Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids

NavPress My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids

A unique devotional Bible designed to encourage parent-child interaction, My First Message introduces children to God's Word through the best-selling Message Bible text, lively illustrations, short lessons and a format that considers a small attention span.
Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 667%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Review 1 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

OUTRAGEOUS!!!

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tezria
Location:Jackson, NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so disgusted by this book. Sure I've made some regrettable purchases, but this exceeded my expectations way down the drain.
First up are the illustrations. It features in the introduction about this or that Disney illustrators. Really? The drawings are indescribably cartoonish and cheap, the colors are deeply muted and the whole pictures are hardly distinguishable at first glance.
Next, there's this outrageous character named Manty or so, and he's distracting! Even the first page says something about, it's okay if the child pays more attention to Manty, that it's natural... oh wow. The child doesn't pay attention now to Jesus and the real characters, and it's okay? Never mind if it's just a temporary reaction.
Words like "hello" this or that in creation. I believe saying hello is recognizing something that's already existing. If it's a form of greeting a person, you don't say this out loud and then expect the person to materialize right before your eyes! It's confusing. There are many other words used that are disturbing. And they are very shallow. The book says something about the author spending around 10-15 years or so coming up with this Message version. And then back again, there's this creature Manty, topping the ugly , overwhelming illustrations. Also there were too violent facial expressions.
The pages are glossy in a scratchy kind of feeling. Except the drawings, the cover is very good and sturdy, and nice to the touch. I think this is where I'm putting the mandatory one star minimum.
If you're okay with any of the above descriptions, or may find yourself willing to give it a personal look, then feel free. Otherwise it's a waste of your money, when there's a whole lot of other better choices out there. I threw away the copy I had. No regrets!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loving it!

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
JuliaGulia
Location:Calgary, AB
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are reading it to our daughters who are 5 & 3 and they aer oth enjoying it a lot! We have tried other bible story books - but the wording and the questions and the format of this book is GREAT for getting them interacting. Although my 3 yr old might be a little too young to grasp it all - she is still sitting quietly each night through the story etc. Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great children's Bible.

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:Clayton, NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This children's Bible is a great starter for little kids. It's colorful and has fun pictures to go along with the stories. I give it as a gift to children I work with who may not be familiar with Bible stories. The first page has a place where you can write the child's name as well as who it is given by and the date given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
leeandangela
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great devotional bible for children. My son as very much enjoyed sitting down at night and going through a bible story and relates to the questions and challenges that the author has delivered.
I would be very interested to find out if the author will attempt to do one for the next age group up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Accurate portrait of Biblical characters

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Margo
Location:Stockton CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible so I could read Bible stories to my grandson-age 2. I bought the second copy to give to my grandson and his parents to be read aloud to him. I like the format. It is what I wanted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible gets my little girl thinking about God!

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
JenD
Location:Upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 5 yr old daughter loves her new Message Bible. The pictures are interesting, and she enjoys finding "Manty" in them. The length of the stories is just right for her attention span. She can read many of the words herself, but prefers for me to read so she can listen and think. I appreciate the simple yet thought-provoking questions throughout each story. She comes up with some beautiful answers! She is growing closer to God and is seeing that the Bible can teach us how to live each day. I highly recommend this Bible! Thanks, CBD, for a great price on a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Shuman
My 6 year son really enjoys this devotional book. It is illustrated well and has great questions through the lessons!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sharonda Johnson
Love this book, great for little christians just learning the word ! My boys love to read it to me and I love the pray questions and activity sugestions on each page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jay
Excellent devotional/night-time story book! Each night, my 7 year old son jumps into bed and exclaims "Read the Bible, Dad!" He loves it. We are only through the first few stories but the pictures are great and the words convey the important scriptural truths that my children can understand! 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Leslie Randall
This devotional Bible was just what I needed to start our foster daughter off with the basics.(she had no base at all!) We read a story every morning before school and she has time to talk with God. It's beautifully illustrated and holds her attention well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diana Mojica
We love this bible! It is very comparable to the actual scriptures, unlike other bible stories which give you a "story". My 4 yr. old daughter loves it and looks forward to our evening devotionals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Samuel Wagner
this bible is my favorite. i love how it is really breaking everything down for kids and how it just makes the kids interested in reading the bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Laura Boes
I am using it for our churches Childrens Worship. The Bible translation and insightful comments at the end of each story really help the kids to think deeper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barbara Young
This book is perfect for the new reader. Not only does it have wonderful, colorful illustrations, the layout of each story is visually appealing, the verbiage is easy to understand and the stories are captivating. Plus the bonus at the end of each story or section are the questions that relate the main points to a child's life right now to really bring the meaning to today's world. The two grandchildren (a six year old and a seven year old)that I gifted one to each, picked up the book and eagerly started looking through it right away, wide eyed and ready to read My First Message and/or have help reading it. I highly recommend it not only as a great first reader but also as a way to gift young children with the ability to learn and grown in their own faith, especially as they are able to read on their own in the quiet of their own space.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Shelli Core
Our church children love it! We use it for our Wednesday evening program along with a simple related craft. We now give a copy to each child in our kindergarten class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
David Letourneau
My son is 4 and he loves it. I really enjoy doing the prayer after each story. At first he was nervous to talk to God, now he asks me if we can pray together. I highly recommend it for little kids.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
lydia
just loving it. my 4 1/2 year old daughter had tendancy not to choose bible as her bedtime story until I bought this one. she just loves this bible and makes sure to read this book before she goes to bed. I'm so happy that this bible is straight from the Message bible so I don't have to worry about the contents if it was just written to make the story and all...i'm just happy that my daughter finally doesn't treat the bible as something w/ boring pictures and not fun to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Meghan West
I was a little disappointed with this book. I guess I expected it to be a little more simplified, but it is too heady for my 3 year old. I do think it would really challenge (in a good way) her as a 6 or 7 year old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for My First Message: A Devotional Bible for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michelle Bolling
I love this children's Bible. It teaches the lesson and then has a prayer that pertains to it and then an activity. My 4 year old loves it. She is a very hands on learner and she is remembering the Bible messages so much better sense we put a prayer and activity with it. AWESOME job!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.