Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Good Outlaw Studios The Wylds, DVD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Good Outlaw Studios The Wylds, DVD

After a great war turns cities into wastelands, Chris, a runaway, lives in a junkyard---until a traveling preacher tells him his father wants him to come home. Join Chris on an action-packed journey down a dangerous path haunted by bandits, swindlers, and things that go bump in the night. A contemporary allegory inspired by Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress. Approx. 105 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Wylds, DVD
Review 1 for The Wylds, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An well done visual story...loved it.

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bethdos
Location:Rochester NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this film for our kids with the understanding that it wasn't made for the big screen. (low budget film) We were NOT disappointed. The acting was a little cheesy at times but over all a great remake of an awesome story. Our daughter and son are nine and 11 and they both loved it and understood the basic messages in the story. Excellent price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Wylds, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poorly done.

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
phoophoo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were disappointed in this movie. It seemed more like a home video of kids playing.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Wylds, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This movie has a great message behind the story!

Date:January 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Chris is a boy that lives in a future world where precious metal is the most valuable thing in the world. So important that he would steal it to survive.
Chris lives in a junk yard with other kids, whose job it is to steal metal wherever they find it. The circus ring leader is a man called Iggy, who collects the stuff the kids steal. When Chris is chased into an old church he meets a lady priest who encourages him to learn to read beginning with the Bible. It is the one thing that is priceless in this world.
When Chris awakens to a dream of a war in the future world with robots destroying his world, he begins to wonder if the lady in the church can help him with it's meaning.
Chris tells her that he left his father long ago when his rules became too much to follow, and subsequently wonders if he can go back.
In the DVD, the Wylds, the viewers are taken into a futuristic journey of the prodigal son whose goal it is to reach the Celestial City and find his father. However he is told to beware of the path that is wide and those that would seek to deceive him along the way. The Wylds is a DVD that is geared to families looking for alternatives with a message of hope. It is produced by a company called Good Outlaw Studios and while it has a great message and storyline, some of the effects are cartoonish at best.
I would rate this movie at a 2 out of 5 stars just based on the message and storyline alone. Its special effects are along the lines of Spykids and leave a lot open to the imagination. Yet for me, this was not a movie I couldn't recommend with higher ratings,but it may be a movie that you would enjoy. It is an approved Dove family film.
I received this DVD compliments of Good Outlaw Studios for my honest review and thanks to the generous folks at Good Outlaw Studios, they are offering a giveaway copy to one lucky reader of this blog. Simply leave a comment and let me know the reason why you'd love to win a copy. The giveaway will end on 1/30/11. You must be a US resident to enter. Please also include your email address with your comment. I will be emailing you once the giveaway is over.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Wylds, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must see movie- a great twist on a classic.

