Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress TrueColors Series #7, Blade Silver: Color me Scarred

NavPress TrueColors Series #7, Blade Silver: Color me Scarred

This is just my way of dealing with the pain.
Ruth Wallace knows she can only hide the scars on her arms for so long. Who wears long sleeves all summer long? Cutting herself doesn't make Ruth's problems disappear, but at least it helps her cope. Her dad is a nightmare, her mother seems lost in a medicated dreamland, and her brother Caleb can't handle their family life any more than she can. Abby, one of Ruth's good friends, is getting suspicious. Fortunately, Glen Collins hasn't noticed yet. But then again, he's a new student and probably doesn't want to sound mean. Ruth needs to find some way, any way, to heal her scars--the ones she hides and the ones she can't--before something terrible happens.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for TrueColors Series #7, Blade Silver: Color me Scarred
Review 1 for TrueColors Series #7, Blade Silver: Color me Scarred
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
This is my favorite book. Cutting is a big issue and this book is so eye opening and will change your life. I am not a cutter but this book has showed me life through a cutter's eyes and it makes me want to reach out and help cutter's. I love it how when Ruth's friend found out she was cutting she stayed at Ruth's side and did not leave Ruth in her time of need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for TrueColors Series #7, Blade Silver: Color me Scarred
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle
This book has changed my life completely. I used to cut my self like excessivly. It would be all i could think about. I stopped. and this book really helped.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for TrueColors Series #7, Blade Silver: Color me Scarred
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nicole
its a really good book for ppl who have cut and its just really well made
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for TrueColors Series #7, Blade Silver: Color me Scarred
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Abbey
i love this book so much. it was basically like reading my own story in a different order of events. i recomend this to anyone, especailly those who have cut.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for TrueColors Series #7, Blade Silver: Color me Scarred
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anna
This book is so true! Of all the books I have read about self-harm, this has the most impact.. I read this book while I was cutting, and it felt as if the book were written about me. For people who have experienced this girl's struggles, this book just drags you up from below the surface, showing you the reality of it all in a way that maybe you did not understand before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for TrueColors Series #7, Blade Silver: Color me Scarred
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gabriella
This book portrayed cutting well...I was deep into self injury, and though she left much out, it did cover many aspects of cutting. While it did make me cry at times, overall I really enjoyed it. However a friend of mine who was also into cutting read it and said it triggered her to start again....so I would recommend caution when reading it. If you have cut, and still struggle with the temptation this may not be a good choice in reading material.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for TrueColors Series #7, Blade Silver: Color me Scarred
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2007
This was one of the most difficult and painful teen fiction books I have ever read. It was so real, like I was reading an actual account of a teenage cutter. I wish that no one ever has to go through what Ruth did, but I know that there are so many kids who share the same experience. I could not stand Ruth's dad. I believe that verbal abuse is just as bad if not more so than physical abuse as inner scars are slower to heal. There is an explanation as to why he acted that way but I was glad that the story did not portray him unrealistically changing at the end of the book. It was horrifying to read about how Ruth would get a "high" from hurting herself in such a matter. Even worse because she would feel sometimes that she deserved it. I think that it was very sad that her extended family did not do anything to protect the kids from their abusive father. Ruth's recovery did not seem fake, in fact it only made it more realistic because it took her so long to accept help. Melody Carlson is gifted at bringing touchy subjects like this to life. The subjects in this series are difficult and not ones many Christians like to face. In fact, there are some who think that teens only face these kinds of issues because of a lack of faith. Thus, many teens especially those who are Christians find that they have no one to go to about their problems. This series shows readers what really happens out there, allowing for questions and advice about where to turn for help. I believe this is the first Christian book to mention cutting. There needs to be more books that talk about this subject as there are many people out there who need help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for TrueColors Series #7, Blade Silver: Color me Scarred
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Angel
Blade Silver is a very interesting book. In fact it is my favorite book now. If you have friends who cut, you need this book to understand whats going on in their heads. I know this is an accurate book because I used to struggle with self-injury. Although this is a fiction book, the feelings in this book certainly arent fiction. And near the end of the book, Melody Carlson did a great job at explaining the deeper meaning behind it all - something that most cutters dont even realize themselves; she helped me to realize something important, but youll have to read the book to find out! However, be warned: If youre bothered by pretty graphic accounts of bleeding out pain, this book is not for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for TrueColors Series #7, Blade Silver: Color me Scarred
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kailey
This book spoke to me and touched me in an awesome way. I once had a problem like the one described in the book so I can totally relate. Melody Carlson has an amazing way of describing how teen girls feel and it's so true! I recommend this book and any book by Melody Carlson to all teen girls!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for TrueColors Series #7, Blade Silver: Color me Scarred
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
Me
This book gives a true look into the mind of a cutter and a teenage girl. I was a cutter, so you can believe me when I say that this is how a cutter thinks and acts. This book is for cutters, anyone who has friends/family that cuts, or anyone just wanting to know more about cutting. This is a very good read and I recommend it for everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.