Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oxford University Press RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black

Oxford University Press RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black

This classic resource is the only RSV study Bible available today. It features extensive annotations to the biblical text, book introductions, eight supplementary charts and essays, and authoritative, full color Oxford Bible Maps.

  • 10 point type
  • 8 point type notes
  • Double column format
  • Book Introductions
  • The Pentateuch
  • Modern Approaches to Biblical Study
  • Characteristics of Hebrew Poetry
  • Literary Forms in the Gospels
  • Survey of the Geography, History and Archaeology of the Bible Lands
  • Measures and Weights in the Bible
  • Chronological Tables of Rulers
  • Index to the Annotations
  • 27 Full-color maps
  • Index to Maps
  • Blank note pages in back
  • Gold gilded edges
  • 2 Ribbon Markers
  • Genuine leather black
  • 6" x 9 1/4" x 1 3/4"
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Review 1 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything I needed

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Starkman
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not much to say other than it was what I wanted. This version has been around for a while, so I have no need to comment on it.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent value!

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dreamsong
Location:Lake County, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my favorite translation and study bible. The commentary is moderate rather than too conservative or too liberal. The binding and paper are highest quality. CBD offers the best prices and service.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Favorite Translation!!!!

Date:August 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
36x48photo
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this RSV Bible as a gift. The RSV is my favorite version, and the Bible is excellent. Thanks!!!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than advertized and I expected!

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
honeycat
Location:Absarokee, Montana
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality of the item was way over the top. Add to that the exceptional price and outstanding service from Christianbook.com and it couldn't have been better!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great translation, but a lack of good annotations

Date:December 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
drewskione
Location:Indianapolis
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a beautifully bound bible, with a quality that will weather many years, but it is not perfect...inside. The print size is great, and the RSV me thinks is more elegant than the NRSV. The only issue I have, and it is a big one, is its annotations. They are sparse and lack meaningful content. Of course this is a retro Bible, with out of date info, but still, I'm surprised by how uncritical the annotations are. At times it makes claims with out justification. I expected a more critical study Bible from Oxford. It would be better to try the Catholic or Jewish Study Bibles (both published by Oxford). Their content seems ironically ecumenical and critical (not solely relying on tradition).
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It is what I was looking for

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Thomas
Location:Dunlap, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was what I was looking for. It meets advertizing expectations!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best RSV in Print!

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Isaac Curtis Johnson
Location:Clinton, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Revised Standard Version (RSV) is considered to be one of the most literal and elegant English translations available. The RSV was the starting point for the ESV. If you enjoy a literal translation which retains some archaic English you will enjoy this translation. (thee, thou, art, hearken, etc)
Just like the translation, materials that make up this edition can be described as elegant. The Genuine Leather cover is so much nicer than most of the stuff called Genuine Leather. When you take this Bible out of the box, the smell of real leather fills the room. It has a beautiful impressed morocco grain pattern that is super classy. I would describe this edition as flexible. It is not super limp like the Cambridge Goatskin offerings, but it is not stiff like bonded leather either.
This Bible also is smyth-sewn, so the pages are strong and you don't have to worry about pages falling out. This Bible is built to last!
The print is bold and black, but the pages are thin. With the Apocrypha being included, I guess Oxford had to sacrifice page weight to make sure this Study Bible was not a brick. Don't get me wrong, this is far from a thin-line, but it would have been a whole lot thicker if the paper weight was more.
With the smaller paper weight there is some bleedthrough in this edition; however, it is not enough to be overly distracting.
With options being very scarce for the RSV, I am glad that Oxford is keeping this Bible in print; and that they are not cutting back on quality. Without question.... The best RSV in print!
Be Encouraged:-)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this Bible has a great look and features

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
John Starr
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Bible is a great Bible. To start with, this edition is clearly real leather and I appreciated it a lot because I just love the RSV/NRSV translations of the Bible, as a (Coptic) Orthodox Christian as well because it contains the Deuterocanonical books of the Bible which are part of the ancient Church's biblical canon. The Deuterocanonicals (or sometimes called 'Apocrypha') are a group of books and book sections detailing ancient Jewish elements of history and tradition, such as the Macccabean Revolt and the Heroess Judith. Thought they are placed at the end of the New Testament, I'm still glad to be able to read them, wherever they may be placed. Another great aspect about this Bible is that it's annotations/comments follow that of critical analysis meaning it tries to find out the original context of the text. Therefore, its a wrong approach when people say that the notes are historical and approach the text in a certain way...this is NOT a study bible per se. To have a rich and full bible study, its a good idea to have a number of bibles with their own unique features (simplistic vs older translations, and notes/comments that are spiritual and historical). Though I may not agree with everything written about biblical criticism in this bible, I am still being enriched and learning a lot. Like St. Basil once said, "you must be like a bee going about the flowers and take the good pollen while leaving the bad."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what I have been searching for

