Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Inter-Varsity Press Gay Children, Straight Parents: A Plan for Family Healing

Inter-Varsity Press Gay Children, Straight Parents: A Plan for Family Healing

When children admit to their parents that they're gay, the resulting pain and confusion can devastate the relationship. Whether your son or daughter struggles with same-sex attraction---or somebody you know does---Cohen's handbook is essential reading. Find clear, compassionate, step-by-step guidance for maintaining family ties and moving forward in love, faith, and mutual respect. 224 pages, softcover from InterVarsity.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gay Children, Straight Parents: A Plan for Family Healing
Review 1 for Gay Children, Straight Parents: A Plan for Family Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Penny
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Resource for those struggling with this issue.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gay Children, Straight Parents: A Plan for Family Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
mona rusian
This should be the first book a parent or loved one buys to get true, insight as to what your child has suffered, what you need to know to help heal their wounds, and understand the truth about ssa. Don't go anywhere else first, I pray you will implement Richard's suggestions immediately to help healing begin. Please don't wait, pray and ACT. whoever loves the MOST & LONGEST WINS. Everyday it gives me hope to read and re- read the information to help us stay on track and focused.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gay Children, Straight Parents: A Plan for Family Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rose
This book has been a treasure, and as I read it, I could see how it applied to my son. It is a journey that I would not have chosen, but I know we are all learning so much about love and life through it all. Life has its way of teaching us those golden nuggets to hold close. My husband and I will love our son no matter what, but wanted to be better able to reach out to him in a receivable and healthy way. This book did just that, giving hope and offering healing to those who seek it. The truth the book contains is both freeing and beneficial and now I have met the author personally and participated in some of his seminars. He is truly a loving soul and speaks with great love for the gay community as he walked that path himself. He is not full of homophobia, but rather offers those who wish to change the right and opportunity to press forward to that goal.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gay Children, Straight Parents: A Plan for Family Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
aprill dunn
My son at 18 yrs of age came out and I was so shocked, depressed and unknowing where to go or turn. I heard about this book and if was so much helpful information. I will highly recommond this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gay Children, Straight Parents: A Plan for Family Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jamie
This book answers all the questions we had when we were lost and confused. My wife and I have read this book cover to cover at least 3 times and continue to find helpful things to strengthen our relationship with our daughter. It will help and guide you to all the possible reasons of your child's attraction to the same sex. We have read many books that are available, this one is by far the best! Thanks you-Richard!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gay Children, Straight Parents: A Plan for Family Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sonja
It is very hard to find books that are helpful in understanding your gay child. This book is very insightful and helpful. You may not agree with your childs decision to choose homosexuality but this book helps a parent maintain the relationship. Richard C is honest and forthright in sharing and helping parent understanding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gay Children, Straight Parents: A Plan for Family Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
JR
We were shocked and saddened when our 23 year old son announced to us he was gay. We stumbled around lost for a year arguing with him, depressed and full of anxiety for the future. We were trying to find a way to move forward with our lives and relearn how to relate to our son. We found this book and it changed our whole outlook on our situation. We learned how to communicate with our son. We learned how to come to understand how his world works and his perpective on his life. We relearned to love as Christ loves. Our faith and hope has been strengthened and restored. This is a most helpful book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gay Children, Straight Parents: A Plan for Family Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane
This book is a must read for any parent who has a child that is attracted to the same gender. There is so much incorrect information "out there" about this topic, which is not comforting or helpful. Richard Cohen brings hope and healing to parents as he explains how to love and understand our gay loved one. Thank you Richard!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gay Children, Straight Parents: A Plan for Family Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
L Torres
A parent's worst living nightmare for their child. This book provided such insight into the sadness and hurt in our son's youth and provided strategies for us to begin to re build a relationship with him. This book is not a magic cure and some children will not travel on the road to recovery, but this was our first look at our misguided beliefs about homosexuality and same sex attraction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gay Children, Straight Parents: A Plan for Family Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beth Adriance
I am so thankful for this book. We were in shock when our Christian daughter announced she is gay and we did not know where to turn, what could have caused this, nor what to do. This book helped to give us some much-needed information and a place to start the healing process needed to help her out of this lifestyle. With prayer, the Lord's strength, & this book, we feel armed for the battle. The book is honest and straightforward as far as the long road ahead, but it also helped us to understand the horrible pain our daughter has probably been experiencing for years prior to this. Reading it has given us compassion toward her where we might have only had anger prior to reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.