Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Inter-Varsity Press Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us

Inter-Varsity Press Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us

Fasting. Solitude. Contemplative prayer. Lectio divina. Have you heard about these practices and wanted to try them? Have you wandered from one practice to another not sure quite what to do?

In the Spiritual Disciplines Handbook Adele Calhoun gives you directions for your journey toward intimacy with Christ. While the word discipline may make you want to run and hide, Calhoun shows how desires and discipline work together to lead you to the transformation you're longing for---the transformation only Christ can bring. Instead of just giving information about spiritual disciplines, this Handbook is full of practical, accessible guidance that helps you actually do them.

Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us
Review 1 for Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

promotes occultism

Date:January 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sahl
Location:Tacoma, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yet another pop christian publication promoting occultism. You can't take occult practices like Hindu yoga breathwork, Trancendental Meditation, and Anciet Greek occult labyrinths, and just paint them over with Christian-sounding terminology to make them acceptable. What's next: "Christian" Ouija-boards? These types of Gnostic teachings have been infiltrating the church since the beginning. Don't be deceived.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grandma Pat
Location:Decatur, Il
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was recommended to me by a friend...I would pass this recommendation on to others. What I have read so far of the devotions and practices is good. Obviously inspired by the Holy Spirit for today's disciples.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pete
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very practical look at a number of spiritual training exercises- both traditional and often overlooked opportunities for everyday growth
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Matthew Pevarnik
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hear all the time, well what should I do to get more intimate with the Holy Spirit/Jesus/God? I tell people, pray, read your Bible, and if you don't know what to do fast until He speaks to you. But for most Christians, these practices wear out quickly and don't seem to have the same excitement they once had (repent! :)) I thank the authors of this book and God for providing so many different ways that One can connect to Him to really work out all the sins/ungodly habits along the way and chip them off the block to be more like Him(Jesus).
I highly recommend this book if you are looking to come into a deeper/holier/more intimate relationship with God. There is no reason to spend your life missing out on the best God has in store for you! Nothing on earth compares to Him and this book has TONS of amazing ways to draw closer to God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is very informative and insightful.

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
revmom
Location:Lenoir NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I saw this book online and realized it probably was a treasure chest of information and insights into the spiritual disciplines a Christian needs to have. It can serve as a small group study, individual study, information guide. The price is very reasonable for the information that it contains.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent resource for spiritual disciplines

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ally7P
Location:North Mankato, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used this book as part of a small group on developing spiritual practices. My husband who is a pastor just loves this handbook. I ordered two, one for myself and one for him as he has trouble getting back the copies that he loans out because it is such a useful guide. This handbook opened my eyes to the many different types of spiritual disciplines. There is a good spiritual assessment resource in the back and helps you to pinpoint some practices to try to get started. Don't be overwhelmed by the number of practices, they aren't for everyone, just try a few to start and see what works for you. This will be a resource I'll use the rest of my life and will share with my children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
K.Antonell
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super practical and super delicious. This book gently comes alongside us, like a friend and nudges us back into His arms (regardless of who you are and how you learn or connect). This book has something for everyone on pretty much every kind of day.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Kramer
Excellent. I like the way it is organized and allows you to start where you are. Excellent biblical references and in-depth self-examining questions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tammy Mcclelland
This is a great book. Just what I was looking for when it came to spiritual disciplines. This book not only explains them but really focuses on the fact that you discern what you need where you are to make "space" for God in your life. It also has some great tools to help you discern which discipline you should focus on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lisa D.
This is a very informative book with great disciples to aid you in your walk with Christ on a daily basis. I love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
janice Worth
This is one of the most powerful Christian resource books written in the past 50 years. The wisdom and insight contained in this book will transform your spiritual life like nothing else besides the Holy Spirit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.