Date:July 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rotlex
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for the "perfect" Bible for a very long time. I have always loved the RSV, but, as Catholic, never been very happy with the available options in binding, or study Bibles, available in a Catholic edition.
In the NOAB RSV, leather edition, I have found my "Holy Grail". This is a gorgeous edition of my favorite translation physically, and the layout, notes and additional reading materials are superb. My only complaint about the copy I received is that a few of the pagers, randomly throughout the book, are slightly "creased". I have seen this before on another Oxford Bible I have, and I'm not really sure what causes it. It's minor, but, prevents me from giving a 5 star rating to the quality point.
In short, if you are someone who has been looking for a quality study Bible who's notes and additions do not take away from the sacred text, look no further than this edition for both daily meditation and study!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Classic at a Savings

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Reginald T. A. De Vore
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
The first, revised edition of Oxford's Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha (as expanded in 1977) is the only RSV Study-Bible still available. This classic fairly set the "gold standard" when it appeared decades ago; today, Christians of all persuasions will appreciate its theologically dignified prose and its relatively conservative annotations. For those of us who thrill to the handsome durability of leather, CBD offers this black leather-bound edition at an attractive savings. Go for the gold, but do not miss Prof. H. H. Rowley's "How to Read the Bible with Understanding: Diversity and Unity of the Scriptures."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Reginald T. A. De Vore
I have been an enthusiastic supporter of the O.A.B. with Apocrypha, ever since an oecumenical edition graced the stalls of bookstores in autumn of 1965. Even today, there are serious students of Scripture who prefer dignified English when referring to God Thrice-Holy. Such persons, because they are unlikely to be pushovers for PC translations, are all the more likely to thrill at the finer prose evident in this RSV. CBD's exceptional offering is based upon that first edition of 1965: as finally enhanced by the expanded edition of 1977, which has set a standard for Study Bibles, ever since its appearance. You will not be disappointed by this revised, first edition of the OAB, especially if you are keen to avoid PC language as is deployed in the third (2000) and fourth (2009/10) editions based on an otherwise-fine NRSV. At all events, this RSV edition is easy on the pocketbook and rewarding to the synapses. A leather edition of this O.A.B. is available for those readers preferring its durability.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bibleman
the translation was excellent, but you bought a study bible to get perspective. The perspective of the translators is very liberal and therefore not a good choice for the true believers. For example, since they don't believe in prophecy, they claim Daniel was written during the maccabean period since it was too accurate (Gee, what can God do? hmm...?)apocrypha is a plus though, if you need a copy of all the catholic/eastern orthodox cannon.if the translators weren't such liberals, I'd give a 5 of 5.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Bowyer
How else can I rate a Bible. This one was is almost exactly as I wante it to be. The only thing a little disappionting is that the language is US English and I had expected it to be English UK as it is Oxford University Press. Neith here nor there as the notes a terrific. The whole publication is first rate.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Larry Fayer
I am a believer in the accuracy of the RSV and wanted to have a good RSV study Bible. There is not much to choose from but this one gives a clear copy of the text and has some useful study helps. Oh, how I wish the RSV was still available in the old Holman Study Bible! This will work well for those who still prefer this text.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patricia Hubert
This is a beautiful yet very serviceable Bible --- a translation hard to find nowadays. Fortunately, Christianbook still has this edition. And also fortunately we, the reading public, still have Christianbook to stock and deliver (quite efficiently) such quality products.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Andrew
I became interested in reading ancient and medieval Christian writings/literature and needed a good reference bible that included the apocrypha. It meets this purpose well.The footnotes and commentary are extensive, yet modest and concise: sufficiently detailed to assist with difficult or ambigious passages, but never overpowering the text nor editorializing. The language is contemporary English except where the writer addresses God. Excellent for anyone with wide reading interests but a traditional temperament.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Irene Coogan
I received on time and in excellent condition the ordered product.(I hope I'm not been asked to 'review' the contents!). Thank you. ICoogan
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2004
Customer Avatar
Stephen
One of the best friend's an evangelical Christians can have. While editor Metzger admits that the Third Edition of this Bible is not a good choice for believers, *this* edition is. It upholds the deity of Christ and offers scholarly, yet non-liberal interpretations. Metzger himself is a man of integrity who loves Jesus Christ, and is *not* willing to sell out to liberals. This Bible needs to be in the hands of every English-speaking Christian.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2004
Customer Avatar
Stephen
This is a great study Bible for the historically minded. It is not as liberal as the third edition, but just as--if not more--scholarly. I highly recommend it to the serious student of God's Word. I do not recommend the third edition as--though critical scholarship is useful and necessary--it is overly critical and at times, downright paranoid and unscholarly. For example, in the discussion of Philippians 2:6 they say that perhaps the "son of man" image from Daniel is evoked here. Several prominent moderate scholars (Dunn, Hurtado, Wright) have all shown this to be false. They probably said this for the mere sake of being "ecumenical" when actually, they are entirely misleading--and wrong! In *this* edition, the remarks uphold the divinity of Jesus. If you want a New Oxford Bible, get this one--it's just as good, and better for the moderate evangelical.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for RSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2002
Customer Avatar
Rev. Jason A. McCash
This is an incredible translation. One of the most literal and readable Bible translations. The RSV preserves the beauty and integrity of the original languages. It is a Bible that is very useable for the new believer as well as the seasoned Christian. The translators of the RSV pay carful attention to the inerrancy of the text. A great Bible, I would highly recommend it to all.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>