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
bassgiraffe
Location:Waterloo, ON
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I totally LOVED this movie. It was fun, weird, crazy and had an awesome message.
The film starts out with Evangeline (the preacher) walking down some tracks, the effects of it make it feel older, western kind of movie. We then go to a boy (Chris) running through a junk yard of trailers away from the police. Beware, you may get a bit motion sick from this screen but it’s important to the story. You see Chris is a thief. He is stealing for a man named Iggy. (that part sort of gives you the Oliver Twist feeling with him steeling and giving his findings to Fagin- a book that also took somethings from Pilgrim’s Progress )
Chris ends up running into a church and starts to steel candle holders. Evangeline catches him, the police catches up to him too. However Evangeline covers for him. After the police leaves, Chris asked why she did that. She said she believed he was good. (or something to that matter) He gave her the candle holders back and then asked about some books. He wanted to know if they were worth anything, she told him about a book that is priceless(the Bible).
The story goes from there, with Chris leaving his thieving life, having to find his way to the Celestial City. And running into big & small obstacles along the way. Chris has to learn who is the truth and who wants to lead him astray. He uses the Priceless Book to guide him along the way.
There are parallels to different Bible stories throughout this movie as well. We have the prodigal son, Chris left his father and lost all of his money and is ashamed to go back to him, but Evangeline lets him know his father still loves him. We have the David and Goliath story, when Chris needs to face a large giant robot. Chris also has to trust his friends who are called Faith and Hope.
“Small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.” – YES, yes indeed.
The movie has many crazy special effects. They all bring you through different eras and feelings.
I would recommend this movie to all families. Younger ones, kids under 10 might not really understand it and might get scared of the robot. But I think this movie would really appeal to tweens/teens. I also recommend after watching the movie through once to go to the special features and watch the movie with the commentary, it’s really gives you more insight to the movie, the people behind it and it’s story.
--------------------------------------------------------
Disclaimer / Disclosure: I received a free sample to facilitate my review. This post reflects my honest, personal opinion and experience with the product which may differ from yours. No monetary compensation was provided for this post.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Wylds, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brandon
Wow! This movie was a blast. One of the best family movies I've ever seen. There are great lessons for younger kids in this film and tons of fun for adults! Looking forward to watching it again.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Wylds, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mike
Kids really enjoyed it (with the action, and actors their own age).But adults enjoy it too because of the funny lines and humorous characters (especially the stammering Iggy, who is King of his universe. His only problem is that his universe is quite small.)The fun and action is wrapped up with good moral lessons. It's a hoot for the family!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Wylds, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bob
Finally, a movie for kids that has values I believe in. What a fun and amazing twist on Pilgrim's Progress. This is a family film that will captivate everyone's attention. The characters are believable and fun to follow. Every aspect of this video is a home run!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Wylds, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julianne Severson
Great, fun flick! One you won't feel bad that your kids saw it either. Have a very enriching story!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Wylds, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
alana myers
ABSOLUTELY the best of the best movie I've ever seen for the entire family! Loaded with great characters and a ton of action, it's fast paced enough to keep the attention of a 4 year old, but has Biblical allegories that keep the attention of an 80 year old great gramma. FASCINATING. THANK YOU for putting out this amazing movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Wylds, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
lou
this movie makes you laugh and cry and think. it's a great remake of the book and sticks very closely to its basic themes excellent!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Wylds, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Don
Great movie! The kids love it. Lots of action, and a great message.The score is unbelievable!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Wylds, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
David
A great movie for the discerning parent! What really set this movie apart for me from others were the solid biblical truths and parables that permeated the story from beginning to end. Scripture references and biblical principles abounded, and really open up avenues for parents to speak with their children about the situations that area addressed in the movie. Such issues as choosing friends, making difficult moral choices, and showing discernment and wisdom in your thinking are some of the priceless lessons that are taught in the story of the boy Chris who is searching for his father. An amazing and accessible tribute to "Pilgrim's Progress" for both young and old alike.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Wylds, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gustave Anderson
This wonderfully unique movie employs a variety of character building lessons while telling the story of Chris and his journey. Our 4-year old loves the movie and picked up right away what he should be using to guide his own journey. It is a treat to have a movie with humor, suspense, and a great message that the whole family can watch. This is a must have for your collection!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Wylds, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alyssa James
I LOVED this movie. When I have kids I would definitely buy this for them. What is so awesome is it is also a great example of the trials that you face in your walk as a Christian which made a great reminder for adults as well. I was watching with my young nephew and he was completely captivated, each scene was completely engaging and it was totally worth our time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Wylds, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shantel
This movie is excellent! A fun movie to show the true power of God if we choose to journey on his path. Even my 5 year old is in love with the movie and pretends he is Chris on his journey with his friend Faith. Highly recommended for everyone, especially if you liked the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Wylds, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laura Rehm
This is an amazing movie. Finally a high quality, Christian film that doesn't feel low-budget. A film truly for all ages. Children, pre-teens, and adults will all come away challenged and blessed. Highly recommended. Get your copy today...no! Get 10 and share them with your friends! They will be grateful!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.