Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances

NavPress When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances

When God calls us to lay down the place, ministry or even the person we love most on the sacrificial altar, how will we respond? When her only son committed murder Carol Kent was forced to lay the person she valued most, or her "Isaac," in the hands of God. Fortunately, like Abraham before her, in the midst of her terrible sacrifice Carol encountered the God who loves her more than she loves her Isaac and she learned, little by little, to trust her Isaac to His caring hands. If you or someone you love is in the process of laying down an "Isaac," you will find Carol's heart-wrenching story and godly guidance absolutely indispensable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.742 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
Review 1 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully written

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
slicksmom
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was given to me by another mother when we were experiencing similar circumstances. What a beautiful book! I have purchased a 2nd one for our church library. Perfect for anyone going through difficult times with a child. Full of hope and grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There are times when life is good and you are just kind of breezing through it when suddenly out of no-where God lets a curve ball come into your life and you are left bewildered, confused and maybe a little (or a lot) scared. These are the times that God wants your full attention.
Carol Kent’s story about letting go of her child and fully relying on God in what anyone could say that is a parent’s worst fear was both gripping and moving. She laid it all out there for everyone to read which was truly courageous.
While I found that the book was somewhat slow in the middle, over all it was really a very good book for every parent who is hurting and maybe having a hard time keeping their faith because their child is in the middle of a life crisis.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deb S
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is inspiring book on what to do when life is so hard and hurtful. How God will get you through it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touches a parent's hurting heart

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marilyn
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second copy of this book that I've purchased. The first one for myself and the second one for a family member who is experiencing his own "Isaac" situation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
This review is fromWhen I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimba
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a parent struggling with choices a child has made and having no control over the situation.....it is reassuring to see how this family maintains their faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Millie
Location:Naples, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the finest Christian books ever written, on how to to give up (lay down) that which we love the most.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book.

Date:November 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sher
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very encouraging book. Bought a copy for two friends and would recommend it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

There is forgiveness and there are consequences!!

Date:November 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
LYNN
Location:Denver, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has a powerful, unexpected message. It certainly does away with the usual 30-60 minute sit com that everything gets settled in that amount of time and life goes on even better with the Lord. It deals with the forgiveness of sins, but the consequences of actions may go on for the rest of our lives. Yet, the Lord can continues to use us where we are for His purpose and glory!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan B
Location:Fallbrook, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
One of the key things I learned from Carol Kent is where am I placing my hope? We will all experience Isaac moments in this life but if we can remember that our hope is in God and God alone and not in the outcome of our painful experiences then we can trust and relax in the arms of a loving Father who only wants what's best for us.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
This review is fromWhen I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!!!

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Starla
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book exceeds my expectations. I have not finished the book, but it makes me examine my Isaac. The Lord has truly used Carol Kent's experience to futher His kingdom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
This review is fromWhen I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing story...

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Peg Marvin
Location:Shickshinny, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an amazing story to read and very inspiring. I'm so very glad I came across it. Eventhough Mrs. Kent's situation is extraordinary with her son, the points she makes resonate for anyone who is clinging to control and reminds the reader that God can work all things for good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
BusJudy
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this book!! The author shares her family's story of a most heart wrenching event that changed their family forever. Their journey and God's working in and thru it to bring beauty out of ashes!! Her son is reaching many lives for Jesus in a very unlikely place!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book touched my heart

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth Humphrey
Location:Monkey Island, OK
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although my experiences don't come close to the one the author went through, I, also, have faced situations in which I must "Lay My Isaac Down." Learning to lay it down and learn what He wants me to learn can be painful, but blessed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
This review is fromWhen I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome, I hightly recommend this book

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beve
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I met this author once years ago, and I never forgot her. She is truly a woman of God and I loved listening to her. When I came across this book, I was saddened to hear about her son. She proved that only God can see you through this. I loved the book. Hint..It is an entire kleenex box book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane Ellingburg
Great book! Really thought provoking. I would recommend this book to anyone if you are going through a difficult time or not. Maybe especially if you are not because when the time comes and your life is turned upside down you will definitely have some wisdom to come back to. Thank you to Carol Kent for sharing her experience with us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Wright
Great book of encouragement...a must read if you are going through difficult circumstances, you have been through difficult circumstances or you know some one who has been through difficult circumstances...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jo Ann Kutzner
this is a wonderful book and I would recommend it for anyone especially if you are facing a "bump in the road". I was having difficulty laying my Isaac down completely but after reading this book you will be encouraged to do so. Just to find out that you are not the only one that is hurting was encouraging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Coralene Peterman
This book is a wonderful view of the journey the Kents took after their lives were turned upside down by tragedy.It helps me to realize that we can lay our Isaacs down, as Abraham did in the Bible. God can be trusted to love us more than we can love something or someone else.This book was a real blessing to me, and a help with things in my life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Batson
This is an incredible and highly emotional book. You can feel the heartbreak that Carol and her family went through. Their faith and trust in God is awesome. She used so many scriptures that can be a source of encouragement in all kinds of situations.You won't want to put this book down until you finish it and then you will want to refer back to it over and over for the scripture references.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for When I Lay My Isaac Down: Unshakable Faith in Unthinkable Circumstances
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lenora Lederer
Awesome book....I have bought, probably 7 copies to give as gifts as well as one for myself after hearing her speak at a women's conference. Wonderful testimony from an extraordinary woman of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>