Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Stepping Heavenward

Barbour Publishing Stepping Heavenward

"How dreadfully old I'm getting! Sixteen!" writes Katherine in her new journal on January 15, 1831. Follow her poignant journey from sweet 16 to adulthood as she struggles to become obedient to God's will. Her discovery that true happiness comes from giving oneself to others will immeasurably enrich your own spiritual walk. 300 pages, softcover from Barbour.
Average Customer Rating:
4.946 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stepping Heavenward
Review 1 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for girls!

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Paulette
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is good for all ladies , esp young ladies that might be feeling some of the conflict Katherine writes about.
She writes in total honesty. Good reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
belovedmom
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I discovered this book several years ago and bought a copy for myself. The journalistic style of the story made it seem so realistic. It spoke to my heart. Since then I have bought copies for all the special girls in my life, most recently my future daughter-in-law. The book itself is the bargain copy and in paperback form, but has held up well. The picture on the front is attractive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While driving in the car, I heard a chapter read from 'Stepping Heavenward' on Christian radio. The passage read spoke of balancing our study & meditation of the Word with the enjoyment of art & music. We're made for both. It was beautifully written & I fell in love with the book....Went home & ordered it. Even tho it was written so long ago, it is amazingly relevant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A timeless book that reaches right to the heart of the Christian. I read it often and it always inspires me in my walk to draw closer to the Lord. A refreshing Biblical view of children as well :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Favorite Book

Date:November 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stepping Heavenward
Elizabeth Prentiss
This is my favorite book of all time. I have given this to many people for it is a story that is worth sharing and a book I have read through many times. It is about a young woman and the life she lived written through her journal and some letters. It is so realistic that it seems real and is easy to forget that it is a work of fiction. It is filled with faith, life, death and family the core elements of what day to day life is. Unlike many stories this one move through a large part of her life, there are ups and downs. A book that feels so real it was as if you were peeking into someone's life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best books ever!

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is so inspirational. Besides the Bible, a strong contendor for my favorite over-all book. What a blessing to read! Katy starts the diary when she is 16 and continues it until her 40s, going through periods when she writes in it consistantly and 'dead spots' when she does not write frequently. Very realistic and a rare gem of a book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Classic

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Merida Hurkett
Location:Rockville, Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stepping Heavenward is unique - it is a diary format describing the beautiful transition a woman experiences throughout her life being sanctified through her faith in Christ. The setting, contemporary in its day, is in the late 1800's. It is a lovely, inspiring read. I highly recommend it and frequently give it as a gift to my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
mom of 3
Location:Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a wonderful book that encourages you in your walk with God!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather
I love this book! I even keep a stack of new copies on hand to give as gifts to those I love. Every woman should read it, whether she is in her teens or already a mother or grandmother. Using humor, realistic situations, biblical teaching, and an intimate writing style you are drawn into the world of the main character. Year after year I return to it's pages and learn a new lesson for my life each time. BULK DISCOUNT: this book is only $3.99 if you buy ten or more from CBD!! What better way to keep an inexpensive gift on hand?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pamela Hinshaw
This is a fantastic life changing book. Although fictional, all Christian women can learn humility, modesty, and the joy of being submissive through this must read book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rose Udicki
Stepping Heavenward is a grace-filled book. Each page offers unmerited favor addressing the life of the believer is a process and not an end result. "From glory to glory He is changing me..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Ulam
Because I can get it for a great price here, I can buy such a wonderful book as presents for women who are Born Again Christians, who value such a book as this to have new thoughts to edify their thinking on our Lord and savour as we get older and to help us women get wiser with age and learn so much from our sisters-in-Christ in the 1800's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2009
Wonderful, delightful book displaying a believer growing in Christ as she grows from a young girl to a mature believer. So much of what Katy experiences in her Christian walk is relevant to all girls and women as they mature. She reveals real emotion, weakness, struggles and ultimately mature growth in her faith. As I read, I was delighted to know that deep down women all share the same feelings of hurt, discouragment,excitement and hope throughout life. It was charming and delightful. It showed in detail how Christ reveals Himself more deeply as we grow in our faith. It was a true picture of consecration after salvation. This book is an easy read and will touch your heart in a delightful way! There is a coordinating Bible Study which I am currently doing and being blessed by it tremendously. For a true blessing, buy this little novel and enjoy sharing the heart and deepest secrets of a believer struggling to become all that God desires. A REAL TREASURE! Needs more exposure. I plan to give many copies as gifts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Liu
This is one book that I want to read at least once a year. It captures my thought and actions so privately; I wonder if I could put my name in place if "Katy'". I would suggest this book for all Christian women, especially married or soon to be married. The joy Katy experiences after each trial/struggle is full of hope for all ov us. A true five star little book! Nancy C.LiuPS. I have not rec'd my order of this book or the other books I ordered yet. I read a friends book that's why I ordered as much as the author wrote.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Katie
This is an excellent book for ladies, young and old alike! What a neat opportunity to follow the spiritual journey of a young Christian woman learning all that God has in store for her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christopher Scharven
We bought this book for our 18 year old daughter because it was recommended by our pastor. She completely loved the book. She found she identified with the main character closely and was comforted to see she isn't the only one who struggles with her faith. Our daughter was encouraged to see God's hand at work in a girl's life that is so similar to hers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sara Waite
Stepping Heavenward is an amazing story that has challenged me in so many different ways. It is an easy-read,but huge-impact kind of book.I can truly identify with Katy as she struggles in her faith, and learns that she must rely and trust in the Lord alone to help her through life. This is such a heart-warming story and full of practical, spiritual lessons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Holly Howard
I had already read this book before, and was purchasing it for a friend. This is a wonderful true story of normal, self-centered and confused teenage girl who desires to be better. Over the years of her life she grows into a mature, loving, self-sacrificing mother and wife with the help of the Lord, and the examples of other godly women. I recommend this book to every woman and young girl. Holly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ja
This is an indescribale work of literature. I would recommend that every young lady read this and watch in utter amazement as the Lord Himself transforms your heart. That is the work wrought in myself as i finished this great piece. To feel as though you are living with Katherine Mortimore in the 1800's and too becoming molded into the image of our Saviour through great adversity and joy. I view our current troubles as light and momentary and greatly await the glories yet to come!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Stepping Heavenward
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sally Shoup
Precious, precious book for mother and daughters both to read. You are drawn in from the very beginning and continue through the book to see what happens next in this true story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>