Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Viking Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Viking Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift

Two blockbuster bestsellers from Mitford - the perfect gift now in a charming boxed set!

For the past two Christmases, readers have flocked home to Mitford and made The Mitford Snowmen and Esther's Gift runaway bestsellers. Brimming with the holiday spirit, an old-fashioned snowman-building contest, plenty of hot chocolate, and Esther's famous marmalade cake, this new boxed set of Mitford treats is guaranteed to fill readers - and stockings - with contagious good cheer.

Average Customer Rating:
4.578 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 star
0
56 out of 6488%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Review 1 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely gift

Date:January 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debbi
Location:Arcade, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these as gifts for two family members who love the Mitford series. The books are short, great presentation in a hard sleeve. Both recipients loved them. Great price for gifting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
marg
Location:Nova Scotia Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I became addicted to Father Tim and the Mitford gang about 3 years ago and these little Christmas books are great gifts to entice others to read Jan Karon's books. They are the perfect "small gift" for a friend or a neighbour. Just enough read in them to fulfill the crave for moment of sitdown time with a cup of tea.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jan Karon never disappoints

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like poetry and prose together, these Christmas stories from the heart of Mitford are magical and timeless. Reading the full story in the novel series first definitely helps you fully appreciate the special focus of these, but they can also act as an introduction to Mitford. Guaranteed you'll be wanting more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
mama
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you love Mitford, this is an absolutely perfect gift set. Its a must to add to your collection.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely gift to be enjoyed year after year.

Date:February 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sunny
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This makes a lovely gift or can be a special touch for a Christmas coffee table.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fantastic gift - two books in a charming box.

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pickle
Location:Aurora, Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Jan Karon books and these two are precious. The two books in such a nice box makes a wonderful gift and the price makes it possible to afford more than one gift including one for myself. I was proud to give my friends this gift and they loved them. And please do not share this email address with anyone else.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
zyls
Location:tucson, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pretty books, with familiar characters to Mitford fans, but this package is more about looks than contents, even though I did appreciate the Orange Marmelade cake recipe.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely and a fast read

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeanie
Location:Cloquet, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a quick read at a hectic time. The art work is lovely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Menifee, California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased for a Christmas gift and I loved it and so did my sister in law....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gave the set as gifts that were much appreciated.

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pepper
Location:NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the Mitford stories and characters. The sale price was terrific too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
dishwasher
Location:Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I bought this for a gift and have not opened it or read it nor have I given it as a gift yet, so I can't comment. I know that the person I bought it for loves the Mitford books.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My friend loved it!

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Florida Librarian
Location:South FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased as a gift for a friend who loves Jan Karon. She was very happy with the books, and I was pleased with the bargain.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful way to get ready for Christmas

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
bcswes
Location:Bartlesville, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's great that these two books are sold as a set. It's the perfect combination of a community coming together for a fun activity, and a woman realizing that you really can't put a price tag on a gift when it's from the heart.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
travel agent
Location:Ozark, MO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a fan of the Mitford series and am happy to have some new books from Jan Karon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
jeanie
Location:Atmore, Al
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a warm feeling series, that makes you want christmas
to come early.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sweetheart
Location:St. Joseph, MO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little book series. It finishes the Mitford series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cute books

Date:March 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Catie
Location:On, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gift set contains 2 short stories that are fun to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great gift

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
chintzgirl
Location:can
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I bought for a Christmas gift. Wish I had gotten more
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marge
Location:New Jersey
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jan Karon continues to keep me in Mitford, with every book she pens, from her childrens books, her little side stories, as in this set, to her wonderful charcters in Mitford and abroad. Her books make me want to meet them all over and over again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Christmas in Mitford Gift Set: The Mitford Snowmen, and Esther's Gift
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Beautiful books, but very poor storylines

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carole
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Both of the books are so beautiful in color and illustrations that I was so excited to received these books. BUt, when I read both stories, I was soooo disappointed in them. Very boring....I really couldn't find anything redeeming in the stories, only enjoyed the beautiful illustrations and covers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.