Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss

NavPress Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss

Hannah's Hope is for all who long for a child yet to be conceived, grieve for a baby miscarried, or have lived through the anguish of a failed adoption. Using the biblical example of Hannah from 1 Samuel 1 and 2, the author directs you to the Source of your strength, the God of all comfort.
Average Customer Rating:
4.941 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Review 1 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book for the emotional infertility journey

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
bkwize
Location:Rock Island, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has a lot of great info dealing with infertility, whether it's for someone going through the infertility journey or for a pastor, friend or family member of one. There are a lot of emotions to deal with for those facing this journey, as well as questions from inquisitive people who have no idea how they come across. This book helps the inquisitive know what to ask, how to act and overall how to be sensitive, but it also helps the one facing infertility to know that certain feelings will be felt and how to deal with those feelings. I found it a tremendous help, above others that I have read concerning the subject.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The handbook for those facing infertility and

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Betty
Location:Reno, NV
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This incredibly honest and straightforward book speaks to the hearts of those suffering with infertility and infant loss. The Burden Bearers portions are so helpful to those wanting to understand and assist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kristi
Location:Columbia, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book for anyone dealing with pregnancy loss, adoption loss, or infertility. Hearing the story of Hannah and then seeing how her story relates to mine made the Bible come alive in a new way. The "Burden Bearer" sections are especially helpful for those in ministry to want to reach out to couples dealing with these difficult struggles. This is a book I plan to share with others!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Journey to Hope

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
conrade
Location:Vancouver, BC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I admit that I am moved by Saake's story. The book makes me aware of some of the damage even good Christian people can unwittingly cause. Things like insensitive phrases to suffering people to "snap out of it." Things like irritating words such as:
- "I understand." (but How can one truly understand?)
- "Things will get better. Don't worry." (but How do you know? Are you God?)
- "I'm afraid to call you lest you are upset." (but Why not just ask?)
- "Is God punishing you?" (but hurtful and smacks of self-righteousness)
The part that I particularly find helpful is the section on "Burden Bearers." In an age where it is so easy to say "I'm struggling with you," the practicing of it is not that simple. I am glad Saake shows the way, by being true and honest with herself, with God, and with the reader. It can be a convenient Bible study guide. Each chapter begins with Scripture references, a sharing from Saake's painful past, an exhortation to hope in God, and some questions to ponder on faith and contemplation. What I particularly like is how Saake weaves her life by being honest to God in her struggles, as well as her intentionality in obeying the Word of God in her heart. She possesses a profound understanding of suffering and pain. This makes her sharing particularly meaningful. Those struggling with issues of miscarriages, infertility, or adoption difficulties, will find much comfort and hope in these pages. While on one hand, one perceives a life of faith as challenging, it is also rewarding too, seeing how one life has been used to bless so many, including hers.
Reading this book brings to mind the following phrase I saw on TV last night.
"Those who have suffered understand suffering and therefore extend their hand." (Patti Smith)
This book is Saake's way of extending her hand.
conrade
This book has been supplied to me free by NavPress publisher without any obligation for a positive review. The opinions expressed above are freely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very worthwhile read!

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
HappytoLive
Location:missouri
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hannah's Hope by Jennifer Saake (Seekig God's heart in the midst of infertility, miscarriage, and adoption loss), is a must read for anyone who is dealing or has dealt with infertility issues. This book discusses envy, lenght of hurt, bitterness, prayer, the churches response to infertility, grief,failed adpotions, ministering to others, and worshiping while waiting-among other touchy topics.
Having struggled with first time and secondary infertility, I caught myself going, "yes, I felt just like that", or "exactly what someone said to me." It is a great book that includeS biblical stories and scripture for infertility stuggles as well as a section at the end of each chapter for "burden bears." This section is for the people struggling along side the mate or friend dealing with infertility issues.
I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting a glimpse into the heart of someone dealing and struggling internally or outward with infertility or failed adoption issues.
This book was given to me through a blogger review program. The opinions expressed are soley my own. Thank you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

