Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover

NavPress The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover

Gain fresh perspective on the Bible. Experience the excitement and feeling of the Bible as it sounded to its first readers. Encounter passages you've read hundreds of times before as if reading them for the first time.

Improved style, size, and added study features make the completely redesigned Message Numbered Edition the contemporary translation of choice. These new features, combined with the everyday language of The Message, deliver a Bible-reading experience that is relevant, energetic, and amazingly fresh.

The most widely read paraphrase now comes with the most requested features:
  • Exclusively designed numbering system
  • New 25%-thinner size 
  • One-half pound lighter than previous editions
  • Handcrafted maps & charts
  • Cream colored paper for enhanced readability
  • Improved typeset for better page economy and easier reading
  • Bound-in Ribbon marker
  • Padded Hardcover
Average Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
14 out of 1782%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Review 1 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy to read and understand

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Larry
Location:Lithia, Fl
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These were given as gifts. The recipients are greatly appreciative.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My husband and I really liked this Bible.

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
DWFL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great message and helps others understand the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has a lovely cover.

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Orleans, ON
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased this for our nephew's wedding. Definitely the right choice as this was the version they used for their wedding scripture. A guest at the wedding expressed her enthusiasm over it too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cover shows every mark

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Harold Wiggam
Location:Champaign, Il
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book was fine but the cover shows every finger print. You can tell exactly how I hold the book. I hate that. I love the message version of the bible but the cover needs work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has all the features that I needed.

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
PamR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is a good suppliment to the NIV for the Bible study that I am presently taking. It gives me another way of thinking about a difficult passage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this product!

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
slovebug
Location:Clovis, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had really been wanting a great version of the Bible so I decided to get the Message. my mom said get it from Christian Books! so I did! it came so quickly in the mail and ever since that day I have not stopped reading from it! I love how it's so easy to understand and how easy it is to find the books of the Bible! it's great! highly recommend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The worst Translation of the bible.

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbara Mullaley
Location:Boston, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is by far the worst translation of the bible. EXAMPLE: " As above so below". This is a New Age phrase. It has no place in God's word.
If you want God's word, buy another Translation. There are some great ones that are easy to understand.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wish I got the studyversion, but this is awesome

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Norway
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this bible the reading is very modernized. Its nice to read it alongside with another bible tho. I would definitley recommend everyone who thinks the word of God at times is complicated and hard to understand. This bible puts it riught out there. I do wish I had gotten the study version thought. But it also works to read it alongside another bible..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great, Love the print on the pages

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cyncfo
Location:Sayreville NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great type and love the translation!
I love going between the NKJ, Amplied Version and comparing all and getting the different meanings of the words which helps me maintain the essence of the Scripture I am reading. Would highly reccommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Light-weight enough to take when I travel.

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Tindall
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I initially bought this Bible to take with me on missions trips, to reference as I do with the much heavier one that I use at home, but find that with the updated numbering, lightness in weight with both Old and New Testaments included, I find myself picking this one up at home more frequently than I thought I would. Just starting to put my "personal" notations in this one. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyce E. Olsen
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible...it's great as a supplement to other more traditional versions. I just gave it as a High School graduation gift and she loves it too! Perfect size, like the soft cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst paraphrase ever.

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
jwmtwo
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This may be the worst and most corrupt paraphrase ever.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The bible is excellent.

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bible is excellent for study as well as breaking the scriptures down to your understanding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Choice

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda Lou
Location:West Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This Biblel was exactly what I had hoped for. Love the verse numbering and of course always love the wording from Message. I gave away my last one, and had to replace it with another one exactly like my last one. Love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anita Ohm
Location:Sutherlin, Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this translation. I often use it when I'm teaching a Sunday School class for first through fourth graders. It seems to put it in a way they can understand it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what we wanted

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pogo
Location:Covington, KY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We wanted a good solid hardback Message Bible with the verses numbered. This edition has all that plus the background of how this translation came into being. The senior adult men in my Sunday morning class seem to like this better, to get more understanding, than from any other version.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible meets the needs

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
The Eagle
Location:Grand Lake, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was purchased as a gift for a person that has a reading problem and it is easier for him to read. It met our needs and then some.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan U.
I love this version! I particularly like the padded hardcover. It feels like a quality book, the padding is nice to hold, and it's a good manageable size. The print size is 9.5 which is easier for reading than some of the other versions, but not as large as the large-print version. I've bought several as gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dana Mckenney
I like the numbered addition. It is easier to find when the pastor is using a different translation. The print is also easy to read, don't have to squint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Message - Numbered Edition Padded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alicia C. Laboy-o'falan
Very easy reading. It's a great bible for everyday language. I don't like the set up for the chapter and verse. I would not use this bible alone as a study bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.