what she searches for is right before her? The plot is compelling as the two lives crisscross, resulting in near-misses for intimate moments. Humor slips into the story at just the right times. Is Leah’s desire to move east strong enough to force her to choose a stranger over her best friend as a spouse? Memorable characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Groom Wanted
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet story!

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Groom Wanted was a sweet story about two good friends who would never consider marriage to each other...at least not at first. I enjoyed many of the nuances of the story like the heroine writing to Mr. Darcy in her diary and telling Jake she wanted to marry a man like Mr. Darcy. That fit the story so well! I loved how Jake simply "had" to read the book to find out what the appeal of the man was. He had a lot of wisdom when he said it was just fiction. But that's an aside.
I also enjoyed the little quirks that Leah possessed, like calling her sister Abbynormal, and her teasing nature. So cute! And the many near kisses the hero and heroine shared were nice enough to fluster the reader at times. I wanted them to discover that they really did love each other. The author had a good balance, though, between the conflict and the internal struggle of the characters. The conflict didn't feel contrived at all.
The man who responded to Leah's ad couldn't have been more obnoxious, but that made the story more entertaining to read. I liked how the author incorporated each of the character's fears into the plot and how they were resolved with faith and honesty, but not in an unrealistic manner. The author didn't use faith or love as a cure-all, and I found that refreshing. Those things offer hope, but don't always cure the ills in this life.
My favorite novel in the series is still the second book, The Unlikely Wife, but this was a good story as well, especially if you enjoyed the characters from previous books and wanted to see them again. At the same time, this could be read as a stand alone. It's definitely a sweet read with a lot of spiritual depth and healing conversation/insight, so it goes deeper than surface level, and I appreciated that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Groom Wanted
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When friends Leah Bowen and Jake Lure each secretly advertise for a spouse, life gets even more interesting around the Bowens’ ranch in Idaho Territory. Jake asks Leah to help him choose the best bride, while she seeks a groom who will whisk her back to the New York of her childhood. But how can these close friends one day bear to part?
Both have painful incidents from their pasts that cause serious ongoing problems in their lives. Leah thinks leaving the area where her father was killed will help her escape her horrible nightmares, which she is afraid to reveal to anyone The dandified man who tries to woo her also wants to improve her, while his sister falls for sweet Jake. And the story gets more interesting as the conflict develops.
Debra Ullrick’s Groom Wanted is the third in a series of Bowen love stories, but easily stands alone as a separate novel. The spiritual dimension adds richness to the tale.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Groom Wanted
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

wonderfully written

Date:July 30, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laughing with tears in your eyes is what you'll be doing when you read "Groom Wanted" by Debra Ullrick as Leah and Jake look for spouses in all the wrong places. Sometimes the things that are right in front of our eyes are the hardest to see.
I enjoyed this book immensely. Ms. Ullrick's writing pulled me in and held me until I found out Leah and Jake's happily-ever-after.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Groom Wanted
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a book with great depth of inner conflict

Date:July 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Both the hero and heroine have significant and quite interesting and unique inner conflicts. I don't want to give it away, but the author really brings their problems across in a very interesting way.
The letters from the prospective mail-order mates are hilarious as are some of the scenes in which a prospect comes to visit. You will enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Groom Wanted
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Summer Read

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cheri S
Location:Battle Creek, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This weekend I had a little downtime so I thought I would curl up with a good book. I picked Groom Wanted by Debra Ullrick. What a terrific book! It was so good I read it cover to cover in two days.
I fell in love with Jake in the first few pages. He was the epitome of hero for me, and Leah had the qualities that I would love to possess. She was kind hearted and full of love and laughter while still showing her human side. The book opens with them already being best friends which remained evident throughout the entire book. It brought back memories of some of the friendships I had with great guys in high school as well as to appreciate all the more my ongoing friendship with my husband.
Another thing I loved about this book was that Debra allowed me, as the reader, to become part of Leah’s wonderful tightknit family. I hadn’t read the first two books in the series before reading this one, but the author does such a great job writing, that I felt like I was “caught up” with the history without revealing too much information. I can’t wait to read the first two books in the series and am confident they will be just as good as if I had read them in the proper order. If you want to read them correctly, the series goes like this: The Unexpected Bride, The Unlikely Wife, and Groom Wanted.
The villain in the story offered some humor and comic relief. It was nice to see how Leah’s eyes finally opened and she realized what was happening. Isn’t that how it is in real life sometimes? We are desperate for answers that we believe will solve everything, so we let things slide for too long until we finally can’t help but see the truth?
The book was a nice, light romance with elements of deep Scriptural truths woven throughout. I loved how Debra Ullrick reinforced the truth that putting God before everything else in our lives is the only way for peace and true happiness. It definitely convicted me as well as encouraged me at the same time. When I place God first in my life, I am given the assurance that my priorities are in the proper order and my life will run much smoother than when I remain first and God gets sloppy seconds.
This was a great summer read. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a book that offers an escape into the Idaho Territory in 1886 while reminding us of truths that apply today. If you don’t normally read historical romance, don’t let the historical element deter you. Debra Ullrick beautifully crafts a story about two fantastic people woven into a close-knit family enclosed in a beautiful setting that will appeal to those who love historical fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Groom Wanted
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another fun read by Debra Ullrick!

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This clever plot of two best friends helping each other search for a spouse and the surprises they find make for a fun and fast read. We revisit characters in the author’s novels “The Unexpected Bride” and “The Unlikely Wife” which are also chock full of interesting characters and plots. The setting gives insight into the time and culture of the era and area. She even brings in a new animal full of mischief! Great read for a vacation!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.