Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Inter-Varsity Press Sermon on the Mount LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies

Inter-Varsity Press Sermon on the Mount LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies

What does it mean to seek first the kingdom of God in life? According to John Stott, Jesus' Sermon on the Mount describes what human life and human community look like when they come under the gracious rule of God—different! Matthew 6:8 reads: "Do not be like them" (the people around them). Study more about the greatest sermon ever preached in this LifeGuide Bible Study. Leader's notes are included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sermon on the Mount LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Review 1 for Sermon on the Mount LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am very satisfied with the quality of this study

Date:September 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
cindy
Location:columbiana ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this study guide. I have already read the sermon on the mound. We are going to use it in my Wednesday bible study class in November. Thank you very much for the quality of this book. cindy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sermon on the Mount LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

These studies are excellent!

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shari Hedwall
Location:Clarkesville, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I facilitate a home Bible study and we are from various denominations. I can always depend on LifeGuide studies to stick to the Scripture and not lean toward one view point. This study is very basic and generates great discussion on how the Lord expects us to live our lives. Good for seasoned Christians and new Christians! I highly recommend LifeGuide Bible Studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sermon on the Mount LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A solid and straight-forward Bible study

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin Mathias
Location:Newbury Park, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stott's Sermon on the Mount Bible study is a clear, concise, inductive study. No hardware, software or lengthy commentary, just stand-alone scripture, with inspiring application.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sermon on the Mount LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought-provoking

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
JesusEqualsGod
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent study guide! Would be good to do as a group or as an individual. I like that the questions are objective and get to the heart of understanding and applying this passage of Scripture, while bringing in other related passages as well. This is not a "how do you feel about what this is saying?" type of study!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sermon on the Mount LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good study

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky B
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While we are only in week 3 of this study, I do like it as much or better than some of the others in this series. This one walks through the Sermon on the Mount, a few verses at a time (other in this series jump around or skip portions). The questions are probing, and more thought provoking than some others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sermon on the Mount LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reggie
Location:ontario , canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have done about 9 of these differant lifeguide studies , This is another good one, It really makes my work of teaching this group of men a whole lot easier,,Thank You for these resources,,,,,,,,,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sermon on the Mount LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Second time to use this one!

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fran
Location:Cincinnati
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We did this same study a few years ago and with a whole new group decided to lead this one again. I love the probing questions. These lead to a really dynamic discussion on this very relevant text. Everyone comes away with a fresh new look at Jesus' teachings and what they mean to us in our present age. I would recommend this for adult Sunday school classes (where we're using it) or small study groups. You could do it on your own, but the discussions add so much to what you learn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sermon on the Mount LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
frank
Location:Kannapolis, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We'll be using this in Sunday School for our study and I'll use the book by the same title as a Teacher Guide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sermon on the Mount LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The study books are easy to use for groups.

Date:December 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
bill
Location:Arizona
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just started the study and several who have not participated in the past are joining in the discussion. I like the way the set up of the study encourages people to share.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sermon on the Mount LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richard Portofee
Studies in The Sermon On The Mount is a masterpiece. This is must reading for any serious bible student.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sermon on the Mount LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rod
We've just gotten through the first two lessons in our Sunday School class of 20-25 30&40 year old couples. This study has done a good job of focusing us on the message and stimulating discussion. Its working very well and we're getting lots of positive feedback. You won't go wrong with this study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sermon on the Mount LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carl Grosse
I have used this study in several different groups over a period of 17 years. Stott's framework of the Sermon on the Mount as a manifesto of Christian counterculture has done more to engage Bible study participants with this familiar text than any other study I've run across. Highly recommended for emerging church or post-moderns!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sermon on the Mount LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tim Schrock
I've really just started, but like the direction he's going. It really is a great way to get the discussion going, and provokes serious thoughts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sermon on the Mount LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Charles Northrop
I have used several studies from this series in my small group ministry. They are consistently well-written and clear. But this study stands above the rest. Stott's writing and discussion questions prompt deep digging and dynamic discussions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.