inspiring and encouraging

Date:April 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
donaldmurdo
Location:Isle of Lewis
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Any book that deals with infertility, miscarriage and failed adoptions is not going to be an easy read. Yet Jennifer Saake has done readers a great service in writing this book as it deals with the heartbreak felt by those who look for a longed for child and are left empty handed.
The author speaks from painful experience, having lost ten children through miscarriage or failed adoptions. While she now enjoys the blessing of two children Joshua and Ruth, her many years of struggle with childlessness led to the writing of this book – which is part bible study and application, part life story and journals, part resource and very certainly part encouragement and people struggle through the stages of grief.
This book records the anger, grief, longing, isolation, questions, struggles, tears, sorrows and answered prayers along the journey of childbearing. It shows our humanity and discouragements but it very tenderly shows us that others do share our pains and burdens, both practically and in prayer and we have an all-seeing, all knowing God who knows His plans and purposes for us.
The book title ‘Hannah’s Hope’ refers to the Hannah found in the first two chapters of the First Book of Samuel. Throughout the book, parallels are offered between the infertility or sterility experienced by prospective parents today and her situation then. While I buckle slightly at the elaboration of the details offered to us in the Bible as being an ‘imagining’ and ‘fictionalised look’, I don’t doubt that the intent is good. I can certainly see that the application set against a variety of true-life stories will be helpful to many who are at different stages of planning their family.
Clearly some will read this with joy and some with tears, but this is a much needed and useful book. I would say that it has a searing honesty in some of its chapters on themes such as prayer, faith and compassion of people in the wider church, how churches deal with the pain of losing a child and a very personal yet universal meditation on anguish and grief. A useful addition to a church library.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tahirah Elliott
Wonderful book and it along with her website has been a tremendous help to me in my journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Maggie Davis
Hannah's Hope was a wonderful resource. Reading the book, during my darkest hours of infertility, gave me hope and encouragement. It is nice to see a Christian resource book!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Andrea
This book was very well written and easy to read. I love that it lead me through Hannah's journey, that in many ways is similar to my own. My family members also appreciated reading this book to better understand my struggle and how best to love me through it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rachael Tamayo
I highly recommend this book to anyone that is struggling with any type of fertility issues or pregnancy loss. No matter where you are in your struggle, it can give you much needed perspective and guide you into seeking God's will for your life, wherever it may lead you. This book has done wonders for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
karen h
This book was amazing, Jennifer was completely open about what she was feeling through her infertility. She expressed feelings I was to scared to say myself. Knowing someone else that has experienced the heart ache of infertility, and the faith of waiting on the LORD, and the strength the LORD provides when you ask; has had a huge impact on me through my journey. Her book was inspired by the LORD, her words hit me to the core, and I was renewed to endure, and in my waiting and listening I have the family the LORD meant for me to have all along, 3 beautiful children adopted from the foster system.Thank you Jennifer, your obedience in the midst of your pain reached out to me and helped me to trust longer and wait on HIM.Psalm 113:9 "He settles the barren woman in her home as a happy mother of children. Praise the LORD"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Meridith
This book was so helpful to me on my journey through IF. I was so down and feeling like I was the only one in the world suffering in this way, boy was I wrong. Alhough no one every goes through the exact same journey, the feelings and emotional highs and lows seem to be similar. Hannah's Hope is a great resource for those of you seeking comfort on your journey!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Al
This is a must read for anyone struggling with infertility or child loss. Reading Jennifer's words is like sitting down for a comforting chat with an understanding friend. Most importantly for me was that Jennifer helped direct my thoughts to the One who truly understands - the God of all comfort. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kira Smith
This book is great for anyone that is personally struggling with or that knows anyone dealing with infertility issues. It gives the perspective of someone that's gone through it, as well as some good Bible verses to read and notes to burden bearers on how to deal with loved ones experiencing infertility.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Shemeca
It took me several months to read this book, but when the holy spirit lead me to finally read it, I found it to be very inspirational. The author of the book gives her own personal experience with infertility, miscarriage, and adoption lost. She does not use a lot of medical jargon, like others I have read. She provides a true and real life look at the struggles attached to longing for a child. I found this book to be very comforting and encouraging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Steph VG
When HANNAH'S HOPE arrived last week, I picked it up just to scan it...and couldn't put it down until I absolutely had to. A couple nights ago, I picked it up again and started from the beginning with highlighter in hand. Eventually, I forgot the highlighter, and forgot the time. Normally, that only happens with fiction or John Piper. I ended up reading the whole thing straight through then, and it's still on my current reading list, because I'm going back through it again more slowly.I've seen in myself the tendency many women battling infertility have, to focus so much on my empty arms that nothing else seems to matter. But I do not want to be "that woman." My identity is wrapped in the identity of Christ, whether He ever allows me to be a mother or not. Hannah's Hope is just such a book to help me be the woman I want to be - and that I believe God wants me to be. Mrs. Saake writes from personal experience with all three child-bearing difficulties she addresses. She's struggled to conceive, miscarried multiple times, and she has watched multiple adoptions fall through. She knows what she's about in this arena.She is so gracious, and so hopeful! She understands the pain, and though she kindly acknowledges the natural emotional responses to everything an infertile or grieving woman is going through, she doesn't allow her readers to wallow. Instead, she points us always, gently, to Christ. Mrs. Saake's treatment of such an emotional and devastating issue is one of the best available. HANNAH'S HOPE is written out of a heart that's been there, and has learned to hold tightly to Christ, because only in Him is true strength found.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Quilted Heart
Saake has written one of the most outstanding and comprehensive books I have ever read in the area of infertility. She knows! She has been there. Saake shares her heartaches with honesty in great depth and integrity. I strongly urge you to read this book, especially if you are a person in ministry or Christian leadership. This book has comforted me greatly in my own battle with infertility.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Claire
Finding this book was such a blessing! I've read it again and again throughout our struggle with infertility and loss. Makes a great devotional also. I've read several books on the subject, but this was by far the best. I only wish I would have found it sooner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Noss
Hannah's Hope is a wonderful book that addresses the pain of infertility and God's faithfullness throughout a couples infertilty journey. This book can be used as a devotional and is not a book to keep to yourself. I have already passed mine on and plan on getting a few more copies to keep on hand. It helps families and churches also to understand the struggles that couples are facing that is often a very private matter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, & Adoption Loss
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2006
Customer Avatar
A. Sanborn
I suffered Primary Infertlity for 8 years before I conceived and lost my first child. I was completely lost and disillusioned, because for 8 years I had trusted my LORD to give me children in His time.Hannah's Hope helped me to understand what I was feeling and I actually used it as a devotional - I prayed through each chapter, and talked to God about my disillusionment and grief over trying for and losing our precious child.Jennifer is honest and candid about her personal journey and what God has taught her through the fire of Infertility and Loss. Her book is a pricelss addition to any Infertile family's library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>